![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
But the obvious illegal action still boils down to the judgment of the floor officials. To pull the trigger or not to pull the trigger?? |
Now we're getting to a different philosophical question. Are there contexts in which there's an 'obvious' rule violation and you're not blowing your whistle? I think we'd all have to agree that there are. Is the violation in this video obvious? I think it is pretty hard to make a case to the contrary. But if I was in the moment, I probably would have had nothing.
|
Quote:
That said, and even in spite of my prior comments, I may or may not call it depending on the overall situation...yeah, I did say that. :p |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Whether the rule says explicitly or not, we add that qualifier as to how we judge the play IMO. |
Quote:
Just because minor occurrences of grasping the rim are often not called doesn't mean it is actually legal any more than uncalled travels are. In my opinion, if the grabbing of the rim is used to raise the body, it is a T....and I've seen more than enough to tell when a the effects on the player's body are from just making the dunk vs. unnecessarily raising the body. And in this specific case, the player used the rim to lift himself high enough to get his head above the rim....I've never seen a dunk where a player's head gets that high after the dunk without grabbing the rim....they may be near that high before the dunk but they don't start to come down and go back up without some extra help. Now, in a game, I might not always call it. It depends on the game....certainly not in the Griner case, even if I felt she violated the letter of the rule. It would have simply been wrong to call something on that. |
A Micki King maneuver
I don't think the mere act of pulling one's self up after a dunk is a T, they have to land after taking their momentum to the hoop and I don't think fear of the other team getting two and the ball ought to be a factor in doing a pull-up motion to stop the momentum and allow a straight drop to the floor. Didn't any of you people ever climb trees as a kid? Two hundred something bounds on an ankle or knee the wrong way ends seasons and careers.
I also don't think it matters that there are no bodies below the shooter; one can land just as badly on an open court as on another person. However, a one-and-a-half gainer after the shot is pure gymnastics, intended to call attention to himself and for no other reason and deserved a T. |
Quote:
If I'd called a T in that spot my reaction to the complaints of the coach would've been "Coach, did he need to do what he did to protect himself or actually make the shot?" |
Quote:
He is going under the rim, during the jump he rotates his body 180 degrees from his original direction. When he dunks his hips and legs are not yet vertical under his upper torso. The grasp and pull, brings his body vertical he then lets go and returns to the floor. Nothing other than insuring his ability to land safely. |
I watched this clip, read all the interesting comments, and watched the dunk several more times. I have nothing.
I am not tall enough to do this, but when I was a youngster in the motherland (Indiana) we often played on lowered rims. I know this may be too much in the weeds, but I think there are a few things to consider. First, where he dunks the ball on the rim has less give than if he dunked the ball in front. The force of the dunk itself is going to cause him to go up. I just don't think he can dunk the ball with force and avoid this. Second, the move itself is something I looked at. If he dunked and didn't grab the rim as much, his momentum would have likely kept him moving parallel to the end line and he may have landed on his back since his feet were not under him. I think this is what BNR was referring to. I have to say that having done something similar myself, even on a much lower rim, I understand why he did what he did. I just don't see a T here. For those who do have a T, do you think there were any plays in the championship game last night worthy of a T for hanging on the rim? I don't remember the time or the team, but there was one play - on the right of the screen as I was watching at home - that should have been a T. What do you think? |
Quote:
In the situation you refer to in the championship game (from memory) the player did grab the rim but only did so until he stabilized and dropped. Unlike the player in the OP, he didn't yank himself up a foot or more higher than he needed to do. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52am. |