![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
If we have an IW we resume play using POI correct? So in this case no one had established possession following the shooter releasing the ball. So I would think the arrow is the way to go w/o seeing a rules reference telling me otherwise???
|
|
|||
No, he's not a shooter and it was not a shot....so team control persists.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
See I was going under the premise he was in the act of shooting. He realized he was going to get rejected and just released the ball.. If he fumbled it then yes I see the logic.
__________________
Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in my attempt. -- Special Olympics Athlete Oath |
|
|||
Quote:
If he jumps up to shoot and just drops the ball (intentionally) then what do you got? I don't have a fumble or a pass but a bad shot. I guess that is why I agreed with the call. But I see your logic too.
__________________
Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in my attempt. -- Special Olympics Athlete Oath |
|
||||
Quote:
If you consider this a shot, then you have to let him retrieve it. The case play is specific that this is not allowed.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Snaqs, actually it could be considered a dribble since A1 put the ball on the floor. Regardless, both a dribble and a pass are covered under 4-44-3b.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) Last edited by JetMetFan; Fri Mar 30, 2012 at 05:41pm. |
|
|||
It looks like a travel to me.
BTW, I T'd up the La Lumiere coach in a tournament where he was coaching another team. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
The question would be whether the officials ruled a try was attempted. If that's the case then yes, the POI would be neither team in control and the AP procedure would be used. However, did A1 shoot the ball? If he didn't, then Team A was still in control.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Yes, POI woudl be the way to go with an IW. Since, there was not an actual attempt a violation occurred that's we go with.
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
What would the violation be??
__________________
Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in my attempt. -- Special Olympics Athlete Oath |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
From ESPN's H.S. showcase...NFHS Rule 4-4-6 in action (kind of) | JetMetFan | Basketball | 16 | Tue Apr 03, 2012 01:08pm |
NFHS Rules Changes 2009 (Sort of) | Tim C | Baseball | 29 | Thu Jul 03, 2008 09:25am |
Rising Stars Showcase | blue man | Softball | 10 | Tue Jan 01, 2008 12:50pm |
Why I Can't Stand ESPN's NFL Crew | Green | Football | 2 | Sat Jun 03, 2006 09:40pm |
Here's one to sort out (NFHS) | FredFan7 | Football | 6 | Thu Aug 19, 2004 06:40am |