The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Norfolk State vs Missouri -- throw-in spot after timeout (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89926-norfolk-state-vs-missouri-throw-spot-after-timeout.html)

Lotto Fri Mar 16, 2012 06:13pm

Norfolk State vs Missouri -- throw-in spot after timeout
 
After the last timeout by Missouri, the throw-in spot was on the sideline. But the ball was in the middle of the paint when the time-out was granted. Shouldn't the throw-in have been from the endline according to

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3582/...0756e11_m.jpg?

The throw-in from the sideline would give quite a benefit to Missouri in terms of scoring with 2.9 left on the clock. Is NCAAM mechanics different from NCAAW on this?

Jfpdi Fri Mar 16, 2012 06:24pm

I did not see the play. But was Missouri in their front court or back court when they called the timeout. Last year NCAA women's camp I attended stated that the diagram you refer to only applies in the Front court, that it is ok to put the ball in play on a sideline nearest the stop in play in the backcourt.

Archetype Fri Mar 16, 2012 06:48pm

Not sure who told you that at a women's camp, but that is not accurate. The diagram above is to give guidance to follow the rule book -- put the ball in play at the spot nearest the violation/foul/or where the ball was when it became dead. There is no exception for the backcourt. Unless there is something unique for NCAAM, this was unacceptable from a NCAA tournament experienced crew. Pretty much a mechanical breakdown from the time the whistle was blown -- the official killing the play did not immediately point to the spot before dealing with the timeout admin to the table and the subsequent monitor review. If he had, perhaps they would not have made the error. Again, this is unacceptable at this level/situation and all three on the crew should not advance on this error alone. Yes, it was a huge advantage for Missouri to get the ball OOB where they did.

APG Fri Mar 16, 2012 06:50pm

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/d1Z7Z26Ysf8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Lotto Fri Mar 16, 2012 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jfpdi (Post 832493)
I did not see the play. But was Missouri in their front court or back court when they called the timeout. Last year NCAA women's camp I attended stated that the diagram you refer to only applies in the Front court, that it is ok to put the ball in play on a sideline nearest the stop in play in the backcourt.

This was in the backcourt, but the nearest spot in this case was certainly on the endline since the Missouri player was in the middle of the paint when the timeout was granted.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jfpdi (Post 832493)
I did not see the play. But was Missouri in their front court or back court when they called the timeout. Last year NCAA women's camp I attended stated that the diagram you refer to only applies in the Front court, that it is ok to put the ball in play on a sideline nearest the stop in play in the backcourt.


I don't want to know which camp you attended (but you can PM the info, ;)), but that just steams my tuchus when some ignorant tuchus brain gives out that kind of information. And feel free to tell the person who told you that what I said.

MTD, Sr.

Nevadaref Sat Mar 17, 2012 03:43am

Let's see if our little forum members can influence who John Adams advances in the tourney. JetMetFan you have his email address, send him a link to the posted video and ask about the ensuing throw-in spot in a critical situation for this game!

wfd21 Sat Mar 17, 2012 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 832614)
Let's see if our little forum members can influence who John Adams advances in the tourney. JetMetFan you have his email address, send him a link to the posted video and ask about the ensuing throw-in spot in a critical situation for this game!

Himself?:D

BillyMac Sat Mar 17, 2012 09:19am

The Rocket Ship Diagram © 2009, Back In The Saddle ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto (Post 832492)

Hey Lotto? Ever hear the phrase, "Express written permission"?

http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4075/4...fd5556be_m.jpg

Back In The Saddle's people will soon be contacting your people.

JetMetFan Sat Mar 17, 2012 09:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 832614)
Let's see if our little forum members can influence who John Adams advances in the tourney. JetMetFan you have his email address, send him a link to the posted video and ask about the ensuing throw-in spot in a critical situation for this game!

Because my first e-mail to him went so well ;)

Lotto Sat Mar 17, 2012 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 832640)
Hey Lotto;832492? Ever hear the phrase, "Express written permission"?

No copyright on the diagram...and even if there was, this would fall under "fair use." :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1