The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   So folks, did the crew miss something on this one? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89862-so-folks-did-crew-miss-something-one.html)

JetMetFan Mon Mar 12, 2012 06:32pm

So folks, did the crew miss something on this one?
 
<embed width="440" height="420" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://v5.tinypic.com/player.swf?file=2w69raq&s=5"><br><font size="1"><a href="http://tinypic.com/player.php?v=2w69raq&s=5">

Rich Mon Mar 12, 2012 06:41pm

Yes.

grunewar Mon Mar 12, 2012 06:44pm

Good answer.

fullor30 Mon Mar 12, 2012 07:41pm

I'll bite, no trey signal?

Scrapper1 Mon Mar 12, 2012 07:43pm

It's BI, Fullor. But nobody ever calls it.

fullor30 Mon Mar 12, 2012 07:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 831583)
It's BI, Fullor. But nobody ever calls it.

Especially when it goes in.

Edit.....oops offense grabs net. Yes, BI, in this one, no call from me

JetMetFan Mon Mar 12, 2012 07:52pm

So the rules guy in me would ask what's the difference between calling/not calling this one and calling it if the player had touched the ball while it was on the rim? Both are BI.

Rich Mon Mar 12, 2012 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 831583)
It's BI, Fullor. But nobody ever calls it.

I have.

BLydic Mon Mar 12, 2012 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 831598)
I have.

So you're waving this off?

Rich Mon Mar 12, 2012 08:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLydic (Post 831599)
So you're waving this off?

Yes, I am. Film don't lie.

BLydic Mon Mar 12, 2012 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 831600)
Yes, I am. Film don't lie.

oook, I always wondered why they misnamed this violation basket interference.

APG Mon Mar 12, 2012 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLydic (Post 831605)
oook, I always wondered why they misnamed this violation basket interference.

Are you wondering why it's this particular instance is still called basket interference? If so, because by definition, the the rim, flange, and net are considered part of the basket.

Now by rule is the above play basket interference? Sure it is...but I'm not sure this particular play was the intent of the rule.

Rich Mon Mar 12, 2012 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 831610)
Are you wondering why it's this particular instance is still called basket interference? If so, because by definition, the the rim, flange, and net are considered part of the basket.

Now by rule is the above play basket interference? Sure it is...but I'm not sure this particular play was the intent of the rule.

I'm sure it wasn't, but I'm not sure I'm prepared to pick the nit. OTOH, I've had the defense do it and I haven't stopped the game and just allowed the basket to count.

The one time I called this in the past 2 years, the ball came halfway out above the rim, so it was pretty much a no-brainer.

And yet...there it is on film for everyone to see. To be honest, it might trip my trigger in the moment or it might not. Probably depends on what happens to the ball.

How's that for wishy-washy?

BLydic Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 831610)
Are you wondering why it's this particular instance is still called basket interference? If so, because by definition, the the rim, flange, and net are considered part of the basket.

Now by rule is the above play basket interference? Sure it is...but I'm not sure this particular play was the intent of the rule.

No, I know the rule and understand completely what constitutes "the basket".

I agree, by a very strict reading of the rule, this is BI. However, I feel pretty confident it doesn't fit the intent.

BLydic Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 831615)
I'm sure it wasn't, but I'm not sure I'm prepared to pick the nit. OTOH, I've had the defense do it and I haven't stopped the game and just allowed the basket to count.

The one time I called this in the past 2 years, the ball came halfway out above the rim, so it was pretty much a no-brainer.

And yet...there it is on film for everyone to see. To be honest, it might trip my trigger in the moment or it might not. Probably depends on what happens to the ball.

How's that for wishy-washy?

If it wasn't the intent of the rule, which you're sure it wasn't, then there's really no nit to pick, is there? Your real world examples still haven't convinced me that BI is the correct call on the play in the OP's video.

Sharpshooternes Tue Mar 13, 2012 01:28am

Just making sure I understand this. It seems the general consensus is that the player touched the net before the ball was completely through the hoop. If the ball is still in the net, that is ok but if any part is still in the ring it is BI. Is that about right? No one feels like the ball was all the way down before he touched the net?

APG Tue Mar 13, 2012 03:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 831632)
Just making sure I understand this. It seems the general consensus is that the player touched the net before the ball was completely through the hoop. If the ball is still in the net, that is ok but if any part is still in the ring it is BI. Is that about right? No one feels like the ball was all the way down before he touched the net?

Rule 4, SECTION 6 BASKET INTERFERENCE
Basket interference occurs when a player:

ART. 1 . . . Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.

The net was touched while the ball was within the basket. Technically, by rule, this is basket interference.

Camron Rust Tue Mar 13, 2012 03:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 831633)
Rule 4, SECTION 6 BASKET INTERFERENCE
Basket interference occurs when a player:

ART. 1 . . . Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.

The net was touched while the ball was within the basket. Technically, by rule, this is basket interference.

Not only was the net touched, it appears like the ball was touched.

It is certainly not impossible for such contact to affect the shot....I know I've seen a few that appeared to have been in yet popped back out.

APG Tue Mar 13, 2012 04:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 831634)
Not only was the net touched, it appears like the ball was touched.

It is certainly not impossible for such contact to affect the shot....I know I've seen a few that appeared to have been in yet popped back out.

I agree with this kind of call 100 percent if the ball pops out...but in the play above, it that what the real intent of the rule is? This is an area where the NBA rule is better

NBA Rules Book (2011-2012)
Rule 11
Section I—A Player Shall Not:

i. Touch the rim, net or ball while the ball is in the net, preventing it from clearing the basket.

I wonder how many officials actually do it that way though technically against NFHS/NCAA rules.

BillyMac Tue Mar 13, 2012 06:20am

I Know, I'm A Bad Boy ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 831587)
What's the difference between calling/not calling this one?

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 831610)
The intent of the rule.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLydic (Post 831629)
The intent.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLydic (Post 831630)
Intent of the rule.

"It is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may
be intelligently applied in each play situation. A player or a team should not be
permitted an advantage which is not intended by a rule. Neither should play be
permitted to develop which may lead to placing a player at a disadvantage not
intended by a rule."

JetMetFan Tue Mar 13, 2012 08:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 831636)
"It is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may
be intelligently applied in each play situation. A player or a team should not be
permitted an advantage which is not intended by a rule. Neither should play be
permitted to develop which may lead to placing a player at a disadvantage not
intended by a rule."

As I continue to be a gremlin... ;)

So what, then, is the intent and purpose of this rule?

I wouldn't have posted the video if the kid had only swiped the net. To me that would be nitpicking. It's the contact with the ball which made me think this would be a good one for discussion.

BillyMac Tue Mar 13, 2012 09:00am

My Opinion ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 831643)
So what, then, is the intent and purpose of this rule?

To prevent players from interfering with the ball, or the basket, in situations where such interference would illegally cause the ball to go in the basket, or where such interference would illegally prevent to the ball from going in the basket.

fullor30 Tue Mar 13, 2012 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 831615)
I'm sure it wasn't, but I'm not sure I'm prepared to pick the nit. OTOH, I've had the defense do it and I haven't stopped the game and just allowed the basket to count.

The one time I called this in the past 2 years, the ball came halfway out above the rim, so it was pretty much a no-brainer.

And yet...there it is on film for everyone to see. To be honest, it might trip my trigger in the moment or it might not. Probably depends on what happens to the ball.

How's that for wishy-washy?

I disagree........... well, not really

JetMetFan Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 831654)
To prevent players from interfering with the ball, or the basket, in situations where such interference would illegally cause the ball to go in the basket, or where such interference would illegally prevent to the ball from going in the basket.

Cool. So didn't the offensive player do something which could illegally prevent...the ball from going in the basket? The rule doesn't say anything about touching the ball and causing it to come out of the basket.

MD Longhorn Tue Mar 13, 2012 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLydic (Post 831629)
No, I know the rule and understand completely what constitutes "the basket".

I agree, by a very strict reading of the rule, this is BI. However, I feel pretty confident it doesn't fit the intent.

I've seen a basketball go this far into the net, hit the tight part just right (wrong?) and come right back out --- no basket. The player committing the BI here prevented that possibility. It's not a bucket until it comes out the bottom. Period.

BillyMac Tue Mar 13, 2012 01:46pm

Peachy Keen ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 831724)
It's not a bucket until it comes out the bottom.

Dr. Naismith (and Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.) might disagree with you.

Eastshire Tue Mar 13, 2012 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 831735)
Dr. Naismith (and Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.) might disagree with you.

All due respect to Dr. Naismith, but we also only use one ball and just have 10 on the floor at once now too.

BillyMac Tue Mar 13, 2012 04:23pm

Don't Forget To Tighten The Laces On The Ball ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 831741)
All due respect to Dr. Naismith, but we also only use one ball and just have 10 on the floor at once now too.

Back then, a young Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. had no trouble climbing up, and down, the ladder to get the ball out of the peach basket. Now he has trouble climbing out of bed every morning. It's true.

Toren Tue Mar 13, 2012 07:17pm

BI and yes I'm calling it. The ball changes direction as a result of the contact with the net, so either the hand also hit the ball or the result of the net grab lead to the ball being moved.

So stop being an idiot and stay off my net.

just another ref Tue Mar 13, 2012 07:28pm

To each his own. Some guys don't call 3 seconds. I wouldn't call this.

Nevadaref Tue Mar 13, 2012 07:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 831724)
It's not a bucket until it comes out the bottom. Period.

Actually, the rule says that a goal is also scored if the ball simply remains in the basket. It does not have to pass entirely through.

just another ref Tue Mar 13, 2012 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 831724)
I've seen a basketball go this far into the net, hit the tight part just right (wrong?) and come right back out --- no basket.

If that were the case, I would say you have a net problem which needs attention.

BLydic Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 831710)
Cool. So didn't the offensive player do something which could illegally prevent...the ball from going in the basket? The rule doesn't say anything about touching the ball and causing it to come out of the basket.

Now why would an offensive player do something to prevent the ball from going in the basket?

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 831724)
I've seen a basketball go this far into the net, hit the tight part just right (wrong?) and come right back out --- no basket. The player committing the BI here prevented that possibility. It's not a bucket until it comes out the bottom. Period.

Funny, my rule book says a goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in OR passes through. Period.

But I do get what you are saying and after watching the video with that in mind, there's a bit more judgement involved with this particular play than I originally considered. However, I don't see the touch in this video as one that keeps the ball in the basket or prevents it from leaving. The ball bounces up off of the rim and then drops in, hardly one I would imagine all of a sudden hitting the bottom of the net and bouncing out.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 831782)
The ball changes direction as a result of the contact with the net, so either the hand also hit the ball or the result of the net grab lead to the ball being moved.

And all of that means what in regard to BI?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 831785)
Actually, the rule says that a goal is also scored if the ball simply remains in the basket. It does not have to pass entirely through.

What he said ...

JetMetFan Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:49pm

Quote:

Now why would an offensive player do something to prevent the ball from going in the basket?
No idea. But the BI rule doesn't differentiate between offensive and defensive players.

Sharpshooternes Thu Mar 15, 2012 01:33am

So when is the ball considered to be "through the basket" then? All the way below the rim? All the way clear of the net. This post has confused me.:o


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1