The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   End Of Game: NC State v. North Carolina (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89827-end-game-nc-state-v-north-carolina.html)

APG Sat Mar 10, 2012 06:56pm

End Of Game: NC State v. North Carolina
 
Okay with the no call or was that "serious contact" as stated by the announcer?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/BFYQZIFi1zo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

BillyMac Sat Mar 10, 2012 07:00pm

Charge ...
 
In my high school game, I've got a player control foul.

Judtech Sat Mar 10, 2012 07:05pm

I player for NC State was called for a player control foul earlier on a very similar play I believe. I'd like to see these two plays back to back and see how similar they were if at all.

SNIPERBBB Sat Mar 10, 2012 07:07pm

Looks chargish to me...

fiasco Sat Mar 10, 2012 07:09pm

PC. Offensive player lowered shoulder/initiated contact and denied the NC State player his spot on the floor.

APG, how about the play as the clock expired? Looks to me like UNC player got a fistful of NC State players arm as he was trying to gather the ball and shoot.

JRutledge Sat Mar 10, 2012 07:10pm

It does not matter the level.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 831175)
In my high school game, I've got a player control foul.

That is a charge in my HS, college, AAU, wreck ball or middle school game.

Peace

Welpe Sat Mar 10, 2012 07:34pm

Shoulder dip and displacement, I'd like to think I'd put a whistle on this one.

Raymond Sat Mar 10, 2012 07:35pm

I had the defender flinging himself into Kendall Marshall and then falling to the floor.

But I do have a foul on UNC on the shot at the buzzer.

DRJ1960 Sat Mar 10, 2012 07:52pm

it's the ACC
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 831184)
I had the defender flinging himself into Kendall Marshall and then falling to the floor.

But I do have a foul on UNC on the shot at the buzzer.

Confession: I'm an "ABC" guy....

Carolina ALWAYS has and ALWAYS will get those calls in ACC games....

ok.... that's out of my system....

APG Sat Mar 10, 2012 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 831185)
Confession: I'm an "ABC" guy....

Carolina ALWAYS has and ALWAYS will get those calls in ACC games....

ok.... that's out of my system....

:confused:

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 831180)
PC. Offensive player lowered shoulder/initiated contact and denied the NC State player his spot on the floor.

APG, how about the play as the clock expired? Looks to me like UNC player got a fistful of NC State players arm as he was trying to gather the ball and shoot.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/fWJhRBYCYHE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The initial view gets blurry at the time of contact...nothing I could do there but there's a good view from the baseline (yeah I said it ;))

DRJ1960 Sat Mar 10, 2012 08:06pm

where's the L?
 
Did the L close down or stay in the corner on that last play? I couldn't tell.

JRutledge Sat Mar 10, 2012 08:31pm

That is not a foul, that is the ball being knocked away. I would not have called a foul either on that final play.

Peace

BLydic Sat Mar 10, 2012 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 831181)
That is a charge in my HS, AAU or middle school game.

+1
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 831196)
That is not a foul, that is the ball being knocked away.

+1
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 831187)
..but there's a good view from the baseline (yeah I said it ;))

Off-topic baseball thread?

fiasco Sat Mar 10, 2012 09:23pm

By the way, a reporter sitting behind the NC State bench tweeted that Gottfried yelled for a charge on the play and Brian Dorsey replied by saying "Shut your f____ing a$$ up!"

Sharpshooternes Sat Mar 10, 2012 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 831174)
Okay with the no call or was that "serious contact" as stated by the announcer?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/BFYQZIFi1zo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Originally I was thinking PC but looking at the under the basket view I think the offensive player got his head and shoulders past the defender so subsequent contact would then be on the defense, so I think I would go block. Really close play though. I could go either way and be happy with it.

As for the second vid, that ball got knocked away from underneath. A clean strip.

JugglingReferee Sat Mar 10, 2012 09:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 831174)
Okay with the no call or was that "serious contact" as stated by the announcer?

Definitely a PC foul.

Da Official Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 831205)
Originally I was thinking PC but looking at the under the basket view I think the offensive player got his head and shoulders past the defender so subsequent contact would then be on the defense, so I think I would go block. Really close play though. I could go either way and be happy with it.

As for the second vid, that ball got knocked away from underneath. A clean strip.

Ha...you call a block on that play and you won't even be working middle school games. :D

JRutledge Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Da Official (Post 831208)
Ha...you call a block on that play and you won't even be working middle school games. :D

Well there are many HS officials (not about him personally) that call a block every they get a chance. So I am not sure about what he would work if he called it that way. Officials at the high school level (and other levels) love to penalize the defense when they are legal.

BTW, I saw nothing close in this play. It was a PC all the way if you are going to call anything.

Peace

Sharpshooternes Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 831209)
Well there are many HS officials (not about him personally) that call a block every they get a chance. So I am not sure about what he would work if he called it that way. Officials at the high school level (and other levels) love to penalize the defense when they are legal.

BTW, I saw nothing close in this play. It was a PC all the way if you are going to call anything.

Peace

I typically think that PC isn't called enough and is probably the right call on this situation, but no one really commented on the head and shoulders past the defense part. What do you think?

JRutledge Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:27pm

If you watched ESPN, they say too many are called.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 831211)
I typically think that PC isn't called enough and is probably the right call on this situation, but no one really commented on the head and shoulders past the defense part. What do you think?

How in the world is his head and shoulders beyond the defender?

All the contact was in the chest, not in the side of the shoulder. I think you are reading too much into the rule if that is your claim for a block IMO.

Peace

Sharpshooternes Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:30pm

Ok. I'll concede. PC

Adam Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 831211)
I typically think that PC isn't called enough and is probably the right call on this situation, but no one really commented on the head and shoulders past the defense part. What do you think?

Head and shoulders is a rule of thumb. There's no way I'm punishing a defender with position just because the dribbler turned himself into a pretzel.

dahoopref Sat Mar 10, 2012 11:25pm

Play starts in the T's area and moves into the L's primary area of coverage; not a secondary defender. L appears to have a wide/open look.

In plays like this that have happened to me in the past, if I'm the T and I don't stay connected to the play, I'm trusting the L will make the call....any call. During the pre-game, I tell my crew if a player(s) is on the floor we have to know why he is down there on the floor.

If an evaluator comes in after the game and asks what happened, the L is gonna have to "man-up" and explain his non-call. In any case, I'm gonna trust my partner that the "no-call" at that time was the right decision.

JetMetFan Sun Mar 11, 2012 01:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 831205)
Originally I was thinking PC but looking at the under the basket view I think the offensive player got his head and shoulders past the defender...

It's tough. I think it looks this way from the end line view because the contact already took place and the defender is falling backwards.

I didn't see the game but I respect Len Elmore as an analyst when it comes to the rules. Apart from the fact I thought it was a PC, if he says they put whistles on similar plays earlier in the game I'd like to think there would've been a whistle there as well.

stiffler3492 Sun Mar 11, 2012 02:24am

Anyone hear what Digger Phelps said on Sportscenter after this game? It won't surprise anyone...

"Good officials in that situation let 'em play".

Wow. Just wow.

JetMetFan Sun Mar 11, 2012 02:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 831229)
Anyone hear what Digger Phelps said on Sportscenter after this game? It won't surprise anyone...

"Good officials in that situation let 'em play".

Wow. Just wow.

My favorite comeback to "let 'em play" was during last year's Butler/Florida game in the NCAAs between Len Elmore and Reggie Miller. SB Nation broke it down:

Quote:

With just under five minutes to go in the game, Butler's Andrew Smith picked up an offensive foul hooking Alex Tyus in the post. Miller evidently felt it was a bad call. Elmore didn't, and neither backed down.

ELMORE: These are the kinds of fouls that drive a coach nuts. (Replay shows). You got good position right here, now watch him put his hand around his back right here ...
MILLER (interrupting): Oh, come on.
ELMORE: You can't do it.
MILLER: Come on.
ELMORE: You can't do it. You got to call what you see.
MILLER: Come on now Len.
ELMORE: You sit down, spread out, put him on your back. You don't need to reach around like that.
MILLER: That's not a hook. That's him getting position
ELMORE: But that's him putting his hand behind a guy's back.
GUS JOHNSON (interrupting): According to John Adams, a foul is a foul. You call what you see.
ELMORE (repeating): You call what you see.
REGGIE (a few seconds later): Let these kids play. Let them play. Let them decide.
ELMORE: Let them play fundamentally-sound though. That's not fundamentally sound.

Nevadaref Sun Mar 11, 2012 02:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 831177)
[A] player for NC State was called for a player control foul earlier on a very similar play I believe. I'd like to see these two plays back to back and see how similar they were if at all.

This is true. It was on the ESPN highlights. It was one of three quick fouls this player picked up in about a minute of play.

Given this call, it makes the decision of a no-call on the final UNC possession really disappointing.

JRutledge Sun Mar 11, 2012 04:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 831232)
My favorite comeback to "let 'em play" was during last year's Butler/Florida game in the NCAAs between Len Elmore and Reggie Miller. SB Nation broke it down:

Miller is still close to being a player. Elmore was a player and been removed from that part of the game a long time. Also he does not call NBA games like Miller, where it is sport to rip the officials for everything. Elmore is a lawyer and was a prosecutor. I am sure he looks at these things differently because of that background. Not that the rules are the same as law, but what is written can mean something. ;)

Peace

JetMetFan Sun Mar 11, 2012 04:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 831236)
Miller is still close to being a player. Elmore was a player and been removed from that part of the game a long time. Also he does not call NBA games like Miller, where it is sport to rip the officials for everything. Elmore is a lawyer and was a prosecutor. I am sure he looks at these things differently because of that background. Not that the rules are the same as law, but what is written can mean something. ;)

Peace

His legal background shows since he actually thinks before he reacts to situations. It might also contribute to his desire to know and understand the rules.

I also think the fact he was an NBA role player contributes to his comments as opposed to Miller being a HoF-calber shooter.

Judtech Sun Mar 11, 2012 07:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 831229)
Anyone hear what Digger Phelps said on Sportscenter after this game? It won't surprise anyone...

"Good officials in that situation let 'em play".

Wow. Just wow.

I thought he was gonna punch Fran Frashilla (sp)! Fran kept saying that by NOT calling the PC the officials were NOT letting the players decide the game bc there was good defense played. It got pretty heated and made me think more of Fran and less of Digger!
IMO you have to put that play and call/no call in context of the earlier similar play.

JetMetFan Sun Mar 11, 2012 07:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 831244)
I thought he was gonna punch Fran Frashilla (sp)! Fran kept saying that by NOT calling the PC the officials were NOT letting the players decide the game bc there was good defense played. It got pretty heated and made me think more of Fran and less of Digger!
IMO you have to put that play and call/no call in context of the earlier similar play.

I'm gaining some respect for Fraschilla too. He's been pretty outspoken about seeing fouls called regardless of the situation. granted, he's not right all the time but at least he's willing to say it...unlike Doris "there are too many charging fouls" Burke.

APG Sun Mar 11, 2012 07:41am

You gotta let players decide the game!...until it affects my team!

Bad Zebra Sun Mar 11, 2012 08:40am

Doesn't look like defender had LGP (to me). I like the no-call here.

truerookie Sun Mar 11, 2012 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 831222)
Play starts in the T's area and moves into the L's primary area of coverage; not a secondary defender. L appears to have a wide/open look.

In plays like this that have happened to me in the past, if I'm the T and I don't stay connected to the play, I'm trusting the L will make the call....any call. During the pre-game, I tell my crew if a player(s) is on the floor we have to know why he is down there on the floor.

If an evaluator comes in after the game and asks what happened, the L is gonna have to "man-up" and explain his non-call. In any case, I'm gonna trust my partner that the "no-call" at that time was the right decision.

Oh, so you will hang you partner(s) out to dry?

Play starts in your area, you will pass it off on someone whom may be working off ball looking for a secondary defender to come into the picture.

Then if an evaluator comes and question the call the L will have to "man up" How about the person where the play originated from "MAN UP" and say. I did not stay with the play until there was a change in status of the ball (pass, shot, or foul) have taken place.

Unbelieveable!!! IMO

jearef Sun Mar 11, 2012 09:40am

In my opinion, the dribbler clearly initiates contact in order to create space so he can get off the shot. An obvious advantage is gained. It's a game-changer and a clear player control foul. Especially given the situation, someone has to have a whistle.

The unfortunate thing is that with the Hess ejections of a few weeks ago, the NC State fans are going to start talking about conspiracy. Obviously a bunch of baloney, but we all know it's coming. :(

Rich Sun Mar 11, 2012 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 831254)
Oh, so you will hang you partner(s) out to dry?

Play starts in your area, you will pass it off on someone whom may be working off ball looking for a secondary defender to come into the picture.

Then if an evaluator comes and question the call the L will have to "man up" How about the person where the play originated from "MAN UP" and say. I did not stay with the play until there was a change in status of the ball (pass, shot, or foul) have taken place.

Unbelieveable!!! IMO

I'm not sure I get this -- this decision is clearly in the L's primary and in the men's game I'd be shocked if they pregamed this as anything other than the L taking this all the way. Lead is king on these.

I've been in the same position on a play like this and it's not a trivial thing for the T to come all the way down there to grab that one.

fiasco Sun Mar 11, 2012 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jearef (Post 831257)

The unfortunate thing is that with the Hess ejections of a few weeks ago, the NC State fans are going to start talking about conspiracy. Obviously a bunch of baloney, but we all know it's coming. :(

Well Brian Dorsey didn't exactly help quell the conspiracy theorists at all...

fiasco Sun Mar 11, 2012 10:02am

Ignoring the commentary, what differences do you see (if any) between the calls in question on both ends of the floor?

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/XCUUGdn-irY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

dahoopref Sun Mar 11, 2012 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 831254)
Oh, so you will hang you partner(s) out to dry?

Play starts in your area, you will pass it off on someone whom may be working off ball looking for a secondary defender to come into the picture.

Then if an evaluator comes and question the call the L will have to "man up" How about the person where the play originated from "MAN UP" and say. I did not stay with the play until there was a change in status of the ball (pass, shot, or foul) have taken place.

Unbelieveable!!! IMO

I'd be incline to side with you if there was a secondary defender entering the L's area. Can you tell me if there is one?

From what I see from the clip, the T has a "closed look" when the contact happens while the L has the best view with an "open look." If I'm the T, I'm gonna trust the L has the correct position to make the right decision. If I come in with a whistle after the no-call, chances are from my view as the T that I'd be guessing since the defender was moving backward playing defense before the contact happens.

truerookie Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 831258)
I'm not sure I get this -- this decision is clearly in the L's primary and in the men's game I'd be shocked if they pregamed this as anything other than the L taking this all the way. Lead is king on these.

I've been in the same position on a play like this and it's not a trivial thing for the T to come all the way down there to grab that one.


Rich, The issue I have is. From my perspective we pass off the responsibility of plays which begins in our area. This is where the start, develop, finish comes into play. The official should mainitain it until the status of the play changes.

truerookie Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 831268)
I'd be incline to side with you if there was a secondary defender entering the L's area. Can you tell me if there is one?

From what I see from the clip, the T has a "closed look" when the contact happens while the L has the best view with an "open look." If I'm the T, I'm gonna trust the L has the correct position to make the right decision. If I come in with a whistle after the no-call, chances are from my view as the T that I'd be guessing since the defender was moving backward playing defense before the contact happens.

I cannot tell you that. If the T look is closed all he have to do is move his feet to maintain a positive look by stepping down towards the endline.

The L could also be thinking. I trust my T to stay with the play until the status change because it came from his area understanding the SDF concept.

For me, I stay with the play until the status change when it starts in my primary. I will also explain if questioned. The one thing I will not due is say a the L better "Man up" explain it.

dahoopref Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 831278)
I cannot tell you that. If the T look is closed all he have to do is move his feet to maintain a positive look by stepping down towards the endline.

The L could also be thinking. I trust my T to stay with the play until the status change because it came from his area understanding the SDF concept.

For me, I stay with the play until the status change when it starts in my primary. I will also explain if questioned. The one thing I will not due is say a the L better "Man up" explain it.

The T does step-down (from the the first C to the second C on the ACC logo) but not enough. If anything, because he stepped down, his look became even more closed because the players moved in the same direction. I agree a step-down could help but he would need to go down to the FT line extended to see the play and with the speed of the play and the direction of the players, that just wasn't going to happen. The T could stay connected all he wants on this play, but from his position adjustment, he ended up looking through the UNC player's back when the contact happened.

The L, on the drive, widens out to get an open look the drive, which IMO, has the best look for a decision.

The term "man-up" is a term my conference supervisor used recently at our conference tournament. His philosophy is that the crew is a "team" with individual responsibilities. In a semi-final game, the crew should realize that each member is there because they can handle their business in their PCA and they can trust each other to make the right decision. If a high impact play happens in your PCA, you will have to "man-up" and explain your decision.

On this play, I can live with the L making a call or no call because I trust him. As long as he was in proper position to do so, which IMO, he was.

jearef Sun Mar 11, 2012 01:29pm

What about the C ??
 
Does anyone else think that C was in great position to get a look at this play? I know it's outside his PCA, but if you look at the video, he may have had the best angle of anyone on the crew. We always say we should stay in our own PCA unless it's an obvious foul or a game decider; in my opinion, this play was both.

truerookie Sun Mar 11, 2012 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 831283)
The T does step-down (from the the first C to the second C on the ACC logo) but not enough. If anything, because he stepped down, his look became even more closed because the players moved in the same direction. I agree a step-down could help but he would need to go down to the FT line extended to see the play and with the speed of the play and the direction of the players, that just wasn't going to happen. The T could stay connected all he wants on this play, but from his position adjustment, he ended up looking through the UNC player's back when the contact happened.

The L, on the drive, widens out to get an open look the drive, which IMO, has the best look for a decision.

The term "man-up" is a term my conference supervisor used recently at our conference tournament. His philosophy is that the crew is a "team" with individual responsibilities. In a semi-final game, the crew should realize that each member is there because they can handle their business in their PCA and they can trust each other to make the right decision. If a high impact play happens in your PCA, you will have to "man-up" and explain your decision.

On this play, I can live with the L making a call or no call because I trust him. As long as he was in proper position to do so, which IMO, he was.

Ok, I can live with that. I concur with you sir an official should be able to handle their business in their PCA. The only opposition would be if the play developed outside his PCA but finished in his PCA. I would trust the official whom area it came from take it and live with the call or no call.

My opposition was to your position that if an evaluator came in and question the play the L better "man up" and explain it. It should, IMO come from the person who the play originated from.

truerookie Sun Mar 11, 2012 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jearef (Post 831289)
Does anyone else think that C was in great position to get a look at this play? I know it's outside his PCA, but if you look at the video, he may have had the best angle of anyone on the crew. We always say we should stay in our own PCA unless it's an obvious foul or a game decider; in my opinion, this play was both.

Good question, the C did have the better look and IMO should have extended over since majority of the action(players) were strong side.

Raymond Sun Mar 11, 2012 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 831267)
Ignoring the commentary, what differences do you see (if any) between the calls in question on both ends of the floor?

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/XCUUGdn-irY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I'll comment (w/o having read other responses). The first PC on NCSU was passed on by the Lead and called by the Trail who was straight-lined. And Kendall Marshall's play was also passed on by the Lead. So I say the Trail had no business putting a whistle on the NCSU PC foul.

On the 2 post plays: the NCSU post player put his shoulder into the defender. Zeller did absolutely nothing on his post play, the defender just fell down.

Sharpshooternes Sun Mar 11, 2012 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 831215)
Head and shoulders is a rule of thumb. There's no way I'm punishing a defender with position just because the dribbler turned himself into a pretzel.

Actually snaqs, check out 10-6-8. Not a rule of thumb. just a rule.

Rich Sun Mar 11, 2012 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 831327)
Actually snaqs, check out 10-6-8. Not a rule of thumb. just a rule.

And a case of you twisting it (like a pretzel) to meet a scenario where it doesn't apply, IMO.

Sharpshooternes Sun Mar 11, 2012 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 831328)
And a case of you twisting it (like a pretzel) to meet a scenario where it doesn't apply, IMO.

Didn't say it was for this scenario. I changed my stance after watching it again, A1 lowered his shoulder. It is a PC. Just a friendly reminder that it is a rule and not a rule of thumb. I don't want others to be confused.

Adam Sun Mar 11, 2012 06:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 831329)
Didn't say it was for this scenario. I changed my stance after watching it again, A1 lowered his shoulder. It is a PC. Just a friendly reminder that it is a rule and not a rule of thumb. I don't want others to be confused.

Ok, so it's a rule of thumb written into the rules. It states that fthe "greater responsibility" is with the defender, not the sole responsibility. It doesn't even just say "the defender is responsible for contact." It's a measuring stick.

And again, just because a dribbler/shooter is able to twist his body in a way that gets his head and shoulders past the stationary defender before his legs knock the defender to the floor does not mean I'm going to call the defender for a foul.

Sharpshooternes Mon Mar 12, 2012 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 831338)
Ok, so it's a rule of thumb written into the rules. It states that fthe "greater responsibility" is with the defender, not the sole responsibility. It doesn't even just say "the defender is responsible for contact." It's a measuring stick.

And again, just because a dribbler/shooter is able to twist his body in a way that gets his head and shoulders past the stationary defender before his legs knock the defender to the floor does not mean I'm going to call the defender for a foul.

I agree with you snaqs 100%. I think I get your interpretation of the rules and agree more with you than anyone else on here.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1