![]() |
BLARGE - TENN/Ole Miss
14:19 left, 2nd half.
|
What happened to the video on YouTube?
Peace |
Quote:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/aPwfR8gL3D8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
There was one like that in the K-State/ WVU game before Christmas this season. In both games, the official calling the block had two fists in the air, but didn't bring them down. In the other game, they went with just the pc.
|
I put this SNAFU all on the Center.
NCAA men's mechanics state in part that the L has primary on calls coming toward him. This "blarge" doesn't happen if the C adheres to proper play calling according to mechanics. If the C just holds and doesn't give a preliminary, then none of this happens. Thanks for clipping this APG. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
With the WVU/KSU game, I think the T got the call correct but at least he held back when he heard the other whistle and saw the L coming in so strong. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
I think it would be harder to avoid a blarge at the college level once the official put air in the whistle. Sure, they should be better at determining who has the call, but in high school, at least in my neck of the woods, officials nearly always come up with a fist before the primary signal on fouls. In college it seems, especially on these block/charge calls, the officials almost always go straight to the primary. This robs them of the chance to hear or see that the other guy has a call, and you get situations like this.
|
Did the L ever give a preliminary signal on this? I've watched it 3-4 times and every time I see only one fist in the air and then he has the basketball in one hand.
|
Yeah, I watched the videos again. In the Tenn. video, the lead come with a fist, and then raises his other fist for just a little bit. He doesn't leave his two fists in the air like the official does in the WVU game.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
In short, calling this play a block is what is wrong with basketball today. What else is the defender supposed to do? He steps above the resitricted line, obtains LGP, and the offensive player goes right thru him. Even if he "slides" to the left, that is perfeclty legal by rule. There is nothing about the defender "being set" or "stationary."
Unbelievable. |
Quote:
edit: sorry, I was talking about the first clip, not sure which one you were talking about. Second clip looks like a clear charge. Oddly, in both plays, the L gets it wrong. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44am. |