The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Creighton/Long Beach St. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89174-creighton-long-beach-st.html)

just another ref Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:12am

Creighton/Long Beach St.
 
NCAA backcourt rule is the same on 3 pts, isn't it?

Official just called the violation in the last minute of the game. Ball didn't come close to the line.

Seddy Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:19am

Brutal call.

Also, another example of the announcers not knowing the rules either since they agreed with the call even after seeing a slow-motion replay.

tjones1 Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 825529)
NCAA backcourt rule is the same on 3 pts, isn't it?

Official just called the violation in the last minute of the game. Ball didn't come close to the line.

Indeed it is... I hit rewind as soon as the whistle blew... I've had a long day... just wanted to make sure I wasn't seeing things.

Sharpshooternes Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:42am

Yeah I saw it too. Bad call. Could have cost the game.

BktBallRef Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seddy (Post 825531)
Brutal call.

Also, another example of the announcers not knowing the rules either since they agreed with the call even after seeing a slow-motion replay.

Not just the announcers. Sportscenter talking heads, too. :o

Not only did the ball not cross the line, neither did his right foot.

Fortunately, the opponent lost the ball OOB on the ensuing possession.

zm1283 Sun Feb 19, 2012 01:29am

I was hoping people would bring it up on here. I was going to record it on video and post it, but I was sure it would be talked about. That bad thing is that it wasn't even close.

JetMetFan Sun Feb 19, 2012 03:34am

Holy cow...
 
I just watched the replay. That was bad. We probably won't hear about it but I wouldn't be surprised if those guys are docked a game by their conference (I'm asssuming MVC since Creighton was the home team). I know that sounds drastic but conference assignors don't look kindly on officials screwing up rules, especially late in televised games.

As for the announcers, I began following Stephen Bardo (the analyst on the game) on Twitter a few months ago for the sole purpose of telling him when he screws up the rules.

APG Sun Feb 19, 2012 06:40am

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/L6j0GRiCkcY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

mbyron Sun Feb 19, 2012 09:05am

Isn't that the second one of those this season (last minute, nationally televised game)? Wow.

twocentsworth Sun Feb 19, 2012 09:32am

- BAD call.
- Yes, it's the 2nd one we've seen this season in the last minute of a game.
- The officials were assigned by the Big West Conf. for this game (ALL Bracket Buster games have the officials assigned by the visiting conf.).
- That previous, incorrectly called play was shown to ALL D1 (and others belonging to the NCAA's officiating website) via a video bulletin.
- I imagine we'll see this play in the next video bulletin sent out by John Adams.
- I would think that if any discipline is handed out, it would be only be to the calling official and NOT the entire crew.

JugglingReferee Sun Feb 19, 2012 09:38am

The dribbler was not challenged by a defender, so there was no chance of a foul being committed. The play was not near a sideline, so there was no OB violation possible. The clock wasn't near 00:00, so there was no last second shot to be concerned about. 10-second rule? Not likely since A1 bolted up the court right away.

When this happens, the only job the T has has is to ensure that all 3 points cross the division line.

It's pretty bad when you screw up your only job, especially when it wasn't even close, and right at the end of the game.

I've said it before and it remains true: if fate has it that you will screw this call up, do it with 8:04 left in the first NCAA-half. People will barely remember it then. They will remember a blown call with 42 seconds left in the game.

You have to start strong and finish strong. Yes, I've learned the hard way. :(

Welpe Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:14am

Oh my. Just goes to show that none of us are infallible.

JetMetFan Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 825599)
- BAD call.
- Yes, it's the 2nd one we've seen this season in the last minute of a game.
- The officials were assigned by the Big West Conf. for this game (ALL Bracket Buster games have the officials assigned by the visiting conf.).
- That previous, incorrectly called play was shown to ALL D1 (and others belonging to the NCAA's officiating website) via a video bulletin.
- I imagine we'll see this play in the next video bulletin sent out by John Adams.
- I would think that if any discipline is handed out, it would be only be to the calling official and NOT the entire crew.

Twocents, you have a point regarding the calling official but I think the C could catch some heat as well since he's supposed to stay even with the ball up court unless there are very few (2 or 3) players in the backcourt. It would've looked odd if he told his partner it wasn't a violation but it also would've kept them out of the (post-game) soup. Again, JMO.

Btw - I seem to be in a back and forth with analyst Stephen Bardo about this on Twitter.

Me: FYI - Play in the last min of LBSU/Creig wasn't b'court. Both feet & ball of dribbler have to be in f'court first.
SB: I'm amazed at guys like u that seem to watch games and CAN'T wait to point out the negative. Thanks for watching
Me: Not trying to be negative. I've been a basketball official for 20+ yrs. Just trying to educate.
SB: u said that the last time u wanted to educate
Me: Thanks. When b'casters - I also work in TV - misinterpret rules it filters down to me on the court. Knowledge helps us all.

Johnny Ringo Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:21am

If the C official saw this play and KNEW it was not called correctly... what should he have done?

JugglingReferee Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 825622)
If the C official saw this play and KNEW it was not called correctly... what should he have done?

He should go in and say something.

I wouldn't be surprised if at that level, they don't.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1