The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt on "controlled tap"? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89096-backcourt-controlled-tap.html)

Nevadaref Sun Feb 19, 2012 03:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 825388)
We really need to get the phrase "controlled tap" out of our vocabulary. So many people, including officials, use this phrase, but there's no such thing in basketball. The only way to control the ball, by rule, is to HOLD or DRIBBLE a live ball. That's it. That's the list.

If we just forget about a "controlled tap" and ask whether the ball was held or dribbled, we'll be a lot better off.

Absolutely correct. Of course, the new wording of the rule notwithstanding, the action described in the OP is indeed a violation.

Adam Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 825556)
Absolutely correct. Of course, the new wording of the rule notwithstanding, the action described in the OP is indeed a violation.

How? When did B get team control with FC status?

bob jenkins Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 825612)
How? When did B get team control with FC status?

The OP was "Team B steals the ball" -- that could be (depending on what was meant) control.

The rest of the criteria (FC, last to touch, first to touch) were clearly met. Note that "PC in the FC" is NOT needed. Since the OP was asking about "a controlled tap", maybe the rest of us were confused about whether "steal" already meant "control."

Adam Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 825619)
The OP was "Team B steals the ball" -- that could be (depending on what was meant) control.

The rest of the criteria (FC, last to touch, first to touch) were clearly met. Note that "PC in the FC" is NOT needed. Since the OP was asking about "a controlled tap", maybe the rest of us were confused about whether "steal" already meant "control."

That could be it. I missed that wording.

just another ref Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:55am

It was pointed out.


Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 825342)
When you say B stole the ball, if they gained control at that point, your situation is a violation.


refiator Sun Feb 19, 2012 01:38pm

Team B did indeed control in their BC after the steal. Partners and I disagreed over the violation being called based on the fact that Team B did not actually catch, hence "control" in the FC. I ruled violation based on the ball being "pushed" to a teammate from the BC to the FC.
Thanks for the input.

Camron Rust Sun Feb 19, 2012 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 825683)
Team B did indeed control in their BC after the steal. Partners and I disagreed over the violation being called based on the fact that Team B did not actually catch, hence "control" in the FC. I ruled violation based on the ball being "pushed" to a teammate from the BC to the FC.
Thanks for the input.

Sounds like a violation then...it was unclear in the OP whether the steal was merely deflection or a catch. Since you're saying it was a catch, the manner in which the ball then moved around is irrelevant....only who touched it in which part of the court and in which order.

Scrapper1 Sun Feb 19, 2012 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 825619)
Note that "PC in the FC" is NOT needed.

Are you sure? :confused:

Adam Sun Feb 19, 2012 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 825691)
Are you sure? :confused:

By rule, it is. But do they want us to call it by rule?

Nevadaref Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 825619)
The rest of the criteria (FC, last to touch, first to touch) were clearly met. Note that "PC in the FC" is NOT needed.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 825691)
Are you sure? :confused:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 825732)
By rule, it is. But do they want us to call it by rule?

That's precisely why I wrote, "the new wording of the rule notwithstanding."

I'm not calling it by the new wording. I'm using the old as directed in the NFHS powerpoint presentation.

Raymond Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:23pm

Why is there confusion? Team B "stole" the ball in their backcourt. The ball was then knocked off B1's leg into the front court and last touched by Team B before heading to the backcourt.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1