The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   fess up (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/88438-fess-up.html)

stiffler3492 Wed Feb 15, 2012 08:34am

Last night, boy's sophomore blowout, neither coach said a word...of course I go and screw something up!

A1 makes a basket, and Coach A wants a timeout, but B1 already had the ball ready to inbound. Of course I blow my whistle without being patient. I say my fault, but Coach A still wants the timeout anyway.

Silly me.

fullor30 Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremy Hohn (Post 823947)
<iframe width="640" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/yybuXgx_siE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


How did you feel about that call?

Rich Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 824197)
Last night, boy's sophomore blowout, neither coach said a word...of course I go and screw something up!

A1 makes a basket, and Coach A wants a timeout, but B1 already had the ball ready to inbound. Of course I blow my whistle without being patient. I say my fault, but Coach A still wants the timeout anyway.

Silly me.

Depending on the timeframe, I would likely still grant the timeout if the thrower-in had just corralled the ball.

stiffler3492 Wed Feb 15, 2012 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 824294)
Depending on the timeframe, I would likely still grant the timeout if the thrower-in had just corralled the ball.

It was close, that's for sure. Next time that happens and it's that close, I'll probably give him the benefit of the doubt.

Freddy Wed Feb 15, 2012 01:39pm

Mea Culpa
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 824174)
I had a bad non-call early in an early season boys varsity game.

This was a good no-call, but I almost wished I had.

Just banged H team dribbler for a PC foul, using his arm to contact and push off the defender, right in front of H's bench. I had "the slot", and it was an easy call. Coach remarks, "That was a good call, now just make sure you call it on the other end."
Sure enough, I'm new T on the very next play going the other way. Just before I cross the division line, with the dribbler about 12 feet in front of me right in front of the V bench, I note what might have been contact by the dribbler in the exact same fashion as just previously on the other end. This time, however, I didn't have "the slot"--all I had is the back of the dribbler. Though working to get the slot, from that position I saw nothing. If there was something, a strong C didn't catch it. I "think" I knew what "might" have happened, but wasn't going to guess.
H coach just about had a conniption (sp?) fit.
Oh well. :o

Adam Wed Feb 15, 2012 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 824197)
Last night, boy's sophomore blowout, neither coach said a word...of course I go and screw something up!

A1 makes a basket, and Coach A wants a timeout, but B1 already had the ball ready to inbound. Of course I blow my whistle without being patient. I say my fault, but Coach A still wants the timeout anyway.

Silly me.

What do you mean "anyway?". Once you blew, you have to give it to him.

stiffler3492 Wed Feb 15, 2012 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 824327)
What do you mean "anyway?". Once you blew, you have to give it to him.

I know that. Here's how the conversation went:

Coach A: Timeout

Me: *Whistle* "Oops my fault, B already had the ball"

Coach A: Well, can I have it now anyway?

Me: You sure can coach.

So he got it before me having to explain a little known rule.

Adam Wed Feb 15, 2012 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 824330)
I know that. Here's how the conversation went:

Coach A: Timeout

Me: *Whistle* "Oops my fault, B already had the ball"

Coach A: Well, can I have it now anyway?

Me: You sure can coach.

So he got it before me having to explain a little known rule.

Gotcha

tomegun Wed Feb 15, 2012 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 824276)
how did you feel about that call?

+1

BillyMac Wed Feb 15, 2012 05:16pm

For Your Penance ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 824324)
Mea Culpa

Ten Hail Marys. And spit shine your plumber's helper.

bainsey Sun Feb 19, 2012 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 823892)
Why?

Snaqs,

Gotta give you props. Thanks for asking this. It made me dig into the book (NFHS 10-3-6h, specifically), and check with an interpreter. Indeed, removing of the shirt (or shorts) is a technical foul. Merely untucking it is not a T; it's just grounds for removal (and that kid was going out anyway).

Does this mean I have to fess up to something else?

BillyMac Sun Feb 19, 2012 03:52pm

Well, The Sport Does Involve A Ball ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 825735)
Indeed, removing of the shirt (or shorts) is a technical foul.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/BhWEqWHllQA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1