The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Did I answer this correctly? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/88198-did-i-answer-correctly.html)

paulsonj72 Sat Feb 11, 2012 04:40am

Did I answer this correctly?
 
Saw this on another board and I answered the question here trying to remember the proper Fed rules for a T of this sort and when it happens. Here is the situation as presented and my answer. he specificaly asked in the thread title High School BAsketball officals ?

[quote author=vikestwinswild1 link=topic=12279.msg381755#msg381755 date=1328914939]
If there are, I wanted to ask a question about something I saw last Monday Night. I was at a basketball game that night & the visiting team had to start the 2nd half with a technical foul because one of the players was not in the book when the game started. So the home team was awarded 2 free throws when the 2nd half began, they had posession as well because the arrow pointed their way. Was the arrow still supposed to change after the inbound or was it supposed to stay with the home team for the next posession tie-up? The guy who runs the book at the home games is also trying to find out what the rule is supposed to be.
[/quote]

The home team did not get possession to start the 2nd half because they had the arrow. In high school basketball the offended team gets pssession after a technical foul, unlike college where almost all T's go back to POI(Point of Interuption). Since the half began with technical free throws and then the inbounds to the offended team after a T, the arrow SHOULD NOT change and the home team would get the arrow on the first held ball(or jump ball) of the 2nd half. This is an administrative T that goes against the team foul count for the bonus in HS ball but is not charged to anyone on the bench.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 11, 2012 06:08am

Yes, your response is fine.

paulsonj72 Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 822795)
Yes, your response is fine.

As I thought but wanted confirmation :)

ga314ref Mon Feb 13, 2012 04:49pm

Question...
 
Quote:

If there are, I wanted to ask a question about something I saw last Monday Night. I was at a basketball game that night & the visiting team had to start the 2nd half with a technical foul because one of the players was not in the book when the game started. So the home team was awarded 2 free throws when the 2nd half began, they had posession as well because the arrow pointed their way. Was the arrow still supposed to change after the inbound or was it supposed to stay with the home team for the next posession tie-up? The guy who runs the book at the home games is also trying to find out what the rule is supposed to be.

Did the player not in the book ever attempt to enter the game?

7IronRef Mon Feb 13, 2012 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ga314ref (Post 823530)
Did the player not in the book ever attempt to enter the game?

I was thinking the same thing

paulsonj72 Tue Feb 14, 2012 01:23am

Thats all the info that was provided. My guess is that there was a substituiton at the half when said player tried to enter the game and thats when it was discovered.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 14, 2012 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ga314ref (Post 823530)
Did the player not in the book ever attempt to enter the game?

If he didn't, he wasn't a player. ;)

(But I recognize that the OP might not have made that distinction)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1