![]() |
Designated Throw in spot?
In our association meeting, we had an interesting discussion of the designated spot. This is the three foot area that the player must keep one foot over the spot. The opinion of the group was to allow 3 feet to start at the point outside the player so if the player moved right the three foot area starts the players left side - 3 foot one way, not 1.5 feet from center.
Any comments? How do you handle this, not that it happens very often at all. |
The group is unfortunately incorrect.
|
Quote:
|
While the group is wrong, a good rule of thumb I have found is to require the "opposite foot" to move twice to have a violation. So, if the player moves right, the left foot must move twice (the first one will put it near the edge) to have the violation.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
1) Right, left (left is now at edge of space), right, left (left is +/- 3 feet out of space) 2) Left (to middle), right, left (left is now +/- 1.5 feet out of space) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
That said, there is no black/white point at which it is too far...but I know it when I see it. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39pm. |