The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Non-shooting foul end of quarter (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87643-non-shooting-foul-end-quarter.html)

Sharpshooternes Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:20am

Non-shooting foul end of quarter
 
End of first quarter, A1 dribbling near side line, obviouse blocking foul by B1 somewhere between 0.3 sec and 0.0. Horn sounds, what do you have, particularly with the clock?

stiffler3492 Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:27am

If I know for a fact that the foul occurred before the end of the period, I'm reporting the foul.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 06, 2012 03:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 820536)
End of first quarter, A1 dribbling near side line, obviouse blocking foul by B1 somewhere between 0.3 sec and 0.0. Horn sounds, what do you have, particularly with the clock?

A foul and bonus free throws or the end of the quarter if fewer than seven team fouls by Team B, per 5-6-2 exception 3.

Camron Rust Mon Feb 06, 2012 03:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 820556)
A foul and bonus free throws or the end of the quarter if fewer than seven team fouls by Team B, per 5-6-2 exception 3.

And if you see something on the clock at/after the whistle before it expires, you put it back. If not, you administer any foul penalties (FTs) with no time on the clock. (If you have time to see what was on the clock, the timer had time to get it stopped by then). A quick whistle/buzz with no time to see what was left ends the quarter.

mbyron Mon Feb 06, 2012 09:04am

I'm guessing the question was whether A starts the next period with a throw-in for the foul.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 06, 2012 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 820588)
I'm guessing the question was whether A starts the next period with a throw-in for the foul.

In that case, the answer is "no."

Sharpshooternes Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 820588)
I'm guessing the question was whether A starts the next period with a throw-in for the foul.

No not at all. I know no penalties carry over from period to period. Just wanted clarification on whether I should report the foul, if it needed to be intentional because there was no time on the clock, or if we needed to add time. We did what everyone said. Reported the foul and ended the period as there was no time left on the clock (no FTs, no bonus yet) and started 2nd period with AP. Thanks, that was helpful.

tjones1 Mon Feb 06, 2012 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 820653)
No not at all. I know no penalties carry over from period to period. Just wanted clarification on whether I should report the foul, if it needed to be intentional because there was no time on the clock, or if we needed to add time. We did what everyone said. Reported the foul and ended the period as there was no time left on the clock (no FTs, no bonus yet) and started 2nd period with AP. Thanks, that was helpful.

If you think the illegal contact occurred before the horn sounded, then yes you need to report it.

If you think the contact occurred after the horn then you must consider it intentional or flagrant thus it will be a technical foul.

By the way you wrote it in the OP, sounds like just a personal foul; therefore, report it.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 06, 2012 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 820677)
If you think the illegal contact occurred before the horn sounded, then yes you need to report it.

If you think the contact occurred after the horn then you must consider it intentional or flagrant thus it will be a technical foul.

By the way you wrote it in the OP, sounds like just a personal foul; therefore, report it.

It's not that the official must consider the contact to be intentional or flagrant after the horn (dead ball in this case without a try), it's that UNLESS the official judges the contact to be intentional or flagrant, it is to be ignored by rule.

I'm hoping that is what you meant, but just didn't write it very clearly.

Sharpshooternes Mon Feb 06, 2012 07:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 820793)
It's not that the official must consider the contact to be intentional or flagrant after the horn (dead ball in this case without a try), it's that UNLESS the official judges the contact to be intentional or flagrant, it is to be ignored by rule.

I'm hoping that is what you meant, but just didn't write it very clearly.

Yeah, that's it. I should just quote the book.:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1