The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travelling, Held Ball, or nothing. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87573-travelling-held-ball-nothing.html)

Illini_Ref Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:05am

Travelling, Held Ball, or nothing.
 
A1 ends his dribble and jumps to try and score. On his way up B1 knocks the ball loose. A1 regains possession while still airborne and comes down with the ball.

Any violation here? If not, can he dribble again?

I know this has been discussed on here before but finding it may not be as easy as reposting the question. I think that there is no violation here and the player can even dribble again.

I'll hang up and listen.

JetMetFan Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref (Post 820323)
A1 ends his dribble and jumps to try and score. On his way up B1 knocks the ball loose. A1 regains possession while still airborne and comes down with the ball.

Any violation here? If not, can he dribble again?

I know this has been discussed on here before but finding it may not be as easy as reposting the question. I think that there is no violation here and the player can even dribble again.

I'll hang up and listen.

Nothing. Here's the case book ruling. Situation A is the closest to your description:

4.44.3 SITUATION A:

A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1's hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces.

RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and *subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.

mbyron Sun Feb 05, 2012 08:13am

If this play had happened during a dribble, would you have any doubt about the answer? Does being in the air make any difference?

BillyMac Sun Feb 05, 2012 08:51am

From The Files Of The Mythbusters ...
 
http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg

The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point. When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a held ball. If, in this situation, the shooter loses control of the ball because of the block, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues. If, in this situation, the defender simply touches the ball, and the airborne shooter returns to the floor holding the ball, it’s a traveling violation. When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and picks up the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor.

JugglingReferee Sun Feb 05, 2012 09:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref (Post 820323)
A1 ends his dribble and jumps to try and score. On his way up B1 knocks the ball loose. A1 regains possession while still airborne and comes down with the ball.

Any violation here? If not, can he dribble again?

I know this has been discussed on here before but finding it may not be as easy as reposting the question. I think that there is no violation here and the player can even dribble again.

I'll hang up and listen.

No violation of any kind. Yes, A1 can dribble again.

JRutledge Sun Feb 05, 2012 02:04pm

I have nothing because of the description. He lost control of the ball, so when he got control again is what matters. It would be like he gained possession of a ball airborne in any other matter like a rebound.

Sorry I was late on this. ;)

Peace

tophat67 Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 820381)
http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg

The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point. When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a held ball. If, in this situation, the shooter loses control of the ball because of the block, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues. If, in this situation, the defender simply touches the ball, and the airborne shooter returns to the floor holding the ball, it’s a traveling violation. When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and picks up the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor.

So in the case when a player goes up for a shot and has the ball touched by a defender, momentarily bobbles the ball and comes down with it, without getting off a shot, this is NOT a travel? Correct?

Adam Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tophat67 (Post 820640)
So in the case when a player goes up for a shot and has the ball touched by a defender, momentarily bobbles the ball and comes down with it, without getting off a shot, this is NOT a travel? Correct?

Assuming the defender knocked the ball loose, you're correct.

If, however, the defender barely nicks the ball and the shooter purposefully lets it go to avoid a travel; no go.

tjones1 Mon Feb 06, 2012 01:15pm

A little late to the party... but...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 820337)
Nothing. Here's the case book ruling. Situation A is the closest to your description:

4.44.3 SITUATION A:

A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1's hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces.

RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and *subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.

Better yet...

9.5.1 Situation:
A1 ends a dribble and then jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. B1 partially blocks the shot, but A1 secures control again while still in the air. A1 returns to the floor and dribbles to the basket and scores.

Ruling: Legal maneuver. Both player control and team control ended when A1 released the ball. When A1 recovered he/she could dribble again similar to dribbling after catching a pass or rebound.

letemplay Mon Feb 06, 2012 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 820675)
Better yet...

9.5.1 Situation:
A1 ends a dribble and then jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. B1 partially blocks the shot, but A1 secures control again while still in the air. A1 returns to the floor and dribbles to the basket and scores.

Ruling: Legal maneuver. Both player control and team control ended when A1 released the ball. When A1 recovered he/she could dribble again similar to dribbling after catching a pass or rebound.

What's the difference above and 4.44.3 A (b and c)? Come to think of it, what's the difference in b and c?

Adam Mon Feb 06, 2012 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 820717)
What's the difference above and 4.44.3 A (b and c)? Come to think of it, what's the difference in b and c?

In b, the shot is released. In c, the touch is not what stopped the shooter from releasing the try.

PG_Ref Mon Feb 06, 2012 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 820717)
What's the difference above and 4.44.3 A (b and c)? Come to think of it, what's the difference in b and c?

The difference is whether or not B1 causes A1 to lose control of the ball. Once control is lost, A1 basically starts a new possession.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 06, 2012 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 820717)
What's the difference above and 4.44.3 A (b and c)? Come to think of it, what's the difference in b and c?

In part (b), B touches the ball, but A is still able to release it on a try or a pass. ==> Play on.

In part (c), B touches the ball, but A does not ("chooses not to") release the ball and returns to the floor. ==> Travelling.

letemplay Mon Feb 06, 2012 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 820723)
In part (b), B touches the ball, but A is still able to release it on a try or a pass. ==> Play on.

In part (c), B touches the ball, but A does not ("chooses not to") release the ball and returns to the floor. ==> Travelling.

OK, and the difference between (a) and (c) is the ball is loose or dislodged in (a) making it legal to return to the floor with it, but it never leaves player's hands in (c)? A tough call sometimes if you can't get a good look at it.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 06, 2012 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 820730)
OK, and the difference between (a) and (c) is the ball is loose or dislodged in (a) making it legal to return to the floor with it, but it never leaves player's hands in (c)?

correct

Quote:

A tough call sometimes if you can't get a good look at it.
That applies to just about every play in the game.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1