The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87429-backcourt-violation.html)

rawhi1 Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:06am

Backcourt violation?
 
Team A has spot throw-in just past division line in front court on sideline.Team B pressures all players on in bound pass. Team A player receives throw-in with one foot in frontcourt , one in backcourt.The ball remained in the frontcourt and first dribble was in frontcourt.I make no call and play continues. Did I blow it?

just another ref Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:15am

If the player has one foot in backcourt he has backcourt status, as does the ball when he catches it. If he starts his dribble from this position, no matter where the ball actually bounces, it continues to have backcourt status until the ball and both feet all touch in the frontcourt.

no violation in the OP

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 03, 2012 04:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rawhi1 (Post 819702)
Team A has spot throw-in just past division line in front court on sideline.Team B pressures all players on in bound pass. Team A player receives throw-in with one foot in frontcourt , one in backcourt.The ball remained in the frontcourt and first dribble was in frontcourt.I make no call and play continues. Did I blow it?

Nope. You did it right. The rules are different for a throw in. 9-9-3.

Raymond Fri Feb 03, 2012 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rawhi1 (Post 819702)
Team A has spot throw-in just past division line in front court on sideline.Team B pressures all players on in bound pass. <s>Team A player</s> A2 receives throw-in with one foot in frontcourt , one in backcourt.The ball remained in the frontcourt and first dribble was in frontcourt.I make no call and play continues. Did I blow it?

You did it right. But why do say the ball was in the frontcourt when A2 initially caught the pass?

rawhi1 Fri Feb 03, 2012 09:19am

Ball location
 
Basically the ball was still across the division line in their frontcourt with the other foot vs the other foot in the backcourt as i saw it.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 03, 2012 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rawhi1 (Post 819762)
Basically the ball was still across the division line in their frontcourt with the other foot vs the other foot in the backcourt as i saw it.

But does the position of the ball "in the air" matter? See 4-ball location.

rawhi1 Fri Feb 03, 2012 09:55am

Clarification.
 
When the ball was inbounded to A2 she caught the ball with one foot in the backcourt and one in the frontcourt with the ball in her hands still on the frontcourt side of the division line. Her first dribble was in the frontcourt and the game continued.I hope this helps.

Raymond Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rawhi1 (Post 819776)
When the ball was inbounded to A2 she caught the ball with one foot in the backcourt and one in the frontcourt with the ball in her hands still on the frontcourt side of the division line. Her first dribble was in the frontcourt and the game continued.I hope this helps.

What we are trying to say is that where the ball was during its flight is not relevant. Your ruling was correct but it has nothing to do with where the ball was. Has to do with where ball's flight originated from (throw-in by A1) and where A2's feet were when she caught the ball.

PG_Ref Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:17am

Also remember that on a throw-in, if A2 catches the ball while airborn (and is the 1st to touch the ball), it does not matter if the first foot to touch is in the frontcourt or backcourt.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1