The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inbound question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87250-inbound-question.html)

Hugh Refner Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:00pm

Inbound question
 
NF rules. A1 to inbound on the end line. His inbounds pass hits the bottom (not the back) of the backboard and then hits down on the court inbounds. Is this a violation?

What if he was inbounding from the side line and his inbounds pass hit the rim then the court inbounds? Violation?

Thanks.

APG Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:05pm

It's not a violation to throw the ball off the backboard or basket on a throw-in.

Duffman Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:06pm

5 parts of the backboard are in bouds, the front, top, both sides, and bottom. As long as the ball doesn't strike the back of the glass, or support hardware its play on.

zm1283 Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 819025)
NF rules. A1 to inbound on the end line. His inbounds pass hits the bottom (not the back) of the backboard and then hits down on the court inbounds. Is this a violation?

What if he was inbounding from the side line and his inbounds pass hit the rim then the court inbounds? Violation?

Thanks.

What parts of the backboard are OOB? Answer that and you will know the answer to your first question.

On the second question, what would be illegal about it? Throwing the ball into the basket from OOB is illegal, but is there a rule about simply hitting the rim with a throw-in?

Sorry to you guys that answered ahead of me...I was trying to get him to look in the book and find this stuff.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1