The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Duke St. John's (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/86835-duke-st-johns.html)

Adam Sat Jan 28, 2012 01:40pm

Duke St. John's
 
I must have missed something, but did they just shoot FTs for a team control foul at the ten minute mark of the second half?

tjones1 Sat Jan 28, 2012 02:08pm

Anyone have a video?

grunewar Sat Jan 28, 2012 02:26pm

Watching Villanova vs Marquette.......what a mess.

40+ fouls
40+ foul shots
30+ turnovers
3 T's (all called by the same official)

Blech.

Adam Sat Jan 28, 2012 02:26pm

Hopefully APG can come through. Duke had the ball in their half-court offense, and a pass up high from left to right went wide right, towards the division line. Duke runs and saves the BC call by launching it over his head behind him towards the 3 pt line. Two players go up for the ball, but Duke goes through the SJ player to get to it and they call the foul.
Media timeout.
After the TO, St. John's is shooting bonus shots.

Mark Padgett Sat Jan 28, 2012 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 817515)
Watching Villanova vs Marquette.......what a mess.

If you're talking about Villanova HC Jay Wright, you're correct. He's such a baby he makes Bobby Knight seem mature.

tjones1 Sat Jan 28, 2012 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 817515)
Watching Villanova vs Marquette.......what a mess.

40+ fouls
40+ foul shots
30+ turnovers
3 T's (all called by the same official)

Blech.

Betcha he read the memo! ;)

zm1283 Sat Jan 28, 2012 03:57pm

When I read this thread, it made me think about one of my games last night. I'm reasonably sure I awarded free throws on a team control foul like this. V had the ball in their FC, it was deflected by the H team, who went to chase it down but was pushed by the V player.

This is the one situation I have trouble with. I know the rule, but just need better court awareness I guess.

mbyron Sat Jan 28, 2012 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 817516)
Hopefully APG can come through. Duke had the ball in their half-court offense, and a pass up high from left to right went wide right, towards the division line. Duke runs and saves the BC call by launching it over his head behind him towards the 3 pt line. Two players go up for the ball, but Duke goes through the SJ player to get to it and they call the foul.
Media timeout.
After the TO, St. John's is shooting bonus shots.

Is it possible that they called a T in there somewhere, perhaps off-camera, and that the FT's were for that?

My other guess is that they ruled the throw a try. Doesn't sound as if it was near the basket, though.

Adam Sat Jan 28, 2012 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 817552)
Is it possible that they called a T in there somewhere, perhaps off-camera, and that the FT's were for that?

My other guess is that they ruled the throw a try. Doesn't sound as if it was near the basket, though.

Definitely not a try. One guard to another, across court, 25 feet away from the hoop.

Don't think it was a T, becuase play was resumed off the FTs. I think they just mixed it up, unless there's a "loose ball" rule in the NCAA book.

edit: I just realized they may have ruled the St. John's player gained control of the ball prior to the foul.

APG Sat Jan 28, 2012 06:24pm

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/rmIEnsVpH-E" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

And they did shoot free throws afterward with a line up in the lane.

Rich Sun Jan 29, 2012 01:38am

I tell ya, I had to watch the video about 4 times to make sure it wasn't a backcourt violation. But since that wasn't called, it sure was a team control foul.

twocentsworth Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:29am

No control by St Johns at all....as Rick Perry said: "oops"!

Adam Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:37am

Thanks to All Purpose Gamer for getting the video up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 817686)
I tell ya, I had to watch the video about 4 times to make sure it wasn't a backcourt violation. But since that wasn't called, it sure was a team control foul.

I was thinking the same thing as I watched.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1