The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Point of Interruption or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/86688-point-interruption-not.html)

tw1ns Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:38pm

Point of Interruption or Not?
 
A1 is fouled in the act of shooting….misses. A2 and B1 still locked up for rebound….. elbow by A2. Technical foul on A2.
A1 shoots his 2 free throws…. B team whomever shoots 2 for the T on his end….
Bring back ball under A1’s basket at point of interruption for throw in for Team B, or at Mid Court for throw in by Team B?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tw1ns (Post 816857)
A1 is fouled in the act of shooting….misses. A2 and B1 still locked up for rebound….. elbow by A2. Technical foul on A2.
A1 shoots his 2 free throws…. B team whomever shoots 2 for the T on his end….
Bring back ball under A1’s basket at point of interruption for throw in for Team B, or at Mid Court for throw in by Team B?


NFHS Rules: Since this is a FDF, they are penalized in the order that they occured and the ball is put into play as if the last foul was the only foul that occured.

MTD, Sr.

JugglingReferee Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tw1ns (Post 816857)
A1 is fouled in the act of shooting….misses. A2 and B1 still locked up for rebound….. elbow by A2. Technical foul on A2.
A1 shoots his 2 free throws…. B team whomever shoots 2 for the T on his end….
Bring back ball under A1’s basket at point of interruption for throw in for Team B, or at Mid Court for throw in by Team B?

Mid-court.

tref Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:48pm

In HS part of the penalty for a technical foul is a throw-in to the offended team following the FTs.

tjones1 Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:49pm

Same in NCAA-M.

tref Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 816867)
Same in NCAA-M.

For a dead ball contact technical foul, yes.

In HS all technical fouls get 2 & the ball.

tjones1 Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 816870)
For a dead ball contact technical foul, yes.

In HS all technical fouls get 2 & the ball.

Yes... which is what happened in this situation.

ALL technical fouls get 2 & the ball??? Are you sure??

tref Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 816874)
Yes... which is what happened in this situation.

ALL technical fouls get 2 & the ball??? Are you sure??

Well, I'd like to think we all know that doubles dont get FTs & we resume POI.

I did hear about a coach getting whacked after a block/charge didnt go his way with no time left on the clock in the 2nd Q. In that case they wont get the ball back in the 3rd but will attempt their FTs in the 2nd.

tjones1 Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 816882)
Well, I'd like to think we all know that doubles dont get FTs & we resume POI.

I did hear about a coach getting whacked after a block/charge didnt go his way with no time left on the clock in the 2nd Q. In that case they wont get the ball back in the 3rd but will attempt their FTs in the 2nd.

Really? Where did that happen at? :confused:

tref Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 816887)
Really? Where did that happen at? :confused:

In a HS BV game.

tjones1 Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 816888)
In a HS BV game.

Mis-read your post...my fault.

Adam Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 816882)
Well, I'd like to think we all know that doubles dont get FTs & we resume POI.

I did hear about a coach getting whacked after a block/charge didnt go his way with no time left on the clock in the 2nd Q. In that case they wont get the ball back in the 3rd but will attempt their FTs in the 2nd.

Were there free throws to be shot?

tref Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:32pm

Yes the call was a block.
Whistle, horn, Q is not over, shoot 1 of the 2. Coach didnt like the explanation, whack, shoot 3 more.
The only thing is, this veteran crew of 3 gave the ball back as part of the penalty to begin the 3rd Q :eek:

Top notch game too :rolleyes:

tjones1 Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 816891)
Mis-read your post...my fault.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 816893)
Were there free throws to be shot?

I took that assumption after re-reading it.

Toren Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 816882)
I did hear about a coach getting whacked after a block/charge didnt go his way with no time left on the clock in the 2nd Q. In that case they wont get the ball back in the 3rd but will attempt their FTs in the 2nd.

Probably need more details on this to determine if it's part of the 2nd quarter or the 3rd quarter.

tref Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:41pm

All you need to know is in post #13.

Toren Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 816897)
Yes the call was a block.
Whistle, horn, Q is not over, shoot 1 of the 2. Coach didnt like the explanation, whack, shoot 3 more.
The only thing is, this veteran crew of 3 gave the ball back as part of the penalty to begin the 3rd Q :eek:

Top notch game too :rolleyes:

That's what I was looking for...sometimes top notch crews forget to read their books often.

Toren Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 816902)
All you need to know is in post #13.

yep, apparently I needed to refresh faster :D

tref Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:46pm

Refresh? You got that Mac right :D

You would think at least 1 outta 3 guys knew that no part of a penalty carries over. I emailed the calling officials buddy (guy who told me about the sitch) the rule & of course I never heard back.

Toren Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 816908)
Refresh? You got that Mac right :D

You would think at least 1 outta 3 guys knew that no part of a penalty carries over. I emailed the calling officials buddy (guy who told me about the sitch) the rule & of course I never heard back.

Nobody had a book? You would think if there was any question, since it was halftime they would have looked it up.

That's disconcerting.:confused:

tref Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 816910)
Nobody had a book? You would think if there was any question, since it was halftime they would have looked it up.

That's disconcerting.:confused:

Fake it til you make it has faked out the posers too.

Scrapper1 Thu Jan 26, 2012 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 816874)
ALL technical fouls get 2 & the ball??? Are you sure??

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 816882)
Well, I'd like to think we all know that doubles dont get FTs & we resume POI.

How about INDIRECT technical fouls? :D

Scrapper1 Thu Jan 26, 2012 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tw1ns (Post 816857)
A1 is fouled in the act of shooting….misses. A2 and B1 still locked up for rebound….. elbow by A2. Technical foul on A2.
A1 shoots his 2 free throws…. B team whomever shoots 2 for the T on his end….
Bring back ball under A1’s basket at point of interruption for throw in for Team B, or at Mid Court for throw in by Team B?

Definitions, definitions, definitions!

4-19 will tell you exactly what kind of foul you have in that situation. And then you will know whether it goes to the point of interruption (if it's a double foul or simultaneous foul) or not.

I genuinely apologize if that sounds condescending, but I can't tell you how many times I tell this to guys. If you know Rule 4 cold, the game becomes SO much easier to administer.

Adam Thu Jan 26, 2012 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 816898)
I took that assumption after re-reading it.

Me too, but I thought I'd ask anyway.

tw1ns Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:11pm

Mid-Court. That was the answer i was looking for. Thanks.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 816902)
All you need to know is in post #13.


All you need to know are in Posts #2 and #23.

MTD, Sr.

KenL.nation Tue Jan 31, 2012 09:09pm

regards, to the original post
 
the shooter from "A" attempts free throws with the lanes cleared, prior to the awarding 2 to "B" for the Tech.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1