The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Blarge (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/86482-blarge.html)

big jake Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:36am

Blarge
 
If the ball go in the basket on a blarge does it count or not? If the ball does not go in does the team in posession keep the ball and a double foul is called and nothing is done to the arrow?

Indianaref Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:40am

4.19.8 SITUATION C:

A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is (a) successful, or (b) not successful.

RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try. In (a), the goal is scored; play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. In (b), the point of interruption is a try in flight; therefore the alternating-possession procedure is used. (4-36-1, 4-36-2)

Triad zebra Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by big jake (Post 815927)
If the ball go in the basket on a blarge does it count or not? If the ball does not go in does the team in posession keep the ball and a double foul is called and nothing is done to the arrow?

If ball is released before the blarge count the basket. If its released and doesn't go in, then go to arrow.
Case Book 4.19.8 Sit C

big jake Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:44am

What if it is on the floor and the blarge is called, point of interuption or AP?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by big jake (Post 815934)
What if it is on the floor and the blarge is called, point of interuption or AP?


This is still a DPF. See IndianaRef's post above.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by big jake (Post 815934)
What if it is on the floor and the blarge is called, point of interuption or AP?

What's the rule for how to proceed from a double foul?

Welpe Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:51am

Why don't you call up your buddy John or maybe even Curtis and see if he can tell you?

Indianaref Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by big jake (Post 815934)
What if it is on the floor and the blarge is called, point of interuption or AP?

What's the rule on "double fouls"? Hint POI

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 815939)
Why don't you call up your buddy John or maybe even Curtis and see if he can tell you?

How does your comment move this dicussion forward?

MTD, Sr.

Raymond Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:00am

Is there an ultimate point to this thread?

Adam Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 815942)
How does your comment move this dicussion forward?

MTD, Sr.

Since when was that a definitive measure of whether a comment should be made?

The question had already been answered, in fact, so jake's follow up question didn't even move it forward; only backward.

Raymond Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 815942)
How does your comment move this dicussion forward?

MTD, Sr.

Because big jake has a history of just throwing sh!t at the wall and not really showing much interest in real officiating conversations.

There is a hidden agenda to his question.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 815950)
Since when was that a definitive measure of whether a comment should be made?

The question had already been answered, in fact, so jake's follow up question didn't even move it forward; only backward.


Snaqs:

I know that Billy, Mark, and I can get silly sometimes, :p. And, BadNewsRef, I am not familiar with Big Jake, so I first post was an honest attempt to answer his question.

MTD, Sr.

Raymond Mon Jan 23, 2012 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 815965)
Snaqs:

I know that Billy, Mark, and I can get silly sometimes, :p. And, BadNewsRef, I am not familiar with Big Jake, so I first post was an honest attempt to answer his question.

MTD, Sr.

I realize that. I'm just waiting on big jake to tell us why is posted this. That's why I posted this:

Quote:

Is there an ultimate point to this thread?

rockyroad Mon Jan 23, 2012 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 815952)
Because big jake has a history of just throwing sh!t at the wall and not really showing much interest in real officiating conversations.

There is a hidden agenda to his question.

Most of his sh!t gets thrown on the football and baseball boards...so MTD and others are probably not familiar with him and his antics.

JRutledge Mon Jan 23, 2012 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 815942)
How does your comment move this dicussion forward?

MTD, Sr.

It doesn't and it is funny at the same time.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 815945)
Is there an ultimate point to this thread?

:D

Peace

Adam Mon Jan 23, 2012 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 816016)
Most of his sh!t gets thrown on the football and baseball boards...so MTD and others are probably not familiar with him and his antics.

Familiar enough to use a certain board feature.

fiasco Mon Jan 23, 2012 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 815952)

There is a hidden agenda to his question.

I guess I'm missing something. What hidden agenda would that be?

Welpe Mon Jan 23, 2012 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 816034)
I guess I'm missing something. What hidden agenda would that be?

With him....who knows?

mbyron Mon Jan 23, 2012 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 816034)
I guess I'm missing something. What hidden agenda would that be?

Have you looked at his previous posts? Kinda jumps out at you when you read them all together. ;)

fiasco Mon Jan 23, 2012 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 816036)
Have you looked at his previous posts? Kinda jumps out at you when you read them all together. ;)

I haven't. Maybe that's why I'm in the dark.

Raymond Mon Jan 23, 2012 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 816044)
I haven't. Maybe that's why I'm in the dark.

Trust me, he wasn't officiating the game nor is he trying to learn what the rule is.

He saw a game and he believes an offcial(s) screwed up and he was hoping to get some validation.

APG Mon Jan 23, 2012 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by big jake (Post 815934)
What if it is on the floor and the blarge is called, point of interuption or AP?

The arrow (in this situation) could be the POI.

fiasco Mon Jan 23, 2012 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 816046)
Trust me, he wasn't officiating the game nor is he trying to learn what the rule is.

He saw a game and he believes an offcial(s) screwed up and he was hoping to get some validation.

Oh he's one of those....

mean Gene Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:17pm

I was told in a training that in a double foul situation you would go to the point on interruption. Is this wrong or do you do to the arrow???????

APG Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mean Gene (Post 816121)
I was told in a training that in a double foul situation you would go to the point on interruption. Is this wrong or do you do to the arrow???????

All double fouls go to the POI...sometimes the POI is the arrow.

mean Gene Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:30pm

Double foul, Team A in bonus, team B not. Do you go to the arrow or shho the FT for team A???????

DrPete Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mean Gene (Post 817625)
Double foul, Team A in bonus, team B not. Do you go to the arrow or shho the FT for team A???????

No free throws on a double foul (personal or technical). Go to the POI always. If there is no definite team control (shot it the air, etc) then the possession arrow IS the POI.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mean Gene (Post 817625)
Double foul, Team A in bonus, team B not. Do you go to the arrow or shho the FT for team A???????

Pete answerd this. For more examples, see the casebook at 4.19.8

Adam Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrPete (Post 817629)
If there is no definite team control (shot it the air, etc) then the possession arrow IS the POI.

Not necessarily. There are several situations with no team control where you would not use the arrow; including one where the shot is in the air.

DrPete Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 817633)
Not necessarily. There are several situations with no team control where you would not use the arrow; including one where the shot is in the air.

Correct, if the shot in the air goes in the bucket. I should have stated more clearly that a shot in the air that misses, before any rebound control.

Adam Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrPete (Post 817636)
Correct, if the shot in the air goes in the bucket. I should have stated more clearly that a shot in the air that misses, before any rebound control.

I knew what you meant, and only responded because we've had a few who misread the rule to say any time a POI situation happens without team control you should go to the arrow.

Jeremy Hohn Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:01am

Had my first one tonight....
 
College Men's game..

...Bad news it happened....

..good news is we reported it by the book and got the heck out of there!

I will post the video clip later when gametapeexchange has it up.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1