The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Three Firsts for a Newbie Last Nigh (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/86442-three-firsts-newbie-last-nigh.html)

Thumper68 Sun Jan 22, 2012 03:56pm

Three Firsts for a Newbie Last Nigh
 
As a second year official I had 3 new situations/events happen to me last night. Working a Boys Freshmen tournament with a new (to me) pardner.

1. I had a inadvertent whistle. After a made basket, player now A1 takes ball, stops about 2 feet inbounds from the endline, turns and looks (like to me) as he is ready to pass/inbound the ball. About a second goes by and he underhand tosses the ball to A2 as A2 is running toward the endline. I thought that he had passed to ball, but he was really just giving it to A2, so that A2 could become the inbounder. I blew my whistle, thinking it was a throwin violation but went with an inadvertent whistle instead. There was no defensive pressure. Pardner agreed and I administered the thrown in. At half time timer tells me that an inadvertent whistle is a 2 beer penalty! This was in game 1.

2. In game two early 2nd quarter, A1 driving toward the basket, still above the free throw line on a fast break, dribbles the ball off of this thigh, sending the ball about 10 in the air. The ball lands near the endline, but stays inbounds. A1 runs to ball, but doesn't want to recover it. He stands there with his arms out looking like he is afraid to touch the ball. He finally recovers the ball and passes it to a A2, who shots and makes a basket. A1 coach is wanting a travel. I tell him that it was not a travel and that I judged it as a fumbled dribble. Pardner tells him the same at next dead ball when pardner was near him, as is still questioning the call. At half time pardner tells me that there is no rules support to have a travel, even if it was the old "self-pass". I disagree with that but he is adamant and I let it drop. We come out after half time and my pardner bee lines it to the B2 coach and states that there is no rules support for traveling, even if it wasn't a fumble. Coach disagrees again, and says " I have a rule book here". Pardner says "get it out and we will look". I head to the division line far side to administer the 3rd quarter throw-in even though there is still 1:30 left in intermission as do not want any part of reading the rule book in this situation. I was taken back and a little appalled that the coach and my pardner were reading the rule book together at half on the court. I realized then that this was now a GIGDGO situation that has been discussed on this board before.

3. On the ensuing throw in, the coach who has been reading the rule book having the throw in (and we are switching sides of the court because of half) sends 3 of his players to what in now their back court, a thrower iner, and 1 player in their front court. All of the other team (now on defense) go with them in what is now their front court. My pardner was lined up as lead (properly in the offense's front court). I was a bit perplexed, but blew my whistle, put the ball at the disposal of the thrower iner, and started my count. Out of the corner of my eye I see my pardner running flat out to the other end. Team A inbounds to the only player in their front court and he drives for an uncontested layup. I blow my whistle and get all of the players straightened out on which way they are going and the game proceeds without any further problems.

A very interesting night that I thought I would share.

just another ref Sun Jan 22, 2012 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thumper68 (Post 815726)
1. I had a inadvertent whistle. After a made basket, player now A1 takes ball, stops about 2 feet inbounds from the endline, turns and looks (like to me) as he is ready to pass/inbound the ball. About a second goes by and he underhand tosses the ball to A2 as A2 is running toward the endline. I thought that he had passed to ball, but he was really just giving it to A2, so that A2 could become the inbounder.

Not exactly following. Was A1 in or out of bounds? Was A2 in or out of bounds?

Thumper68 Sun Jan 22, 2012 04:26pm

A1 took the ball out of the basket still inbounds. A2 was moving toward out of bounds. A2 was out of bounds when he caught the ball.

just another ref Sun Jan 22, 2012 04:31pm

OK Agreed, no violation. Also, the fact that there was or was not any defensive pressure does not play a part in this decision, does it?

Thumper68 Sun Jan 22, 2012 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 815739)
OK Agreed, no violation. Also, the fact that there was or was not any defensive pressure does not play a part in this decision, does it?

Agree with that. Just made it easier to go IAW.

BLydic Sun Jan 22, 2012 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thumper68 (Post 815726)
1. I had a inadvertent whistle... At half time timer tells me that an inadvertent whistle is a 2 beer penalty!.

Sounds about right.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Thumper68 (Post 815726)
I realized then that this was now a GIGDGO situation!

Good call.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thumper68 (Post 815726)
Team A inbounds to the only player in their front court and he drives for an uncontested layup. I blow my whistle and get all of the players straightened out on which way they are going and the game proceeds without any further problems.

It's not a bad idea to let both teams know whose ball it is and which way they are going before putting the ball in play. As you move up, you'll work with better partners.

Adam Sun Jan 22, 2012 04:42pm

Your partner was right, there's no "self pass" travel rule.
Your partner was wrong to engage the coach. You entertained his objections too long anyway.

Why would you stop play after that basket?

just another ref Sun Jan 22, 2012 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thumper68 (Post 815726)
2. In game two early 2nd quarter, A1 driving toward the basket, still above the free throw line on a fast break, dribbles the ball off of this thigh, sending the ball about 10 in the air.


I cannot picture this.

stiffler3492 Sun Jan 22, 2012 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 815749)
I cannot picture this.

Probably more like dribbled it off his knee.

Mark Padgett Sun Jan 22, 2012 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thumper68 (Post 815726)
A1 runs to ball, but doesn't want to recover it. He stands there with his arms out looking like he is afraid to touch the ball. He finally recovers the ball and passes it to a A2, who shots and makes a basket. A1 coach is wanting a travel.

Why would coach A want you to call a travel on his own team? I'm guessing you meant coach B?

onetime1 Sun Jan 22, 2012 06:31pm

Howdy pardner

CoachP Mon Jan 23, 2012 07:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thumper68 (Post 815726)
3. On the ensuing throw in, the coach who has been reading the rule book having the throw in (and we are switching sides of the court because of half) sends 3 of his players to what in now their back court, a thrower iner, and 1 player in their front court. All of the other team (now on defense) go with them in what is now their front court. My pardner was lined up as lead (properly in the offense's front court). I was a bit perplexed, but blew my whistle, put the ball at the disposal of the thrower iner, and started my count. Out of the corner of my eye I see my pardner running flat out to the other end. Team A inbounds to the only player in their front court and he drives for an uncontested layup. I blow my whistle and get all of the players straightened out on which way they are going and the game proceeds without any further problems.

I did that once, JV boys about 10 years ago. Our fans are yelling "YOU'RE GOING THE WRONG WAY!!!" I'm yelling inside myself "SHUDDUP!" It still worked....

Yes, both officials lined up correctly and pointed the right way. I told our inbounder that if the official said anything to just say "We know".

Freddy Mon Jan 23, 2012 07:43am

Between Scylla and Charybdis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 815885)
I did that once, JV boys about 10 years ago. Our fans are yelling "YOU'RE GOING THE WRONG WAY!!!" I'm yelling inside myself "SHUDDUP!" It still worked....

Yes, both officials lined up correctly and pointed the right way. I told our inbounder that if the official said anything to just say "We know".

We have one local team who regularly, after a timeout, will instruct their players to go to the incorrect end of the court so as to provide for an easy layup score. As I see it, we are responsible for giving a clear signal regarding the direction for the inbounds play, but are under no obligation to "give away the tactic" by stopping the whole thing and instructing the other team to get themselves on the correct end of the court.

Adroit tactic? Or making a travesty of the game? We've opted for the former.

Works for them more often than not.

Thumper68 Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 815749)
I cannot picture this.

It came off of his leg just above the knee. The balls flight path was an arc about 10 feet in the air, and about 10 feet away from him.

Thumper68 Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:06am

[QUOTE=Snaqwells;815747]Your partner was right, there's no "self pass" travel rule.
Your partner was wrong to engage the coach. You entertained his objections too long anyway.

Why would you stop play after that basket?[/QUOTE]

The ball went up on the stage at that end of the court (old middle school gym) and a player went up on it to get the ball. It was a good opportunity to get everybody's head back in the game, me included. I was still dwelling on the rulebook class that had just finished, and honestly felt confused as well.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1