![]() |
|
|
|||
sub
NFHS Rules Girls Varsity Game. 4 minutes left in second quarter. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 in her backcourt with no pressure. A2 takes 2 or 3 dribbles and the horn sounds. A6 runs into the game as R who is table side tries to stop her. She goes by R and he stops the game. He puts her back in the sub zone and tells me to inbound the ball again. I motion A6 to come into the game but R will not allow it. I thought that no matter how the ball became dead A6 can then enter. Was R correct? Could you give a rule reference?
|
|
|||
Quote:
The correct way to handle this situation is to use NFHS R10-S2-A2. Charge A6 with a TF per the aforementiones rule and then allow A6 to remain in the game. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
There's No Crying In Basketball ...
What? And make her cry? Not in my game.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
Whether you call the T or not as Mark mentioned is a separate question but it would be correct by rule to do so.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
When In Rome, Where Snaqwells Actually Lives ...
Noted, and appreciated.
Around these parts, we always just send them back to the table, all the way back to the table, and once they're at the X, we signal to bring them in. Here, in my little corner of Connecticut, I have never seen this technical foul charged in a high school game in over thirty years. We never ignore it, we just never penalize it with a technical. It's just the way we do things around here. If one of us ever decided to do it, we would be accused of being overly officious.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 22, 2012 at 03:32pm. |
|
|||
Really? I disagree. This might happen (maybe) once in a game. Send them back to the table and they get the picture. In all honesty in a varsity game this might happen once or twice a season and the TF should not be the first action here.
The ball is dead, you have better ways to handle this.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
And Whack We Will ...
Now, if the kid runs in during a live ball, that's another story. Do we whack for not being beckoned, or for being a sixth man on the court? Or both?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
When he enters the court illegally, it causes the ball to become dead. He was never a sixth man on the court.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|