The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Wrong FT Admininstration (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/86233-wrong-ft-admininstration.html)

Spence Thu Jan 19, 2012 09:32am

Wrong FT Admininstration
 
A1 drives. Fouled while shooting. Ball goes in. Calling official didn't see the ball go in. Reports foul and says " 2 shots."

A1 misses first shot. A2 rebounds the miss and sticks it in. B team players didn't go after the miss because they were told 2 shots. Officials blow whistle and remind players it's "2 shots." 2nd shot is made. B inbounds the ball. Play ultimately ends when a timeout is called.

At that point officials get together to discuss.

It's no longer correctable due to the ball becoming dead after it went live, correct?

Note: This was the first play of the game.

Anything to be done here or just play on? Even if the officials said during the timeout that the shot went in it's too late to count it, correct?

tjones1 Thu Jan 19, 2012 09:36am

Clock didn't start (2-10-2).

So, count the basket (e) and cancel the second free throw (b). Go POI.

Edit: I missed the first free throw was missed.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 19, 2012 09:40am

Did "all" the players go for the first rebound or "only A2?"

tref Thu Jan 19, 2012 09:47am

Was it a 2 or 3 whistle crew? Sounds as if it was a solo effort...

A partner should've seen the ball go in as well as heard him say 2 shots at the table & corrected it. A partner should've heard the FT administrating official say 2 shots prior to bouncing the ball to the shooter & corrected it.

3 prime opportunities for someone to be a lead official.

In my experiences the table, coaches, players & fans will generally let you know when a basket was made. Is it safe to say this was a lower level game?

Triad zebra Thu Jan 19, 2012 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 814786)
A1 drives. Fouled while shooting. Ball goes in. Calling official didn't see the ball go in. Reports foul and says " 2 shots."

A1 misses first shot. A2 rebounds the miss and sticks it in. B team players didn't go after the miss because they were told 2 shots. Officials blow whistle and remind players it's "2 shots." 2nd shot is made. B inbounds the ball. Play ultimately ends when a timeout is called.

At that point officials get together to discuss.

It's no longer correctable due to the ball becoming dead after it went live, correct?

Note: This was the first play of the game.

Anything to be done here or just play on? Even if the officials said during the timeout that the shot went in it's too late to count it, correct?

During the TO we are in the first dead ball after the clock has started. Lets fix everything. Make sure the original 2 pts are awarded to A1, and then go to the arrow due to the first FT being missed, and the rebound was not contested by Team B. Ball in play with a spot throw in under A's basket.

Spence Thu Jan 19, 2012 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 814789)
Did "all" the players go for the first rebound or "only A2?"

I'm told none of the B team players went for it . I assume it was just A2.

Spence Thu Jan 19, 2012 09:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 814790)
was it a 2 or 3 whistle crew? Sounds as if it was a solo effort...

3

tref Thu Jan 19, 2012 09:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 814795)
3

Ouch!!

Spence Thu Jan 19, 2012 09:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 814792)
During the TO we are in the first dead ball after the clock has started. Lets fix everything. Make sure the original 2 pts are awarded to A1, and then go to the arrow due to the first FT being missed, and the rebound was not contested by Team B. Ball in play with a spot throw in under A's basket.

If the TO was not the first dead ball is it just "play on" ie no corrections?

tjones1 Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 814797)
If the TO was not the first dead ball is it just "play on" ie no corrections?

2-10-2
Errors much be recognized no later during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started

2-10-3
If the error occurs while the clock is running and the ball dead, it must be corrected before the second live ball.

Spence Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:10am

Let's assume that the official said "2 shots" but the majority of the players from both sides went after the rebound of the first missed FT. Since the official said "two shots" we would not count the resulting basket by A2, correct?

8.6.1 seems to differ from the above in that the official said "1 and 1" when it should have been two shots.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 814794)
I'm told none of the B team players went for it . I assume it was just A2.

Then see 8.6.1

If "all" went for the rebound, see 2.10.1J

Spence Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 814803)
Then see 8.6.1

If "all" went for the rebound, see 2.10.1J

I read 8.6.1 but wasn't sure if it applied since the official said "1 and 1" when it should have been 2.

Nevadaref Thu Jan 19, 2012 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 814788)
Clock didn't start (2-10-2).

So, count the basket (e) and cancel the second free throw (b). Go POI.

That is correct. There are actually two correctable errors. Erroneously canceling a goal and awarding an unmerited FT. Both can still be corrected and the game resumes at the POI.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 814792)
During the TO we are in the first dead ball after the clock has started. Lets fix everything. Make sure the original 2 pts are awarded to A1, and then go to the arrow due to the first FT being missed, and the rebound was not contested by Team B. Ball in play with a spot throw in under A's basket.

One cannot use the AP arrow to resume as there has been other game action following the missed 1st FT. Therefore, POI must be used to continue as the rule 2-10 states.

Triad zebra Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 814992)
That is correct. There are actually two correctable errors. Erroneously canceling a goal and awarding an unmerited FT. Both can still be corrected and the game resumes at the POI.

One cannot use the AP arrow to resume as there has been other game action following the missed 1st FT. Therefore, POI must be used to continue as the rule 2-10 states.

You are correct...My oversight.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1