The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   College Block/Charge - Has the rule changed ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85889-college-block-charge-has-rule-changed.html)

JPS Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:02am

College Block/Charge - Has the rule changed ?
 
This season with the institution of the arc near the basket in college basketball, I expected that it would help clean up play somewhat in terms of the block/charge. The reason being that secondary defenders will know they need to establish legal guarding position sooner and further out on the court in order to draw a charge, rather than clogging the middle.

In the past I've been pretty good at knowing which way an official will make such a call. But I must say that as the season has progressed I'm now completely confused as to what a block and what a charge is. Nearly every game I've seen examples where a charge is called despite the fact that the defender is still moving and did not establish legal guarding position. The only common denominator appears to be whether the defender (whether primary or secondary) is outside the arc (in which case it's called a charge regardless of legal guarding position) or not. In other words, it seems that the main factor is not whether the defender has established legal guarding position, but WHERE on the floor he is when contact occurs.

I'm not an official but wanted to check with the professionals on this to see if this was the intention of the new rule or not (I went back to read the NCAA's comments when the rule was enacted and didn't get this impression whatsoever). If it's not the intention, then why are so many calls being made this way ? Is it asking too much for an official to look at BOTH the defender's position on the floor and whether he achieved legal guarding position ?

Just wondering,

Jon

bob jenkins Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:25am

The rule (or how it's supposed to be called) hasn't changed for defenders outside the restricted arc.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 15, 2012 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JPS (Post 813526)
Nearly every game I've seen examples where a charge is called despite the fact that the defender is still moving and did not establish legal guarding position.

....

Is it asking too much for an official to look at BOTH the defender's position on the floor and whether he achieved legal guarding position ?

Just wondering,

Jon

Your assumption that a player not be moving to have legal guarding position is perhaps where you're confused. It is not a requirement at all until the shooter is airborne. And even then, it is not that movement is illegal, only movement that carries the defender into the path of the airborne player. If they are already in the airborne player's path, additional movement may still be legal (depending on the direction)

BktBallRef Sun Jan 15, 2012 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JPS (Post 813526)
The reason being that secondary defenders will know they need to establish legal guarding position sooner and further out on the court in order to draw a charge, rather than clogging the middle.

Also, there is no time/distance with regard to when the guard establishes LGP. As long as he establishes LGP before the contact, he's legal at that point. He doesn't have to give the dribbler a step or a second. He just has to get their first.

Personally, outside of the arc, I haven't seen any difference in the way this play is officiated.

JPS Sun Jan 15, 2012 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 813581)
Your assumption that a player not be moving to have legal guarding position is perhaps where you're confused. It is not a requirement at all until the shooter is airborne. And even then, it is not that movement is illegal, only movement that carries the defender into the path of the airborne player. If they are already in the airborne player's path, additional movement may still be legal (depending on the direction)

Camron, no I'm not confused at all. I said still moving AND didn't establish legal guarding position. To be more narrow (and apparently clear) I should have just said the defender didn't establish legal guarding position. Yet because the defender was outside the arc this seems to be the most important factor in calling a charge. That's the impression I've gotten from the games thus far, anyway.

Jon

JPS Sun Jan 15, 2012 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 813585)
Also, there is no time/distance with regard to when the guard establishes LGP. As long as he establishes LGP before the contact, he's legal at that point. He doesn't have to give the dribbler a step or a second. He just has to get their first.

Personally, outside of the arc, I haven't seen any difference in the way this play is officiated.


When I said 'sooner', I meant that a defender would need to get outside of the arc and establish position, rather than staying inside the arc and waiting for the offensive player to come to him.

It takes additional time for a defender to accomplish this, meaning he has to react and move quicker, which is where the 'sooner' comes into play. Sorry for any confusion.

Jon

Camron Rust Sun Jan 15, 2012 06:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JPS (Post 813646)
Camron, no I'm not confused at all. I said still moving AND didn't establish legal guarding position. To be more narrow (and apparently clear) I should have just said the defender didn't establish legal guarding position. Yet because the defender was outside the arc this seems to be the most important factor in calling a charge. That's the impression I've gotten from the games thus far, anyway.

Jon

What is your understanding of what it takes to get LGP?

JRutledge Sun Jan 15, 2012 06:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JPS (Post 813646)
Yet because the defender was outside the arc this seems to be the most important factor in calling a charge. That's the impression I've gotten from the games thus far, anyway.

Jon

Well to be honest where else on the floor to players attempt to try to get a charge on a regular basis? Around the basket is by far the main spot, so yes where they are located has ramifications. And no the rule has not changed other than the consideration for the restricted area. And for the record there was a RA before this year, they just decided to put it on the floor this year.

Peace

JPS Sun Jan 15, 2012 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 813651)
What is your understanding of what it takes to get LGP?

My understanding comes from the rule book. Section 35 in particular.

http://www.ncaapublications.com/prod...loads/BR13.pdf

Jon

Adam Sun Jan 15, 2012 08:10pm

Didn't answer the question. He didn't ask where you got your understanding; he asked what your understanding was.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 15, 2012 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JPS (Post 813707)
My understanding comes from the rule book. Section 35 in particular.

http://www.ncaapublications.com/prod...loads/BR13.pdf

Jon

That wasn't my question. I asked you you thought it means, not where it is in the book.

JPS Sun Jan 15, 2012 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 813711)
Didn't answer the question. He didn't ask where you got your understanding; he asked what your understanding was.

And that's what I answered. My understanding is what is written in the rule book.

I provided the link and reference as a courtesy, in case anyone wants to actually read it. I could have copied and pasted the text but I didn't see the point.

Jon

JPS Sun Jan 15, 2012 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 813717)
That wasn't my question. I asked you you thought it means, not where it is in the book.

Sorry for the use of the word "comes" but I intended to say that what is in the rule book is what I use as my reference as to what constitutes legal guarding position.

And to get back to my original point, there have been numerous cases this season where defenders who are not in legal guarding position have received favorable charge calls, with no seeming explanation other than they were outside the arc.

Jon

Adam Sun Jan 15, 2012 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JPS (Post 813729)
And that's what I answered. My understanding is what is written in the rule book.

I provided the link and reference as a courtesy, in case anyone wants to actually read it. I could have copied and pasted the text but I didn't see the point.

Jon

Camron was asking you to put it into your own words, not to quote the rule book.

I'll cut to the chase, he's questioning whether you're understanding is accurate.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 15, 2012 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JPS (Post 813732)
Sorry for the use of the word "comes" but I intended to say that what is in the rule book is what I use as my reference as to what constitutes legal guarding position.

And to get back to my original point, there have been numerous cases this season where defenders who are not in legal guarding position have received favorable charge calls, with no seeming explanation other than they were outside the arc.

Jon

If you can't seem to reconcile what you repeatedly see with what you think the rule is, the most likely explanation is that you don't actually understand the rules as you think you do.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1