The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Back court violation question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85686-back-court-violation-question.html)

zac Thu Jan 12, 2012 05:47pm

Back court violation question
 
In bounds throw in for A1 from A's front court. A2 jumps from back court, catches the ball in flight, and lands in his front court. Partner calls violation. I have no call but just checking to make sure. Thanks!!

tjones1 Thu Jan 12, 2012 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zac (Post 812855)
In bounds throw in for A1 from A's front court. A2 jumps from back court, catches the ball in flight, and lands in his front court. Partner calls violation. I have no call but just checking to make sure. Thanks!!

No violation.

APG Thu Jan 12, 2012 05:50pm

No violation

tref Thu Jan 12, 2012 05:55pm

Now that that has been established, are we letting that misapplication ride?
Dont give me that BS either!! LOL :D

The L administered the throw-in so he's chopping in time, gotta see when the ball is touched. The T makes the IC.

Adam Thu Jan 12, 2012 06:24pm

Rule set?

Camron Rust Thu Jan 12, 2012 06:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 812881)
Rule set?

Same answer for all except the NBA. And I'm pretty sure that we're not talking NBA rules.

gdudik Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:31pm

NFHS 9-9-3.

"During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt."

billyu2 Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gdudik (Post 812920)
NFHS 9-9-3.

"During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt."

Why does this even matter? The ball was never in the frontcourt. A2 was simply coming from the backcourt into the frontcourt with the ball.

Adam Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 812884)
Same answer for all except the NBA. And I'm pretty sure that we're not talking NBA rules.

I believe it's a violation in FIBA.

Camron Rust Fri Jan 13, 2012 01:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 812936)
I believe it's a violation in FIBA.

What's FIBA?:p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1