The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What rule would a player violate for rerouting of an opponent? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85683-what-rule-would-player-violate-rerouting-opponent.html)

MiamiWadeCounty Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:09pm

What rule would a player violate for rerouting of an opponent?
 
For instance, on a fast break, an offensive or defensive player reroutes an opponent by using their body and pushing the opponent out of their intended path.

APG Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:11pm

What rule set? And is there more to the question?

bainsey Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:13pm

If "rerouting" requires pushing, it's a mere pushing foul, team control foul if the offense does it.

Smitty Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:13pm

You have to more clearly define what you mean by:

Quote:

Originally Posted by MiamiWadeCounty (Post 812793)
reroute .... using body contact

There's not enough context to answer that question in your OP.

Toren Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 812796)
If "rerouting" requires pushing, it's a mere pushing foul, team control foul if the offense does it.

+1 that's what I'm picturing.

Raymond Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MiamiWadeCounty (Post 812793)
For instance, on a fast break, an offensive player tries to reroute a defensive player by using body contact, or a defensive player tries to reroute an offensive player by using body contact.

The problem with your question is the words "tries" and "re-route".

Tries means they weren't successful. ;)

Re-routing could be done without actual contact. So we need specific, descriptive examples to work with here.

MiamiWadeCounty Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 812798)
You have to more clearly define what you mean by:



There's not enough context to answer that question in your OP.

A player using their body (perhaps using shoulder or chest) to move/push an opponent out of their intended path.

MiamiWadeCounty Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 812800)
The problem with your question is the words "tries" and "re-route".

Tries means they weren't successful. ;)

Re-routing could be done without actual contact. So we need specific, descriptive examples to work with here.

A player using their body (perhaps using shoulder or chest) to move/push an opponent out of their intended path.

tref Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:42pm

I feel like this is a trick question or should I say a loaded question... your title asks:

What rule would a player violate for rerouting of an opponent?

Freedom of movement, perhaps?

MiamiWadeCounty Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 812796)
If "rerouting" requires pushing, it's a mere pushing foul, team control foul if the offense does it.

A player using their body (perhaps using shoulder or chest) to move/push an opponent out of their intended path.

APG Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:46pm

NFHS:

10-6

ART. 1 . . . A player shall not hold, push, charge, trip or impede the progress of an opponent by extending arm(s), shoulder(s), hip(s) or knee(s), or by bending his/her body into other than a normal position; nor use any rough tactics.

ART. 3 . . . A player shall not use his/her hands on an opponent in any way that inhibits the freedom of movement of the opponent or acts as an aid to a player in starting or stopping.

ART. 9 . . . When a dribbler in his/her progress is moving in a straight-line path, he/she may not be crowded out of that path, but if an opponent is able to legally obtain a defensive position in that path, the dribbler must avoid contact by changing direction or ending his/her dribble

Not sure if that's what you were looking for.

MiamiWadeCounty Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 812817)
NFHS:

10-6
ART. 9 . . . When a dribbler in his/her progress is moving in a straight-line path, he/she may not be crowded out of that path, but if an opponent is able to legally obtain a defensive position in that path, the dribbler must avoid contact by changing direction or ending his/her dribble

I understand that rule. But that rule doesn't cover a payer without the ball.

Art N Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:53pm

...chicken or the egg?
 
This does seem like a loaded question. :eek: HTBT for sure. :confused:

You have to be sure that it is the defender who is making the contact and running into the offensive player or is the offensive player actually trying to cut into the defender.

I can picture a defender making a bee line from hoop to hoop to get down the floor as fast as possible, and an offensive player is in the outside "lane" begining to angle towards the hoop and contacts the defender trying to get to "his intended path", which happens to go through the defender. OOPS :D

tref Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MiamiWadeCounty (Post 812818)
I understand that rule. But that rule doesn't cover a payer without the ball.

Well how about 4-23-1?

Raymond Thu Jan 12, 2012 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MiamiWadeCounty (Post 812818)
I understand that rule. But that rule doesn't cover a payer without the ball.

But 10-6 articles 1 and 3 do cover players without the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1