![]() |
NCAA Rule Check: Travelling
On the way home from my game tonight, I listened to a college game, Boston University at Maine. I've known our play-by-play guy for years.
During the game, the announcer said the official missed a travel as a BU player "lost a hold of the ball." Now, before I tear into my buddy, I just want to double-check. Are the rules regarding control and travelling the same in the NCAA as they are in NFHS? |
Almost exactly the same. (I want to say exactly, but there's probably some tiny difference).
|
Quote:
MTD, Sr. |
Only difference is when a player first controls the ball while airborne (ie: rebound; pass) and falls to the floor.
Not a travel in NCAA (no pivot foot violation), is a travel in NFHS. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The first game I ever officiated was a military intramural game. A player got a rebound and fell in such a manner. I called nothing. After the game my partner told me it is always a travel when a player falls with the ball. Through research I discovered the different interp between college and HS rules. BTW, an aside from that first game: Opening tip, A1 gets a breakaway lay up off the tip and B1 comes in after the ball has already passed through the basket and slaps the backboard. I call a T 5 seconds into my first ever game. My partner comes in and overrules my T. I was vindicated after the game as an official in the stands who went on to a D1 career (and became one of my best friends) told me I made the right call and my partner had no business doing what he did. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Carefull now your starting zero in. How much snow u get up ur way Bainesy?:confused:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34am. |