The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   A different backcourt violation question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85465-different-backcourt-violation-question.html)

MJT Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:49pm

A different backcourt violation question
 
Ball being dribbled up the floor in the back court and is passed toward the front court. His teammate jumps from the front court, catches the ball in the air and he ends up landing in the back court. Is this a BC violation or not? I am thinking no because all 3 points (both feet and the ball) did not yet make it into the front court, therefore we cannot have a back court violation.

Rule reference would be great

Thanks!

Toren Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJT (Post 811244)
Ball being dribbled up the floor in the back court and is passed toward the front court. His teammate jumps from the front court, catches the ball in the air and he ends up landing in the back court. Is this a BC violation or not? I am thinking no because all 3 points (both feet and the ball) did not yet make it into the front court, therefore we cannot have a back court violation.

Rule reference would be great

Thanks!

3 points only applies to a dribbler.

Don't have my rule book on me, sorry. Backcourt violation. Player had frontcourt status when he caught the ball and landed in the backcourt, thus backcourt violation.

APG Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:56pm

Backcourt violation...three points provision only applies to a dribbler. The four criteria for a backcourt violation:

1. Team control (and player control established first when coming from a throw-in) (Player was dribbling the ball and TC continues during passing)
2. Ball achieves front court location. (This occured when the player jumped from the frontcourt and touched the ball)
3. Team in control is the last to touch the ball before the ball achieves a back court location (Team in control was the last to touch the ball before it achieved a backcourt location)
4. Team in control is the first to touch the ball after it achieves a backcourt location. (Team in control was the first to touch when it achieved a BC location)

JRutledge Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:04am

Toren answered the question properly. Sorry, late to the party. :)

Peace

MJT Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 811252)
Toren answered the question properly. Sorry, late to the party. :)

Peace

Thanks guys!

JugglingReferee Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJT (Post 811244)
Ball being dribbled up the floor in the back court and is passed toward the front court. His teammate jumps from the front court, catches the ball in the air and he ends up landing in the back court. Is this a BC violation or not? I am thinking no because all 3 points (both feet and the ball) did not yet make it into the front court, therefore we cannot have a back court violation.

Rule reference would be great

Thanks!

It's possible that you're asking the question because you know there are circumstances where the above action by "the teammate" is not a backcourt violation. Those circumstances are found in Rule 9, Section 9, Article 3:

9-9-3: During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1