The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rules question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/8541-rules-question.html)

mplagrow Thu May 08, 2003 07:46pm

OK, I should probably know this, but I can't figure out how to apply the rules to this one.

A1 has the ball in control. A1 makes a bounce pass to A2, who fails to notice the pass. A1 runs over and recovers the errant pass without it touching anyone else. What do you have? Does it change the situation if A1 has already used his dribble?

bob jenkins Thu May 08, 2003 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mplagrow
OK, I should probably know this, but I can't figure out how to apply the rules to this one.

A1 has the ball in control. A1 makes a bounce pass to A2, who fails to notice the pass. A1 runs over and recovers the errant pass without it touching anyone else. What do you have? Does it change the situation if A1 has already used his dribble?

Consider the play "a long dribble" and make the appropriate ruling.

ChuckElias Fri May 09, 2003 07:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Consider the play "a long dribble" and make the appropriate ruling.
Just to amplify a bit, if A1 has previously dribbled and ended his dribble, then retrieving this bounce pass constitutes a second (and illegal) dribble. If A1 has not dribbled prior to throwing the pass, then the play is perfectly legal.

Chuck

mick Fri May 09, 2003 08:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Consider the play "a long dribble" and make the appropriate ruling.
Just to amplify a bit, if A1 has previously dribbled and ended his dribble, then retrieving this bounce pass constitutes a second (and illegal) dribble. If A1 has not dribbled prior to throwing the pass, then the play is perfectly legal.

Chuck

I believe the 'throwing <u>and</u> retrieving' constitutes the beginning and ending of the second dribble. ;)

ChuckElias Fri May 09, 2003 09:14am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
I believe the 'throwing <u>and</u> retrieving' constitutes the beginning and ending of the second dribble. ;)
Wow, that's a mighty fine nit you got there, son. Good shootin'! ;)

However, I believe that "throwing" is implied in "retrieving", since it's impossible to retrieve a bounce pass that has yet to be thrown. It's the retrieving that results in the violation, so that's the only part that I mentioned.

Chuck

Dan_ref Fri May 09, 2003 09:20am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
I believe the 'throwing <u>and</u> retrieving' constitutes the beginning and ending of the second dribble. ;)
Wow, that's a mighty fine nit you got there, son. Good shootin'! ;)

However, I believe that "throwing" is implied in "retrieving", since it's impossible to retrieve a bounce pass that has yet to be thrown. It's the retrieving that results in the violation, so that's the only part that I mentioned.

Chuck

More nits...you can retrieve without throwing, you can throw without retrieving...and you can tune a piano but you can't tune a fish.

mick Fri May 09, 2003 09:23am

nit mickin'
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
I believe the 'throwing <u>and</u> retrieving' constitutes the beginning and ending of the second dribble. ;)
Wow, that's a mighty fine nit you got there, son. Good shootin'! ;)

However, I believe that "throwing" is implied in "retrieving", since it's impossible to retrieve a bounce pass that has yet to be thrown. It's the retrieving that results in the violation, so that's the only part that I mentioned.

Chuck

More nits...you can retrieve without throwing, you can throw without retrieving...and you can tune a piano but you can't tune a fish.

You can also retrieve a fumble, but you cannot fumble to start a dribble. :)

ChuckElias Fri May 09, 2003 09:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
More nits...you can retrieve without throwing,
Yes, but the person who is holding the ball (which is the situation in question) cannot retrieve a PASS without throwing it first.

Dan_ref Fri May 09, 2003 09:25am

Re: nit mickin'
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
I believe the 'throwing <u>and</u> retrieving' constitutes the beginning and ending of the second dribble. ;)
Wow, that's a mighty fine nit you got there, son. Good shootin'! ;)

However, I believe that "throwing" is implied in "retrieving", since it's impossible to retrieve a bounce pass that has yet to be thrown. It's the retrieving that results in the violation, so that's the only part that I mentioned.

Chuck

More nits...you can retrieve without throwing, you can throw without retrieving...and you can tune a piano but you can't tune a fish.

You can also retrieve a fumble, but you cannot fumble to start a dribble. :)

yeah, explains why I spent so much time on the bench...

ChuckElias Fri May 09, 2003 09:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
you can tune a piano but you can't tune a fish.
I didn't realize you were such a big REO Speedwagon fan. . .

Dan_ref Fri May 09, 2003 09:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
More nits...you can retrieve without throwing,
Yes, but the person who is holding the ball (which is the situation in question) cannot retrieve a PASS without throwing it first.

that was sorta my point...you can retrieve a pass OR a fumble (or a shot for that matter, I guess). I realize these are outside the scope of the original post.

ChuckElias Fri May 09, 2003 09:35am

I see that, and it's obviously a very good point. My only point in my original post was that it's the retrieving which causes the violation. Up until the time it's retrieved, it could either be considered a pass or a dribble. If his teammate touches it first, then it was obviously a pass. But if he retrives it himself, then it was obviously a dribble and therefore a violation.

Maybe instead of saying the retrieving of the pass constitutes the dribble, I should've said that the retrieving causes the violation.

Nevertheless, I think mick needs to throw that nit back. It's not big enough to keep :)

ChuckElias Fri May 09, 2003 09:38am

By the way, why are we having this conversation here? You both have AIM, but neither of you is online. Party poopers. . .

Jurassic Referee Fri May 09, 2003 10:20am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
...and you can tune a piano but you can't tune a fish. [/B][/QUOTE]you can pick your friends...and you can pick your nose...but you can't roll your friends up into a little ball,play with them for a while,and then eat them!

hmmmm....wonder how long this one will stick around.:D

Dan_ref Fri May 09, 2003 10:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
...and you can tune a piano but you can't tune a fish. [/B]
you can pick your friends...and you can pick your nose...but you can't roll your friends up into a little ball,play with them for a while,and then eat them!

hmmmm....wonder how long this one will stick around.:D [/B][/QUOTE]

ya know, maybe I'll wait an hour or so before going to lunch...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1