The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Technical during free throws (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85206-technical-during-free-throws.html)

LoveToRef Fri Dec 30, 2011 03:03am

Technical during free throws
 
High School varsity game:
Team A is about to shoot the 2nd shot of a 2 shot foul. One of my partners calls a T on the coach for team B. We clear the lane and finish the 2nd free throw of the original foul. We then administer the 2 technical fee throws for Team A and we give Team A a throw in at half court. The T'd coach for team B is sure we screwed up and he wanted a "point of interruption" scenario. Did we do it correctly and does a "point of interruption" scenario apply here?
Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

reffish Fri Dec 30, 2011 03:05am

HS is administer in order of fouls. Finish the 2 shot FT, shoot the T FT, ball awarded to team A, you did correct. POI is for double fouls (common and technical), this is not a double foul.

LoveToRef Fri Dec 30, 2011 03:12am

Ty
 
Great, thank you. I felt we did it right but I left the game doubting myself..
..those darn coaches can do that to us I guess! :-)

CoachP Fri Dec 30, 2011 07:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LoveToRef (Post 809275)
Great, thank you. I felt we did it right but I left the game doubting myself..
..those darn coaches can do that to us I guess! :-)

"But that is how last weeks officials did it!!!" :D

JugglingReferee Fri Dec 30, 2011 07:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 809289)
"But that is how last weeks officials did it!!!" :D

What I LOVE is when the situation is already discussed amongst the officials, be in over a bevvy, or at an association meeting, or through e-mail.

When the "last week" comment comes, I address it and ask for details. The coach invariably omits a pertinent fact from the play. The look on their face is priceless when they listen to me fill in the blanks and then show how the proper ruling was made. ;)

CoachP Fri Dec 30, 2011 08:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 809291)
The coach invariably omits a pertinent fact from the play. ;)

No way!:D

KJUmp Fri Dec 30, 2011 08:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LoveToRef (Post 809273)
High School varsity game:
Team A is about to shoot the 2nd shot of a 2 shot foul. One of my partners calls a T on the coach for team B. We clear the lane and finish the 2nd free throw of the original foul. We then administer the 2 technical fee throws for Team A and we give Team A a throw in at half court. The T'd coach for team B is sure we screwed up and he wanted a "point of interruption" scenario. Did we do it correctly and does a "point of interruption" scenario apply here?
Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

As already stated, you guys handled it correctly.
That being said.....why would the T'd coach for Team B want to have Team A taking a throw-in under their own basket as opposed to a throw-in at the division line???

bob jenkins Fri Dec 30, 2011 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 809294)
As already stated, you guys handled it correctly.
That being said.....why would the T'd coach for Team B want to have Team A taking a throw-in under their own basket as opposed to a throw-in at the division line???

The coach wanted "POI" which would be shooting 2 FTs for the T, then resuming with the second FT for the original foul with all players on the line. B could get the ball ball back either on a rebound or a throw-in after the made FT.

This would be the way to handle the play in NCAA.

Raymond Fri Dec 30, 2011 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LoveToRef (Post 809275)
Great, thank you. I felt we did it right but I left the game doubting myself..
..those darn coaches can do that to us I guess! :-)

Knowing the rules as written in the rule book eliminates the coaches doing that to us. ;)

Anytime I have doubt the first thing I do after the game (or at halftime) is pull out the rule or case book.

Adam Fri Dec 30, 2011 09:54am

"Coach, when you get hired at a college, your hot head will only cost you the shots and not the possession."

Or

"Coach, that's the college rule."

grunewar Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:07am

Something in the water?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LoveToRef (Post 809273)
High School varsity game:
Team A is about to shoot the 2nd shot of a 2 shot foul. One of my partners calls a T on the coach for team B.

Same situation happened in the Tourney Game before mine last night. Fourth quarter, A at the line, B is down big.....Coach was probably looking for it! The R obliged. WHACK!

Tio Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:09am

Sounds like the coach was confusing NCAA & HS rules. All single Techs. in HS are resumed with the offended team taking the ball out at the dvision line.

Mark Padgett Fri Dec 30, 2011 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 809289)
"But that is how last weeks officials did it!!!" :D

Really? What game was that. I'll have to find out who those officials were and report them. Thanks for letting me know. Oh yeah, we'll have to tell them who turned them in. You don't have any more games with either one of them, do you? :rolleyes:

VaTerp Fri Dec 30, 2011 01:18pm

Not directly related but...
 
Had a game a few weeks a ago with a coach who can be kind of chirpy but not too bad and usually has a pretty good team. This year his team is struggling and in this game they were shooting very poorly.

We had a wierd play involving an intentional foul (I think) and as I go to explain how we were administering it to the coach he says, "I don't know what the rule is and right now I really don't care. I just want you to tell me how to make a friggin basket."

Classic.

BillyMac Fri Dec 30, 2011 04:29pm

And It May Be True ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 809289)
"But that is how last weeks officials did it!!!"

Often heard in regard to "Fashion Police" issues.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1