![]() |
NCAA M Starts With Tech
Connecticut vs. South Florida - Recap - December 28, 2011 - College Basketball - SI.com
UCONN didn't mark their starters before the 10 minute mark. Game started with a jump ball after USF made one of two free throws. I guess it can happen to anyone, even in the big time. |
Wonder if it had anything to do with Calhoun's suspension? Asst. coach not realizing he had to designate starters?
EDIT: Yep, reading the story, that's what happened. |
Wonder what happened. Usually check book at 11 0r 12 min mark to make sure this dosen't happen.:mad:
|
Quote:
Had a similar mistake in a game earlier this week. Coach marked the wrong starter, but thought he had marked the right one in his book, which would make it a scorekeeper's error. Turns out he marked the wrong starter in his book. Honest mistake, but still shouldn't happen. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
How does this happen with 12 Asst. coaches? What do those guys do before the game? One of them should always check the book before the game starts.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
We were on the road in the first game of the tournament. We had never beaten the host school before, so we were lucky enough to play them in their opening round game. 10:00 minute pre-game marks comes and our AC looks to see who the home team is starting and it's not marked. Officials make the right call and give home a T. Home coach goes apes-t, basically shocked that he'd be on the receiving end of such a call. To make matters worse, we won the game :D I dont think the two schools ever played each other ever since, for what it's worth. And on the opposite end of the specturm, at a HS VGgame, home team doesn't have their starters in the book even 5 minutes before tap. Head official refuses to call a T saying "he's here to play basketball" (whatever that means). |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Wow. I've never seen that in an NCAA game before.....And only heard about it in NFHS.
|
Quote:
A3 shoots the technical free throws, and A takes the ball out of bounds at the division line. Arrow stayed with B. |
Quote:
|
This year I was U-2 on an NCAA-W D-2 game, and the visiting coach failed to have the names in the book by the 10-minute mark. When she found out that she was going to receive an administrative technical foul for not getting the names in on time, she came over to ask why... When the R explained the rule to her, she told us that she always thought that the timeframe to get the names in the book was by the 8-minute mark! :eek:
|
Quote:
|
Of course I meant to say NEEDS to be :)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
NCAA -- shoot the T, then go to the POI (the jump ball, in this instance). FED -- the T includes a throw-in. |
Inquiring Minds Want To Know ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
And You Would Be Correct stiffler ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
stiffler, your crew got this wrong. It is not a technical foul to start the game with a player who is not designated a starter. It is a technical foul to change a designated starter in the scorebook after the 10 minute mark. If the wrong player comes on the floor and the scorer notifies you, you ask the coach to send the proper player onto the floor or you ask him if he wants to male a change in the book and take the T. Once the ball is live to begin the game, there is no penalty. |
Nice Play Shakespeare ...
Quote:
But then again, I never utilized this rule before. Has anybody? |
Quote:
Yes, I've had the "wrong" starter in the official book, but the "right" starter in the information given to the official book, so we started without a T. |
Rookies Take Notice ...
Quote:
|
Haven't heard from stiffler...wanted him to see this so he knows they didn't handle this properly.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46am. |