The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basket Interference (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85163-basket-interference.html)

Redneck Ref Wed Dec 28, 2011 03:13pm

Basket Interference
 
Saw this in a BV game the other night. A1 goes to dunk and the ball hits off the back of the rim and shoots up in the air about 4 feet. A1 grabs the rim to avoid B1 who is under basket (safety) for a second or two. A1 returns to floor and then ball goes through the basket. C calls basket interference and waves off basket. Officials get together and report to coaches that basket does not count because A1 grabbed the rim. I looked in rule and case book and still wondering if it was the right call. Any thoughts?

BktBallRef Wed Dec 28, 2011 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redneck Ref (Post 808880)
Saw this in a BV game the other night. A1 goes to dunk and the ball hits off the back of the rim and shoots up in the air about 4 feet. A1 grabs the rim to avoid B1 who is under basket (safety) for a second or two. A1 returns to floor and then ball goes through the basket. C calls basket interference and waves off basket. Officials get together and report to coaches that basket does not count because A1 grabbed the rim. I looked in rule and case book and still wondering if it was the right call. Any thoughts?

Only if he pulls the rim down and the ball enters it before it returns to it's normal position.

tref Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 808881)
Only if he pulls the rim down and the ball enters it before it returns to it's normal position.

How about if A1 didnt pull the rim down & the ball fell through as he was still hanging for protection?

Nevadaref Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 808881)
Only if he pulls the rim down and the ball enters it before it returns to it's normal position.

And only if the ball contacts the ring in this case.

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 808888)
How about if A1 didnt pull the rim down & the ball fell through as he was still hanging for protection?

That would constitute offensive BI. No technical foul, but still a violation.

BillyMac Wed Dec 28, 2011 06:32pm

Keeping Busy ...
 
http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg

A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

RookieDude Thu Dec 29, 2011 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 808937)
http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg

It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

Are you saying Nevadaref is wrong when he stated it would be BI if the player was "hanging on the rim", to avoid injury, and the ball goes through the basket?

Adam Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude (Post 809064)
Are you saying Nevadaref is wrong when he stated it would be BI if the player was "hanging on the rim", to avoid injury, and the ball goes through the basket?

Billy's just copying and pasting when he sees trigger words. Maybe he should update his list to point out it can still be BI even if it can't be a T.

RookieDude Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 809066)
Billy's just copying and pasting when he sees trigger words. Maybe he should update his list to point out it can still be BI even if it can't be a T.

Well stated...I was just stirring the pot a little.;)

tjones1 Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:15am

Case Play
 
9.11.4 Situation

BktBallRef Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 808888)
How about if A1 didnt pull the rim down & the ball fell through as he was still hanging for protection?

BI.

That's not what happened in the OP, which is what I was addressing.

Adam Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude (Post 809068)
Well stated...I was just stirring the pot a little.;)

Not much longer, and his list will be as long as the IAABO book. That's my goal. ;)

BillyMac Fri Dec 30, 2011 02:29pm

Too Specific For The List ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude (Post 809064)
Are you saying Nevadaref is wrong when he stated it would be BI if the player was "hanging on the rim", to avoid injury, and the ball goes through the basket?

It would be basket interference, but not a technical.

BillyMac Fri Dec 30, 2011 02:31pm

That Will Do It ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 809182)
Not much longer, and his list will be as long as the IAABO book. That's my goal.

Next time I post the list, I'll use a smaller font.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1