The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Weird T Situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84844-weird-t-situation.html)

fiasco Wed Dec 21, 2011 03:32pm

Weird T Situation
 
B1 fouls A1 during a shot attempt as time expires to end the third quarter. None of the officials have certain knowledge of any time that should be left on the clock. Immediately after the official whistles the foul, A2 commits an intentional technical foul on B2. The arrow is pointing to A's basket.

I need to understand a few things. Am I right in saying that the technical foul occurred in the third quarter? Because A1's free throws should be a part of the 3rd quarter, and they haven't occurred yet?

So, we have a false double foul. A1 shoots two free throws, followed by 2 free throws by a B player.

My question is now how is the second part of the penalty administered? Since the T occurred in the third quarter, does the second part of the penalty (ball out of bounds at the division line opposite the table) carry over into the fourth quarter? If so, what is the rule justification?

TIA...

bob jenkins Wed Dec 21, 2011 03:47pm

Handled correctly, and the throw-in for the T does not carry over.

A inbounds the ball (using the AP arrow) to start the 4th quarter.

Toren Wed Dec 21, 2011 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 807056)
B1 fouls A1 during a shot attempt as time expires to end the third quarter. None of the officials have certain knowledge of any time that should be left on the clock. Immediately after the official whistles the foul, A2 commits an intentional technical foul on B2. The arrow is pointing to A's basket.

I need to understand a few things. Am I right in saying that the technical foul occurred in the third quarter? Because A1's free throws should be a part of the 3rd quarter, and they haven't occurred yet?

So, we have a false double foul. A1 shoots two free throws, followed by 2 free throws by a B player.

My question is now how is the second part of the penalty administered? Since the T occurred in the third quarter, does the second part of the penalty (ball out of bounds at the division line opposite the table) carry over into the fourth quarter? If so, what is the rule justification?

TIA...

All the action occured as part of the 3rd quarter. Consequently, you administer it that way. The free throws by A. Followed by the free throws for the technical by team B. Resume play in the 4th period with the AP arrow.

The action for the 3rd quarter doesn't end until the free throws by team A had been completed. So as Team A was charged with a technical before the 3rd quarter action completed, it is also considered part of the quarter.

fiasco Wed Dec 21, 2011 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 807070)
All the action occured as part of the 3rd quarter. Consequently, you administer it that way. The free throws by A. Followed by the free throws for the technical by team B. Resume play in the 4th period with the AP arrow.

The action for the 3rd quarter doesn't end until the free throws by team A had been completed. So as Team A was charged with a technical before the 3rd quarter action completed, it is also considered part of the quarter.

Thanks. This is one of those situations that is difficult to explain to a coach while everything is going on, and in a heated game, that "loss" of possession could make a big difference, but them's the rules!

Toren Wed Dec 21, 2011 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 807084)
Thanks. This is one of those situations that is difficult to explain to a coach while everything is going on, and in a heated game, that "loss" of possession could make a big difference, but them's the rules!

Anytime.

Incidentally, I hope your crew didn't add any time to the clock...am I correct in that?

fiasco Wed Dec 21, 2011 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 807086)
Anytime.

Incidentally, I hope your crew didn't add any time to the clock...am I correct in that?

No we did not. I called the foul and stayed with the players (it was a pretty heated game) which is how I caught the T. I asked my partner if he caught the clock before time expired. He said he thought maybe there was a few ticks but he didn't know for sure, so we left it at zeroes.

tref Wed Dec 21, 2011 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fiasco (Post 807089)
No we did not. I called the foul and stayed with the players (it was a pretty heated game) which is how I caught the T. I asked my partner if he caught the clock before time expired. He said he thought maybe there was a few ticks but he didn't know for sure, so we left it at zeroes.

Training ourselves to sneak a peak after every whistle is not a bad thing, especially if you're the non-calling official.

JugglingReferee Wed Dec 21, 2011 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 807101)
Training ourselves to sneak a peak after every whistle is not a bad thing, especially if you're the non-calling official.

Around here, it's a requirement.

letemplay Wed Dec 21, 2011 04:55pm

Can you ask for help from the table in whether or not there should be any time put back? What if the clock operator acknowledges he couldn't get it off at the whistle?

kwatson Wed Dec 21, 2011 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jugglingreferee (Post 807104)
around here, it's a requirement.

+1

refiator Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 807086)
Anytime.

Incidentally, I hope your crew didn't add any time to the clock...am I correct in that?

If you have a foul as time expires, you MUST add time to the clock. In GA, this has been a POE the past couple of years. .....You must at least have .03. If the whistle occurs prior to time expiring, you must add time to the clock.

APG Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 807265)
If you have a foul as time expires, you MUST add time to the clock. In GA, this has been a POE the past couple of years. .....You must at least have .03. If the whistle occurs prior to time expiring, you must add time to the clock.

That may be a state association interpretation, but that is not the NFHS rule.

just another ref Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 807265)
If you have a foul as time expires, you MUST add time to the clock.

Based on what?

refiator Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 807266)
That may be a state association interpretation, but that is not the NFHS rule.

Yes...This is a GA interpretation....However I agree with it. If there is a foul during a shot attempt you must have time on the clock, otherwise there is no foul.

BktBallRef Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 807268)
Yes...This is a GA interpretation....However I agree with it. If there is a foul during a shot attempt you must have time on the clock, otherwise there is no foul.

The NBA has a similiar rule.

Georgia makes up their own. :)

APG Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 807268)
Yes...This is a GA interpretation....However I agree with it. If there is a foul during a shot attempt you must have time on the clock, otherwise there is no foul.

Not necessarily...you can have a foul after the clock hits 0.00 and still have no time on the clock if the ball is released in time, and the foul is on an airborne shooter.

In a perfect world, yes if you had a foul then horn, you would add time back on the clock. You see this in all NBA games and most major D-I NCAA games where they have the benefit of replay. Your state association has determined there must be .3 seconds added to the clock if this situation occurs, but that's an arbitrary number as there could be less time on the lock.

refiator Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 807280)
Your state association has determined there must be .3 seconds added to the clock if this situation occurs, but that's an arbitrary number as there could be less time on the lock.

We don't actually mandate .03 on the clock...just "time"... I can't argue arbitrary :)

APG Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 807277)
The NBA has a similiar rule.

Georgia makes up their own. :)

Yes, zero's on the clock with a foul is an instant replay trigger...so in that case you'll more than likely put time on the clock though you COULD shoot free throws with no time on the clock if a foul after time expired is committed against a player in the act of shooting and the ball is released before time expires.

BktBallRef Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:46am

For clarification
 
NBA Rules
5-III a. Exceptions (2)
If the official’s whistle sounds prior to the horn or :00.0 on the clock, the period is not over and time must be added to the clock.


APG Thu Dec 22, 2011 01:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 807294)
NBA Rules
5-III a. Exceptions (2)
If the official’s whistle sounds prior to the horn or :00.0 on the clock, the period is not over and time must be added to the clock.


Yes time will be added on if the whistle is for a foul that is prior to the zeros on the clock.

NBA Case Book (2010-2011)

142. Player A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by Player B1 with :00.0 remaining on the game clock. The game is in the fourth period and the score is tied. What is the procedure?

The officials must go to instant replay to see if the foul occurred with time remaining on the clock. If so, Player A1 will be awarded free throw attempts and time will be placed back on the clock according to the replay. If the foul occurs after the clock expired and the player was still in his shooting motion, the officials must determine that the ball was released before the clock expired and if so, free throws will be administered accordingly. If the game clock expires before the ball is released, no common foul can be administered since the period has technically ended.
RULE 13 - SECTION I - a (2)
RULE 13 - SECTION II - b

187. Player A1 is fouled just as he releases the ball on a field goal attempt and the horn sounds to end the period at approximately the same time. How is this administered?

The officials will utilize instant replay to determine if the foul occurred prior to the expiration of time. If so, the game clock should be reset to the time of the foul and free throws administered accordingly. If the foul occurred after the clock expired and the player was still in his shooting motion, the officials must determine that the ball was released before the clock expired and if so, free throws will be administered accordingly. If the clock expired before the ball was released, no common foul can be administered since the period has technically ended.
RULE 4 - SECTION X
RULE 13 - SECTION II - a (2) and b (2)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1