The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   5-1-2 "Player control foul after a goal?" (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84755-5-1-2-player-control-foul-after-goal.html)

Freddy Tue Dec 20, 2011 01:27pm

5-1-2 "Player control foul after a goal?"
 
Re. 5-1-2, "If a player-control foul occurs before or after a goal, the goal is canceled."

In what situation could a player-control foul occur after a goal?

SNIPERBBB Tue Dec 20, 2011 01:30pm

Airborne shooter.

tref Tue Dec 20, 2011 01:31pm

A1 shoots the floater in the lane...swish
Upon returning to the floor A1 crashes into B1... p/c send it up north!

SNIPERBBB Tue Dec 20, 2011 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806491)
A1 shoots the floater in the lane...swish
Upon returning to the floor A1 crashes into B1... p/c send it up north!

That would be a pushing foul on A1. Basket counts.

tref Tue Dec 20, 2011 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 806496)
That would be a pushing foul on A1. Basket counts.

Yup, in NCAA-M

SNIPERBBB Tue Dec 20, 2011 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806497)
Yup, in NCAA-M

Nfhs too once the shooter lands he is just another player on the court.

tref Tue Dec 20, 2011 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 806489)
Re. 5-1-2, "If a player-control foul occurs before or after a goal, the goal is canceled."

In what situation could a player-control foul occur after a goal?



Hmmmm did I misread the question or did you :D

bob jenkins Tue Dec 20, 2011 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 806496)
That would be a pushing foul on A1. Basket counts.

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806497)
Yup, in NCAA-M

Actually, it would be ignored in all codes, unless it was intentional (aka Flagrant 1) or flagrant (2). And, then, it would be a T.

Now, if tref said, "...BEFORE returning to the floor ..." we'd have a PC foul in FED and NCAAW and a common foul in NCAAM

tref Tue Dec 20, 2011 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 806502)
Actually, it would be ignored in all codes, unless it was intentional (aka Flagrant 1) or flagrant (2). And, then, it would be a T.

Now, if tref said, "...BEFORE returning to the floor ..." we'd have a PC foul in FED and NCAAW and a common foul in NCAAM

Before/Upon... endline/baseline... player control/offense :D

BktBallRef Tue Dec 20, 2011 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806501)
Hmmmm did I misread the question or did you :D

You did.

Once an airborne shooter returns to the floor, it is no longer a player control foul when he crashes into a defender.

tref Tue Dec 20, 2011 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 806505)
You did.

Once an airborne shooter returns to the floor, it is no longer a player control foul when he crashes into a defender.

Really?? :eek:

Forget Rosetta Stone bring that Hooked on Phonics back!!

Reading is FUNdamental :rolleyes:

BktBallRef Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806510)
Really?? :eek:

Forget Rosetta Stone bring that Hooked on Phonics back!!

Reading is FUNdamental :rolleyes:

Or have someone else read it to you.

tref Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 806489)
In what situation could a player-control foul occur after a goal?

Nah have someone read it to you!

Smitty Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806503)
Before/Upon

These are not the same.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806514)
Nah have someone read it to you!

Your example does not meet the requirements of the OP. So, either you read the question wrong, or you answered incorrectly.

tref Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:12pm

Okay, if a shooter scores on a try & crashes into the defender BEFORE returning to the playing surface then we dont count the basket because of a p/c foul in HS.

Around here you can really tell when people dont have a game to work.

Time for Facebook...

bob jenkins Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806525)
Okay, if a shooter scores on a try & crashes into the defender BEFORE returning to the playing surface then we dont count the basket because of a p/c foul in HS.

Agreed -- as several said in the first few responses.

Quote:

Around here you can really tell when people dont have a game to work.
Because they try to pass antonyms off as synonyms? And cover it up with multiple emoticons? :rolleyes::p:eek:

tref Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:26pm

Around here you can really tell when people dont have a game to work.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 806530)
Because they try to pass antonyms off as synonyms? And cover it up with multiple emoticons? :rolleyes::p:eek:

Not at all, I have a game tomorrow & Saturday.

Adam Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:33pm

Wow, this thread lasted 12 extra posts because of linguistic issues.

Awesome!

tref Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 806542)
Wow, this thread lasted 12 extra posts because of linguistic issues.

Awesome!

Sorry Snaqs, I should've got it right the first time. But if this were the end of February I highly doubt such a fuss would've been made...

Adam Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806544)
Sorry Snaqs, I should've got it right the first time. But if this were the end of February I highly doubt such a fuss would've been made...

Nah, I knew both what you meant and where you went wrong. It made me laugh. My wife is constantly getting on me for correcting her when I know what she meant.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806525)

Time for Facebook...

Robert McCloskey Likes this thread

26 Year Gap Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 806489)
Re. 5-1-2, "If a player-control foul occurs before or after a goal, the goal is canceled."

In what situation could a player-control foul occur after a goal?

The opponent grabs the ball and steamrolls the guy who just scored on his way OOB to throw it in.

Camron Rust Tue Dec 20, 2011 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 806552)
The opponent grabs the ball and steamrolls the guy who just scored on his way OOB to throw it in.

Are you sure about that? You'd call that a PC foul?

Remember, the ball is dead until the player has the ball ready for the throwin...if he is still inbounds, he's not ready unless you've deemed he is delaying and have started your count. As such, you can't have a PC foul....and not even a common foul. The only thing you can have is a intentional/flagrant....which becomes a T.

Raymond Tue Dec 20, 2011 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806491)
A1 shoots the floater in the lane...swish
Upon returning to the floor A1 crashes into B1... p/c send it up north!

I knew what you meant....so did everyone else. They should have just pointed out that your exact wording was wrong.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 20, 2011 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 806554)
I knew what you meant....so did everyone else. They should have just pointed out that your exact wording was wrong.

Actually, I have met officials who thought that the rule was (more or less) as he worded it -- that if A1 contacted B1 upon (meaning "immediately after") returning to the floor, it was a PC foul. Different officials have (incorrectly) said the "PC foul period" lasts until both feet are on the floor, or through "continuous motion", or until A1 came to a stop or turned the other direction, ...

Freddy Tue Dec 20, 2011 03:26pm

Does This Explain It?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806525)
Okay, if a shooter scores on a try & crashes into the defender BEFORE returning to the playing surface then we dont count the basket because of a p/c foul in HS.

How does that jive with 4-12-6? "Neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball, a jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal".

Is that because of 4-19-6: "A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter"?

(Getting picky 'cuz this is being asked of my by a guy I'm mentoring and I don't want to be general with him since I'm teaching him to be specific)

Toren Tue Dec 20, 2011 03:28pm

Scrimmage play
 
In a scrimmage game before the official season started, we had this play. It may not be exactly what you're looking for but I thought I would throw it out there.

A5 on a fast break jumps from outside the paint. B1 established legal guard position and is waiting for the contact. I was the trail. The Lead has a great angle at the play. A5 jumps over B1 and dunks the ball. But as he is jumping over him, his ankles and feet hit B1 in the torso as B1 hits the floor.

It was athletic like whoa. But the ball was through the goal and the L correctly waived it off and called a player control.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 20, 2011 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 806558)
How does that jive with 4-12-6? "Neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball, a jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal".

Is that because of 4-19-6: "A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter"?

(Getting picky 'cuz this is being asked of my by a guy I'm mentoring and I don't want to be general with him since I'm teaching him to be specific)

That's it exactly -- it's how you can have a PC foul without having PC.

Freddy Tue Dec 20, 2011 03:36pm

Finis
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 806564)
That's it exactly -- it's how you can have a PC foul without having PC.

Thank you for that response!

[End of Thread]

BktBallRef Tue Dec 20, 2011 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 806514)
Nah have someone read it to you!

You can post it as large as you like, you were still wrong. It's still not a PC foul when an airborne shooter returns to the floor and crashes into a defender.

I don't know what you meant. I just know what YOU posted. I'm only expected to read my wife's mind.

Off to my games, now.

constable Wed Dec 21, 2011 03:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 806502)
Actually, it would be ignored in all codes, unless it was intentional (aka Flagrant 1) or flagrant (2). And, then, it would be a T.

Now, if tref said, "...BEFORE returning to the floor ..." we'd have a PC foul in FED and NCAAW and a common foul in NCAAM and FIBA

Fixed it for ya!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1