The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
Foul during a shot, then foul on a rebound

A1 shoots a 3 and while airborne is fouled by B1. While the try is still in flight, A2 fouls B2 under the basket. The try is unsuccessful and team B is in the bonus. How would you proceed? This happened in our area and the crew asked my opinion. I said handle as a double foul and go POI. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Why would you think it's a double foul?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 11:35am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,949
It is a false double foul and each of these fouls are treated individually and carry their own penalty.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 12:06pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Let's talk about reporting these, 2 man crew.

Trail has the shooting foul, lead has the second foul. Obviously, the two have to get together.

Is it better for one official to report both fouls and their free throws, with the other freezing? If so, does it matter which one does which?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 12:08pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,949
You need to report your own foul. Do not make it more complicated than it needs to be.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 12:13pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Let me take a stab without books in front of me.

A1 gets three shots with the lane cleared. B2 goes to the line at the other end to shoot FT's (1-and-1 or 2), and that's your POI.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
A1 shoots a 3 and while airborne is fouled by B1. While the try is still in flight, A2 fouls B2 under the basket. The try is unsuccessful and team B is in the bonus. How would you proceed? This happened in our area and the crew asked my opinion. I said handle as a double foul and go POI. Thoughts?
A double foul is by opponents against each other (A1 fouls B1; B1 fouls A1), so it's not that

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
Let me take a stab without books in front of me.

A1 gets three shots with the lane cleared. B2 goes to the line at the other end to shoot FT's (1-and-1 or 2), and that's your POI.
Close, but there's really no POI, since it's not an IW, correctable error, double foul, ...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
Why would you think it's a double foul?
I was thinking logically, not that by definition it was a double foul.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
It is a false double foul and each of these fouls are treated individually and carry their own penalty.

Peace
Can't have a false double here because the fouls were commited by players on opposing teams. False double occurs when there are fouls by teammates on different opponents
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 01:27pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
Can't have a false double here because the fouls were commited by players on opposing teams. False double occurs when there are fouls by teammates on different opponents
Nope it's a false double foul:

Rule, Section 20
ART. 9 . . . A false double foul is a situation in which there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the clock is started following the first, and such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent.

You had fouls by both teams and one attribute of a double foul (fouls committed by opponents against each other) is absent.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Nope it's a false double foul:

Rule, Section 20
ART. 9 . . . A false double foul is a situation in which there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the clock is started following the first, and such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent.

You had fouls by both teams and one attribute of a double foul (fouls committed by opponents against each other) is absent.
You're right. My bad on that, I read it wrong in the book.

So then to proceed, they would shoot 3 for the first foul with an empty lane, then go to the other end and shoot 1+1 with the lane occupied? Or would you shoot 1+1 with an empty lane and go POI (arrow since the ball was in flight and try was unsuccessful)?

Last edited by JS 20; Mon Dec 12, 2011 at 02:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
You're right. My bad on that, I read it wrong in the book.

So then to proceed, they would shoot 3 for the first foul with an empty lane, then go to the other end and shoot 1+1 with the lane occupied? Or would you shoot 1+1 with an empty lane and go POI (arrow since the ball was in flight and try was unsuccessful)?
What are the times to go to the POI (4-POI)? How are (All?) false double fouls handled?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What are the times to go to the POI (4-POI)? How are (All?) false double fouls handled?
You tell me, bob. That's why I asked on the forum in hopes of getting an answer.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 03:36pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
I was thinking logically, not that by definition it was a double foul.



Can't have a false double here because the fouls were commited by players on opposing teams. False double occurs when there are fouls by teammates on different opponents
You need to read your definitions. Rule 4 is the most important rule for a reason.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 03:40pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
You're right. My bad on that, I read it wrong in the book.

So then to proceed, they would shoot 3 for the first foul with an empty lane, then go to the other end and shoot 1+1 with the lane occupied? Or would you shoot 1+1 with an empty lane and go POI (arrow since the ball was in flight and try was unsuccessful)?
You would do the former...enforce the fouls in the order that they occur.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
You tell me, bob. That's why I asked on the forum in hopes of getting an answer.
To be clear, my answer was given in the "teach a man to fish" spirit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul on Rebound Tip jc147119 Basketball 17 Sat May 21, 2011 12:45pm
Foul After Shot actuary77 Basketball 7 Fri Dec 08, 2006 02:36pm
Tip on shot rebound lukealex Basketball 21 Fri Oct 20, 2006 04:43pm
Shot Rebound, Foul Lane Block bwbuddy Basketball 5 Mon Jan 05, 2004 10:52am
Can a player rebound a missed shot Ron Grzywacz Basketball 3 Tue Jun 27, 2000 01:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1