The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Held ball / Timeout save (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84193-held-ball-timeout-save.html)

Thomas Cison Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:47am

Held ball / Timeout save
 
If A1 has control of the ball, and B1 is able to grab ball in a way that would result in a heldball call, should a timeout be granted if A's coach calls timeout before the heldball call is made?

Freddy Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:51am

Misc. Inquiry
 
Check for a private message.

JRutledge Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:55am

If they both have "possession" of the ball and a held ball is the only call, then no there should not be a timeout awarded to anyone.

Peace

Freddy Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thomas Cison (Post 803863)
If A1 has control of the ball, and B1 is able to grab ball in a way that would result in a heldball call, should a timeout be granted if A's coach calls timeout before the heldball call is made?

You'll have to decide whether to grant the timeout request if it occurred before the held ball, or, if unable to tell if the timeout was requested by the head coach prior to the held ball, call the held ball.
It's common for coaches to avoid the other team getting possession on the AP when they sense a held ball might be coming up, though they don't always consider who's got the AP before making the request.
Called a held ball the other night while a coach was requesting a time out, but I had no opportunity to verify it was him while at the same time ensuring his player had control. After the whistle, I asked if he still wanted his timeout. He said no. That's typical. They rarely do in that instance.

just another ref Mon Dec 12, 2011 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thomas Cison (Post 803863)
If A1 has control of the ball, and B1 is able to grab ball in a way that would result in a heldball call, should a timeout be granted if A's coach calls timeout before the heldball call is made?

If you recognized the request before B1 grabbed the ball, grant the timeout.
There is an issue in the wording of when a timeout is granted which has been discussed here before, but this is the way it is normally handled.

referee99 Mon Dec 12, 2011 07:41pm

Had this the other day.
 
VB, A1 slides to grab a loose ball, ends up on his back with the ball. B1 reaches down and puts his hands passively on the ball (kinda like 4th grade girls do), Coach A calls time out and I grant it.

I did not have two players holding the ball so firmly that control could not be obtained without undue roughness. I had A1 with player control.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1