The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
I understand..."Something in, nothing out" is incomplete. Yet, we all seem to throw it around like it's the end all to the argument. My point is, think of it however you want, I think of the rule as "one foot in, nothing out." It helps me to remember. We all remember it differently.

So whatever helps the person remember that as long as nothing is out, then you are in.
I just read 4-playerlocation and then I don't have to try the "sayings that are right most of the time but might not be right all of the time."
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 08:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
I understand..."Something in, nothing out" is incomplete. Yet, we all seem to throw it around like it's the end all to the argument. My point is, think of it however you want, I think of the rule as "one foot in, nothing out." It helps me to remember. We all remember it differently.

So whatever helps the person remember that as long as nothing is out, then you are in.
How is it incomplete? What scenario isn't covered?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
How is it incomplete? What scenario isn't covered?
An airborne player who saves the ball. He would not have something in, as he is airborne. Thus, incomplete.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 11:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
An airborne player who saves the ball. He would not have something in, as he is airborne. Thus, incomplete.
Being airborne means his location is defines by his last contact with the floor, which is in bounds as long as something was in and nothing was out.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2012, 05:23pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Just Figured I'd Join In . . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Ponytail.
Since everybody seems to be in such a pleasant "this happened to me yesterday" mood . . .

Saturday...about three feet from the coach standing in her box...her JV girl gained possession of the ball while on her back with everything inbounds...except for...PONYTAIL.

Coach: , then , then , then , then , then . . . as the reality of the situation set in.

Now, if that player followed the hairstyle trend I do, she wouldn't have had that call for a violation.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2012, 05:39pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,758
Tough To Make A Call With That Blinding Reflection Off My Partner's Noggin ... ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Now, if that player followed the hairstyle trend I do, she wouldn't have had that call for a violation.
Seriously? How many bald girls do you see playing high school basketball?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2012, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
if the player loses the ball while dribbling and goes out of bounds comes back in can he still dribble the ball or just gain possesion?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2012, 09:07pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
"It's In There"

Quote:
Originally Posted by bknp7 View Post
if the player loses the ball while dribbling and goes out of bounds comes back in can he still dribble the ball or just gain possesion?
Survey the answers given previously in this thread for a clear answer to that one. That was the point of the original question, I think.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2012, 09:45pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
An airborne player who saves the ball. He would not have something in, as he is airborne.
Apparently, you completely missed the point of my last post. If you jump from inbounds, then you "have something in", even though you are airborne. Your statement above is simply incorrect by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2012, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by bknp7 View Post
if the player loses the ball while dribbling and goes out of bounds comes back in can he still dribble the ball or just gain possesion?
It's an interrupted dribble. Do you know of a rule that says the player can't do either one?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2012, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Apparently, you completely missed the point of my last post.
Yeah, he did. But that was 7 weeks ago!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2012, 11:44am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Yeah, he did. But that was 7 weeks ago!
LOL! Freddy resurrected the thread and I didn't realize it was that old.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
back court violation in bounds question daveg144 Basketball 28 Sat Nov 28, 2009 03:06am
Floor Violation - Running out of bounds kjsref Basketball 14 Mon Jan 12, 2009 09:29pm
NFHS Rules - Out of Bounds Violation Stat-Man Basketball 10 Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:24am
Out of bounds violation BrentD22 Basketball 6 Tue Feb 15, 2005 02:48pm
In bounds violation? kdays78 Basketball 6 Wed Feb 02, 2005 06:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1