The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Whoa, kids! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/83452-whoa-kids.html)

referee99 Sat Nov 26, 2011 10:32pm

Whoa, kids!
 
Doing some boys JV scrimmages today. Modified rules.
Anyways, player A1 is approaching the division line, and A6 is waiting to sub in. The two players eye each other, then do a hockey line change, with A1 stepping off the court, and A6 stepping on. Partner blows whistle as trail and calls a T. We are not keeping player fouls, and not shooting T's, just add two points and award the ball.

Anyways, I ask my young partner how we would have handled in a game. He wasn't sure, and in the end, I guess I wasn't sure either.

I have a substitute Technical on A6 (10-2-2), but can't figure out why we wouldn't have an indirect T on the coach, as the player was bench personnel.

Is there a special limbo zone where a substitute is not bench personnel, and not yet a player?

bainsey Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 800184)
Is there a special limbo zone where a substitute is not bench personnel, and not yet a player?

It's not limbo. There are five types of technical fouls:
*Team
*Player
*Substitute
*Bench
*Head Coach

A bench technical results in an indirect technical to the head coach. The first three listed do not. See NFHS Rule 10, sections 1-5, which clearly categorizes these fouls.

Adam Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:30am

The substitute technicals only apply to a T for entering the court without being beckoned or reporting. Other Ts on subs would be an indirect to the coach.

BktBallRef Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 800184)
I have a substitute Technical on A6 (10-2-2), but can't figure out why we wouldn't have an indirect T on the coach, as the player was bench personnel.

Is there a special limbo zone where a substitute is not bench personnel, and not yet a player?

Basically, yes. If he has reported and is waiting to enter, the head coach certainly has no control over him if he enters the floor, unbeckoned. Therefore, no indirect is charge to the head coach.

The_Rookie Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 800189)
It's not limbo. There are five types of technical fouls:
*Team
*Player
*Substitute
*Bench
*Head Coach

A bench technical results in an indirect technical to the head coach. The first three listed do not. See NFHS Rule 10, sections 1-5, which clearly categorizes these fouls.

GREAT JOB of Breaking it down into easily digestible pieces!

referee99 Sun Nov 27, 2011 02:57pm

Thanks for the responses.
 
Sorted it out in me head!

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Nov 27, 2011 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 800211)
GREAT JOB of Breaking it down into easily digestible pieces!


Bainsey has a great Rules Interpreter up there in the Great State of Maine: Peter Webb.

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1