![]() |
NCAA M Flagrant 1
Watching the Kentucky/Kansas game...
A1 has a breakaway with B1 about a step behind him. A1 goes up, and is fouled by B1 in the act of shooting. Many would say it was an intentional foul, and I agree. One of the officials made the signal for intentional foul (I believe it was the C) on the play. Of course, with the rule change, this is now a Flagrant 1 foul. A2 shot the free throws. I'm not familiar with NCAA rules...but does that not make sense to anyone else? |
Quote:
|
The classification of Flagrant 1 is the same as Intentional Foul was the previous year or in NF rules. They made Flagrant 2 as what was only called a Flagrant foul. All the same but the wording changed.
Peace |
They got it wrong as the fouled player remained in the game throughout. He should have shot the FTs.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Rule 8 Sec 2 Art 3 in short states if a player was injured from "either intentional or flagrant" foul, the offended team's coach can select any player from his team.
The key word is "unable." Can a player have an injury that prevents him from shooting but still allows him to play (sprained finger)? How I read it, as long as the injured player isn't seen by a coach or trainer, the player can stay in the game and have a teammate (picked by his coach) shoot the FTs since he was fouled flagrantly or intentionally. |
Quote:
(Men) When an injured player is unable to attempt his free throw try(s), the coach from the opposing team shall select one of the four remaining players on the playing court to attempt the free throw try(s). When the foul is flagrant and the injured player is unable to attempt the free throw try(s), the injured player’s coach shall select any player or team member to attempt the free throw try(s). It doesn't mention anything about the injured player having to be removed from the game. |
Correct.
And 8-2.1 provides even more guidance: Section. 2. Who Attempts Art. 1. Personal fouls -- The free throw(s) awarded because of a personal foul shall be attempted by the offended player, unless one of the conditions of Article 2 and 3 of this section are met. |
I don't have the NCAA book in front of me, but determining if a player is unable to attempt the FTs is the same regardless of the type of foul, correct?
If so, can you see a scenario where a common foul by B1 against A1 injures A1 to the extent he cannot attempt the FT, but not to where he has to be removed? And, if it's a sprained or broken finger, what about the next time he's fouled? I have a hard time finding a situation that would allow a player to remain in the game but make him unable to attempt FTs. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
A.R. 199 addresses this as well. A.R. 199. (Men) A1 is bleeding from a blow to the head and is unable to attempt his free throw(s). Is Rule 3-4-3.f concerning an injured player applicable? RULING: The intent of Rule 3-4-3.f is to eliminate the situation whereby a poor free-throw shooter faked an injury so that he could be replaced by a higher percentage shooter. Obviously, a bleeding player is not faking an injury. Consequently, Rule 3-4-3.f is not applicable. The bleeding player shall be instructed by the official to leave the game for attention by medical personnel. His coach may exercise the option of substituting for the bleeding player or calling a timeout. (Rule 3-4-3.f and 8-2-2.a) (Side note for those who have noted the NFHS did not update its casebook to reflect the new rule on throw-ins: The NCAA editors did not do too well either getting rid of "intentional foul" even though the rule change this year has it called "Flagrant 1." Rule 8.2-3 is at least the third place I have found the phrase "intentional foul" still in the rule book, even though it no longer exists.) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19pm. |