The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Resumption of play/free throw (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/83069-resumption-play-free-throw.html)

jTheUmp Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:09am

Resumption of play/free throw
 
Had an interesting thought last night while I was reading over the FED free-throw rules.

Team A calls a timeout.
During the time-out, Team B commits a technical foul.
Team A does not make a player available to shoot the free throws, so the Lead places the ball on the free throw line under the resumption-of-play procedure.

Is there any way that A can actually shoot the free throw once the resumption-of-play procedure has been initiated in this situation? If A1 enters the semi-circle, it's a violation, isn't it?



Taking it a bit further... if/when the violation on A occurs in the situation above, if A doesn't make a player available for the second free throw, it's a technical foul. Does B get two free throws in that situation, or do they not because we have a double technical foul situation?

tjones1 Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:14am

Yes - once they enter they would have violated.

J, you might be thinking a little too much.

B would get two free throws. It wouldn't be a double technical... check on the definition of a double technical.

Raymond Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 798416)
...

Taking it a bit further... if/when the violation on A occurs in the situation above, if A doesn't make a player available for the second free throw, it's a technical foul. Does B get two free throws in that situation, or do they not because we have a double technical foul situation?

Come on J, you know the answer to that. :(

Welpe Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:25am

A more general question about the RPP in this situation. If there no way for Team A send a player to the line without violating once we put the ball down, why do we even bother to put the ball down and begin a count? That seems a bit like a gotcha to me.

billyu2 Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:27am

request a time out
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 798416)
Had an interesting thought last night while I was reading over the FED free-throw rules.

Team A calls a timeout.
During the time-out, Team B commits a technical foul.
Team A does not make a player available to shoot the free throws, so the Lead places the ball on the free throw line under the resumption-of-play procedure.

Is there any way that A can actually shoot the free throw once the resumption-of-play procedure has been initiated in this situation? If A1 enters the semi-circle, it's a violation, isn't it?

Taking it a bit further... if/when the violation on A occurs in the situation above, if A doesn't make a player available for the second free throw, it's a technical foul. Does B get two free throws in that situation, or do they not because we have a double technical foul situation?

Team A can avoid the violation by requesting a timeout.

jTheUmp Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 798419)
Come on J, you know the answer to that. :(

Oh yeah.... duh..... false double technical foul. Shouldn't post before the caffeine kicks in.

Nevadaref Tue Nov 15, 2011 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 798421)
Team A can avoid the violation by requesting a timeout.

Correct, the ball is at the disposal of the thrower.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1