The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another problem with the new backcourt rule? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/82789-another-problem-new-backcourt-rule.html)

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 26, 2011 02:37pm

Another problem with the new backcourt rule?
 
Just going over Rule 9 and noticed 9-9-2 now says:

Quote:

While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from the backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt.
The underlined part was added this year to compensate (yet again) for the new team control rules. However, does this now contradict the age-old "three points in the frontcourt" rule for a dribbler?

If I'm dribbling from backcourt to frontcourt, and I dribble the ball so that it touches the frontcourt but I'm still in the backcourt, doesn't this new rule say that I've committed a backcourt violation? I have player control (I'm dribbling a live ball) in my backcourt, and I've caused the ball to go to the frontcourt and then back to the backcourt without being touched by another player.

Rufus Wed Oct 26, 2011 03:01pm

Don't think the new rule changed 4-4-1:

A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

More directly, and though you address it, the status of the ball doesn't change to frontcourt for purposes of the rule according to 4-4-6:

During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

Since the ball is never established in the frontcourt according to the above I don't think it contradicts the new wording.

Raymond Wed Oct 26, 2011 03:03pm

The 3-points rule means that in this situation the ball has not yet attained FC status.

APG Wed Oct 26, 2011 03:04pm

No contradiction...you never caused the ball to go into the frontcourt by virtue of you being a dribbler which means the ball is in the frontcourt only when both feet and the ball are in the frontcourt.

deecee Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:11pm

Scrapper I think you are over thinking this. the three point rule still applies.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 796070)
No contradiction...you never caused the ball to go into the frontcourt by virtue of you being a dribbler which means the ball is in the frontcourt only when both feet and the ball are in the frontcourt.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 796069)
The 3-points rule means that in this situation the ball has not yet attained FC status.

Notice, though, that it doesn't say that the ball must gain frontcourt status. It just says backcourt to frontcourt. While dribbling, the ball can clearly go into the frontcourt without having frontcourt status.

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 796119)
Scrapper I think you are over thinking this. the three point rule still applies.

1) I'm clearly overthinking it. I don't even have a scrimmage until next week, so I have to do something. :D

2) The 3-points rule still applies, but (maybe) only because they've told us to ignore the actual wording of the rules when they cause a contradiction with how certain plays were called last year.

APG Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 796167)
Notice, though, that it doesn't say that the ball must gain frontcourt status. It just says backcourt to frontcourt. While dribbling, the ball can clearly go into the frontcourt without having frontcourt status.

And how does the ball go from backcourt to frontcourt? The rule has always read that way except with the added part about player control...if you really read it the way you are, you'd be calling this a violation in the past.The only way it does so while a player is dribbling the ball is if all three points are in the frontcourt. Otherwhise, in your scenario, the ball is in the backcourt by rule.

asdf Thu Oct 27, 2011 02:39pm

What new backcourt rule ?? :confused:

What's so hard about the following...

The rule change adding team control during a throw in only affects the administration of fouls committed during the throw in. It has no affect on existing frontcourt-backcourt, three seconds, or traveling/dribbling violations.

Camron Rust Thu Oct 27, 2011 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 796194)
What new backcourt rule ?? :confused:

What's so hard about the following...

The rule change adding team control during a throw in only affects the administration of fouls committed during the throw in. It has no affect on existing frontcourt-backcourt, three seconds, or traveling/dribbling violations.

The comments on the changes say that, but the rules that got changed actually say otherwise. The new team control rules (as actually written) create several new violations that didn't exist before. But the comments provided with them say that those things are not actually violations.

So, in a few years, we'll be having an argument about the rules where one person will accuse others of making up their own rules and will insist that they should be called as they're written while another person will be arguing on the side of intent and purpose of the rule.

Anything that depends on team control is affected....the 3 second count, 10 second count, over-and-back.

asdf Thu Oct 27, 2011 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 796195)
The comments on the changes say that, but the rules that got changed actually say otherwise. The new team control rules (as actually written) create several new violations that didn't exist before. But the comments provided with them say that those things are not actually violations.

So, in a few years, we'll be having an argument about the rules where one person will accuse others of making up their own rules and will insist that they should be called as they're written while another person will be arguing on the side of intent and purpose of the rule.

Anything that depends on team control is affected....the 3 second count, 10 second count, over-and-back.

Let 'em "fix" them next year.

Meanwhile, let's not shoot foul shots when a foul is committed on a throw in and officiate everthing else like we always have, instead of having people call violations on that were never intended to be called as violations.

Spirit and Intent.... It's not that hard !!

Camron Rust Thu Oct 27, 2011 05:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 796196)
Let 'em "fix" them next year.

Meanwhile, let's not shoot foul shots when a foul is committed on a throw in and officiate everthing else like we always have, instead of having people call violations on that were never intended to be called as violations.

Spirit and Intent.... It's not that hard !!

I agree, but that will not stop someone, somewhere down the road saying that they should be enforced as written....we've been there so many times it is bound to happen again.

Adam Thu Oct 27, 2011 06:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by camron rust (Post 796212)
i agree, but that will not stop someone, somewhere down the road saying that they should be enforced as written....we've been there so many times it is bound to happen again.

+1

asdf Thu Oct 27, 2011 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 796212)
I agree, but that will not stop someone, somewhere down the road saying that they should be enforced as written....we've been there so many times it is bound to happen again.

Those are the guys that don't get it and never will.

They don't like to study what we really do, they just like to argue.

Camron Rust Thu Oct 27, 2011 07:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 796218)
Those are the guys that don't get it and never will.

They don't like to study what we really do, they just like to argue.

But still, it is far better to write and well written rule...one that is simple, concise, and accurate than to depend on tribal knowledge about what they really meant.

BillyMac Thu Oct 27, 2011 07:23pm

Fix The Rule ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 796221)
Depend on tribal knowledge about what they really meant.

If an intelligent alien from Mars landed on Earth and wanted to become a basketball official, and he memorized the 2011-12 rule book backward, and forward, how would he know the purpose and intent of this team control rule, and the "intent" of this rule in regard to the backcourt rule?

http://ts2.mm.bing.net/images/thumbn...81763625fb84eb

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 796196)
Let 'em "fix" them next year.

My fear is that they won't really fix it. They'll keep relying on "you know what we mean". Or nibble at the edges, trying to patch the problem instead of just scrapping it and starting over.

Raymond Fri Oct 28, 2011 07:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 796218)
Those are the guys that don't get it and never will.

They don't like to study what we really do, they just like to argue.

Not necessarily. Could be someone who begins his officiating career in the summer of 2012 and hasn't been privy to the previous wording of the rules. We've had quite a few debates here in which 5,6,7 year-old interps are used to provide the answer because the rule and case books aren't clear.

deecee Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:37pm

Best way i handle these debates pull in our rules interpreter and one or two members on the board and ask. HOW DO YOU WANT US TO HANDLE THIS?

Ends any debate and gives clear direction on which way to move forward.

k_st8r Mon Oct 31, 2011 07:40am

the new team control rules effect all team control violations??? How??

Even though the team is in control during the throw in, no front court or back court status has been established.... no 3 second... 10 second... etc... what am I missing????

An additional situation... a1 in back court throws to a2 in front court, a2 turns his heaad and the ball hits a2 in the back.... upon contact of a2 two feet and the ball are in front court, ball bounces back to a1 in the back court... violation???? I know my call.. do you know yours??

bob jenkins Mon Oct 31, 2011 07:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by k_st8r (Post 796570)
the new team control rules effect all team control violations??? How??

By definition. It's been that way in NCAA for a few years now.

Quote:

Even though the team is in control during the throw in, no front court or back court status has been established.... no 3 second... 10 second... etc... what am I missing????
Again, by definition. The change (although poorly implemented) was desinged ONLY to not have FTs when the "offense" fouls during a throw-in, so it's treated the same as other game situations.

Quote:

An additional situation... a1 in back court throws to a2 in front court, a2 turns his heaad and the ball hits a2 in the back.... upon contact of a2 two feet and the ball are in front court, ball bounces back to a1 in the back court... violation???? I know my call.. do you know yours??
First, the "three points rule" applies only during a dribble, so it's not relevant in your play. Second, this ruling hasn't changed. It has "always" been a BC violation, and still is.

k_st8r Mon Oct 31, 2011 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 796574)
By definition. It's been that way in NCAA for a few years now.



Again, by definition. The change (although poorly implemented) was desinged ONLY to not have FTs when the "offense" fouls during a throw-in, so it's treated the same as other game situations.



First, the "three points rule" applies only during a dribble, so it's not relevant in your play. Second, this ruling hasn't changed. It has "always" been a BC violation, and still is.

LMAO...well stated, I guess the point I'm making is guys read too much into the rule. You would be AMAZED at how many guys miss it......And I mean good veteran officials

APG Mon Oct 31, 2011 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by k_st8r (Post 796600)
LMAO...well stated, I guess the point I'm making is guys read too much into the rule. You would be AMAZED at how many guys miss it......And I mean good veteran officials

To be fair, the rule could be better written. Wouldn't be surprised if we get some editorial changes to reflect a clearing meaning behind the rule.

Raymond Mon Oct 31, 2011 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by k_st8r (Post 796600)
LMAO...well stated, I guess the point I'm making is guys read too much into the rule. You would be AMAZED at how many guys miss it......And I mean good veteran officials

So when a brand new official pops open the rule book and reads about needing both "player and team control" in the front court in order to have a BC violation, he's reading too much into the rule?

Adam Mon Oct 31, 2011 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 796611)
So when a brand new official pops open the rule book and reads about needing both "player and team control" in the front court in order to have a BC violation, he's reading too much into the rule?

Well, at least he's reading the rule book.

k_st8r Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:24am

lol...in that case he/she would not only be reading..but almost have "knowledge" of said rule

Camron Rust Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by k_st8r (Post 796600)
LMAO...well stated, I guess the point I'm making is guys read too much into the rule. You would be AMAZED at how many guys miss it......And I mean good veteran officials

Actually, the committed wrote the rule with a wording that indicates, as written, that the backcourt violations are affected. They then commented that it shouldn't be and that only the throwin is affected regardless of what the rule actually says. No one is reading too much into the rule....the rule was poorly written.

Nevadaref Tue Nov 01, 2011 05:26am

"The rule change adding team control during a throw in only affects the administration of fouls committed during the throw in. It has no affect on existing frontcourt-backcourt, three seconds, or traveling/dribbling violations."

What is the source of the above quote given by asdf?

Scratch85 Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 796760)
"The rule change adding team control during a throw in only affects the administration of fouls committed during the throw in. It has no affect on existing frontcourt-backcourt, three seconds, or traveling/dribbling violations."

What is the source of the above quote given by asdf?

I am not sure where asdf found that information but I have seen something very close since his/her post.

My State Association published this statement in their mandatory online basketball rules meeting:

The change does not affect any of the following rules:
Three seconds in the lane
Travleing/Dribbling
Backcourt
Alternating-possession throw-in rules

Mregor Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 796173)
And how does the ball go from backcourt to frontcourt?

Player A1 holding tha ball in the B/C near the D/L bounce passes the ball with english on it, into the F/C and then back into the B/C where his teammate A2 catches the passed ball?

APG Wed Nov 09, 2011 01:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mregor (Post 797638)
Player A1 holding tha ball in the B/C near the D/L bounce passes the ball with english on it, into the F/C and then back into the B/C where his teammate A2 catches the passed ball?

My question was directed toward Scrapper1 and to how a ball goes from the the backcourt to the frontcourt while dribbling...all 3 points being in the frontcourt....which went back to my first post in the thread.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 09, 2011 02:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 796760)
"The rule change adding team control during a throw in only affects the administration of fouls committed during the throw in. It has no affect on existing frontcourt-backcourt, three seconds, or traveling/dribbling violations."

What is the source of the above quote given by asdf?

I located the source of this language. It appears in the powerpoint presentation distributed by the NFHS this season on the rule changes.

Welpe Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:37pm

Just came across this on the NFHS site.

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

Here's the whole document:

NFHS | 2011-12 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Adam Sun Nov 13, 2011 01:23am

Horribly worded reasoning.

jkumpire Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 798266)
Just came across this on the NFHS site.

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

Here's the whole document:

NFHS | 2011-12 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations


Thank you!

Now I have another question or two: A1 has the ball for a sideline throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

Or

A1 has the ball for a sideline throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off B1’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

In both situations, the correct answer is supposedly that we have a backcourt violation on A because once the throw in is completed by A or B touching the ball, and there is team control in the FC because of the throw in, when A gains control in the BC we now have a BC violation. Obvious, but maybe obviously wrong.

If all this is true, why did the committee decide to differentiate between end-line and side-line for this play?

Camron Rust Tue Nov 15, 2011 01:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire (Post 798529)
Thank you!

Now I have another question or two: A1 has the ball for a sideline throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

Or

A1 has the ball for a sideline throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off B1’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

In both situations, the correct answer is supposedly that we have a backcourt violation on A because once the throw in is completed by A or B touching the ball, and there is team control in the FC because of the throw in, when A gains control in the BC we now have a BC violation. Obvious, but maybe obviously wrong.

If all this is true, why did the committee decide to differentiate between end-line and side-line for this play?

Not correct. Not a violation in either case. While the "rule" is written in such a way that these would appear to be violations, the commentary released by the NFHS has made it "clear" that these are actually not violations.

Until there is player control inbounds by team A, you can't have a backcourt violation at all.

Effectively, there are 2 team controls....one that starts on the throwin and affects the type of foul and the other that begins with inbounds player control an affects all other rules.

Even if this was not the case, your 2nd situation would still not be a backcourt violation as the last to touch the ball before it went to the backcourt was team B.

RookieDude Tue Nov 15, 2011 02:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire (Post 798529)
Thank you!

... and there is team control in the FC because of the throw in, when A gains control in the BC we now have a BC violation. Obvious, but maybe obviously wrong.

What Camron stated was correct.

Perhaps you are confusing the game situation where Team A is in control in their FC (not a throw in) and a pass is batted away by B1 but, hits A2 before going into the BC...if a Team A member is first to touch the ball in the BC...then you have a BC violation because Team A had "control" before it went into the BC.

jkumpire Tue Nov 15, 2011 07:53am

In response
 
Men,

Thank you for your replies, but let me tell you a quick story. In the state I work in two trainers and local rules interpreters told a group of over 100 officials in a meeting that the two plays I posted were backcourt violations. I sat in the crowd that night and shook my head.

More later about this.

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 798266)
SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

This is just WRONG! A team may not be in continuous control in the backcourt for 10 seconds. If there is team control during the throw-in, then there is team control as soon as the ball touches the backcourt. Technically (even though most officials don't call it this way), the ten-second count starts at that point. They didn't change 9-9 to say that the 10-second count starts when player and team control is established in the backcourt.

The comment in red shows a fundamental ignorance of the rules, and they even cited the rule! You know, I'm really getting pissed off that the NFHS has put the basketball rules into the hands of people who have seemingly no idea AT ALL what they're doing!

Nevadaref Tue Nov 15, 2011 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 798546)
This is just WRONG! A team may not be in continuous control in the backcourt for 10 seconds. If there is team control during the throw-in, then there is team control as soon as the ball touches the backcourt. Technically (even though most officials don't call it this way), the ten-second count starts at that point. They didn't change 9-9 to say that the 10-second count starts when player and team control is established in the backcourt.

The comment in red shows a fundamental ignorance of the rules, and they even cited the rule! You know, I'm really getting pissed off that the NFHS has put the basketball rules into the hands of people who have seemingly no idea AT ALL what they're doing!

I agree with your rant, but please understand that the NFHS released the words posted by asdf earlier in this thread through a powerpoint presentation making it clear that only fouls have changed. Given that, the only way to take the interp you cited is that no count in the backcourt can begin until after player control has been established INBOUNDS. That is exactly how I taught it at our officials clinic and our meeting for the coaches in this area.

Here is another play that the new and incorrect wording of the team control rule would impact:

A1 has a throw-in. He passes the ball towards A2. The pass is deflected away by B1. While the ball is bouncing on the court, an official has an inadvertent whistle. Who gets the ball and where? Please answer for 2010-11 rules and 2011-12 rules. ;)

Raymond Tue Nov 15, 2011 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 798546)
This is just WRONG! A team may not be in continuous control in the backcourt for 10 seconds. If there is team control during the throw-in, then there is team control as soon as the ball touches the backcourt. Technically (even though most officials don't call it this way), the ten-second count starts at that point. They didn't change 9-9 to say that the 10-second count starts when player and team control is established in the backcourt.

The comment in red shows a fundamental ignorance of the rules, and they even cited the rule! You know, I'm really getting pissed off that the NFHS has put the basketball rules into the hands of people who have seemingly no idea AT ALL what they're doing!

Wait a second. I posed this question a number of times when word of the rule changes first came out. I even commented when the 10-second should start in relation to throw-ins needed to be written more clearly and I was told I was pretty much off in my own world by several "esteemed" members. Now we want to have a discussion about it? :rolleyes:

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 798554)
Here is another play that the new and incorrect wording of the team control rule would impact:

A1 has a throw-in. He passes the ball towards A2. The pass is deflected away by B1. While the ball is bouncing on the court, an official has an inadvertent whistle. Who gets the ball and where? Please answer for 2010-11 rules and 2011-12 rules. ;)

Last year: AP throw-in. (The throw-in has ended with the legal touch by B1 and there's no team control. So the POI is an AP throw-in.)

This year: Throw-in to Team A, since the stoppage occurred while Team A had control.

Are you saying that we're supposed to use the arrow this year?

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 798565)
Wait a second. I posed this question a number of times when word of the rule changes first came out. I even commented when the 10-second should start in relation to throw-ins needed to be written more clearly and I was told I was pretty much off in my own world by several "esteemed" members. Now we want to have a discussion about it? :rolleyes:

1) I didn't see your comments at that point. I honestly don't check in all that much during the off-season.

2) I don't think there's really a conversation to be had. It's obvious that the people who instituted this rule change have NO IDEA what they're doing to the rulebook. They want us to make several calls according to their intentions, instead of by what's actually in the rulebook. Sad.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 798578)
Last year: AP throw-in. (The throw-in has ended with the legal touch by B1 and there's no team control. So the POI is an AP throw-in.)

This year: Throw-in to Team A, since the stoppage occurred while Team A had control.

Are you saying that we're supposed to use the arrow this year?

Yes....still use the arrow. The team control that exists on the throw in is only team control for the purposes of fouls....nothing else. Full team control for all other situations doesn't begin until there is player control inbounds.

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798594)
Yes....still use the arrow.

I am really tired of "call it how we want, forget about the actual rule".

Quote:

The team control that exists on the throw in is only team control for the purposes of fouls....nothing else. Full team control for all other situations doesn't begin until there is player control inbounds.
1) That's an incredibly stupid rationale for a rule change.

2) If they're really committed to such an incredibly stupid rationale, they should at least write the rule to reflect it.

3) I tried to tell people not to mess with the definition of team control. But did anybody listen? Nooooooooooooooooooooooo.

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 798554)
I agree with your rant, but please understand that the NFHS released the words posted by asdf earlier in this thread through a powerpoint presentation

And oh, by the way, since when is our rulebook superseded by a freakin' 20 minute powerpoint presentation?!?!?!? :mad:

APG Tue Nov 15, 2011 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 798612)
And oh, by the way, since when is our rulebook superseded by a freakin' 20 minute powerpoint presentation?!?!?!? :mad:

When that power point comes directly from the NFHS...look we get it. You don't like how they worded the new rule change. Nothing you can do about it. At least we have clarification on how the rules is supposed to be properly applied. And more than likely, we'll get an editorial change or two in the next couple of years that will fix any discrepancies in the written rule.

Raymond Tue Nov 15, 2011 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 798614)
When that power point comes directly from the NFHS...look we get it. You don't like how they worded the new rule change. Nothing you can do about it. At least we have clarification on how the rules is supposed to be properly applied. And more than likely, we'll get an editorial change or two in the next couple of years that will fix any discrepancies in the written rule.

Next couple of years? How about in the next couple of weeks they put out some interps with explanations so that we can at least have something in writing other than "it only affects foul calls".

APG Tue Nov 15, 2011 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 798619)
Next couple of years? How about in the next couple of weeks they put out some interps with explanations so that we can at least have something in writing other than "it only affects foul calls".

The 2011-2012 NFHS basketball interpretations weren't enough for you? :confused:

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 798614)
we get it. You don't like how they worded the new rule change. Nothing you can do about it.

It's not the wording that has me all worked up. Everybody knows that the wording is terrible. And everybody knows how we're supposed to call it. And yes, I keep saying "I tried to tell you . . ." but that's mostly a joke at this point.

What really has me twisted up is the bush league way the whole change and its "interpretation" has been handled; or more precisely, mishandled. It's like they filled a room with people who have never even read a rulebook. And then when they figured out -- way too late -- that they screwed the pooch, their solution is to say "ignore the rule and just call it this way". That is horrifyingly amateurish and, in my opinion, downright insulting to officials who are trying to be professional and who have spent literally years studying the books.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 15, 2011 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 798623)
It's not the wording that has me all worked up. Everybody knows that the wording is terrible. And everybody knows how we're supposed to call it. And yes, I keep saying "I tried to tell you . . ." but that's mostly a joke at this point.

What really has me twisted up is the bush league way the whole change and its "interpretation" has been handled; or more precisely, mishandled. It's like they filled a room with people who have never even read a rulebook. And then when they figured out -- way too late -- that they screwed the pooch, their solution is to say "ignore the rule and just call it this way". That is horrifyingly amateurish and, in my opinion, downright insulting to officials who are trying to be professional and who have spent literally years studying the books.

Agreed. For example, I can't believe they changed a basketball fundamental, and didn't even note it in the book.

Welpe Tue Nov 15, 2011 03:14pm

Scrappy, just be thankful you don't officiate under NCAA Football rules. My head spins like a top trying to keep up with the latest interpretations and memos. :eek:

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 15, 2011 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 798625)
Agreed. For example, I can't believe they changed a basketball fundamental, and didn't even note it in the book.

Thanks. After I typed my last post, I re-read it and thought it might be a little melodramatic. Even if you only sort of agree, it makes me feel like I'm not totally off-base.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 15, 2011 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 798600)
I am really tired of "call it how we want, forget about the actual rule".


1) That's an incredibly stupid rationale for a rule change.

2) If they're really committed to such an incredibly stupid rationale, they should at least write the rule to reflect it.

3) I tried to tell people not to mess with the definition of team control. But did anybody listen? Nooooooooooooooooooooooo.

You're preaching to the choir Brother Scrapper.

Nevadaref Tue Nov 15, 2011 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 798578)
Last year: AP throw-in. (The throw-in has ended with the legal touch by B1 and there's no team control. So the POI is an AP throw-in.)

This year: Throw-in to Team A, since the stoppage occurred while Team A had control.

Are you saying that we're supposed to use the arrow this year?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798594)
Yes....still use the arrow. The team control that exists on the throw in is only team control for the purposes of fouls....nothing else. Full team control for all other situations doesn't begin until there is player control inbounds.

Yep, as Camron says the new rule change has now been stated to only impact FOULS. The AP throw-in was listed as an item that it does not change in the powerpoint.

Raymond Tue Nov 15, 2011 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 798621)
The 2011-2012 NFHS basketball interpretations weren't enough for you? :confused:

None of which talk about a pass that is touched inbounds by A2 who is standing in the backcourt and then ball bounces in the backcourt. Since "technically" Team A has continous control and A2 is "inbounds" and "in the backcourt".

So to cover this play, instead of going by the rule book we go by that catch all--"it only affects foul calls"

APG Tue Nov 15, 2011 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 798646)
None of which talk about a pass that is touched inbounds by A2 who is standing in the backcourt and then ball bounces in the backcourt. Since "technically" Team A has continous control and A2 is "inbounds" and "in the backcourt".

So to cover this play, instead of going by the rule book we go by that catch-all--"it only affects foul calls"

I guess I don't see your confusion.

deecee Tue Nov 15, 2011 04:29pm

I don't see all the confusion over this (and the IF's on contact with a thrower in).

Yeah it might contradict a rule here and there, and it might be different than a definition here and there. But who cares? It's stated in black and white on what to do in these situations. How much more clarity can you ask for? If A happens apply punishment #1...

Raymond Tue Nov 15, 2011 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 798647)
I guess I don't see your confusion.

I'm not confused. But there are folks who didn't ref last year who will be ref'ing this year. And when they read the rulebook they are going come up with rule book based interpretations of certain plays such as the play we are talking about (throw-in, team control, touched inbounds by Team A, bouncing in back court). But then they are going to be told they are wrong and to call it like it has always been called. Well, withiout specific case plays and interps how do they know how it used to be called?

Situation 3 in the interps is not the same play. It emphasizes continous control but "techincally not inbounds" and "technically not in the backcourt" but our play does have continous control and is "techinically inbounds" and "technically in the backcourt".

Camron Rust Tue Nov 15, 2011 08:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 798652)
I don't see all the confusion over this (and the IF's on contact with a thrower in).

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 798653)
I'm not confused. But there are folks who didn't ref last year who will be ref'ing this year. And when they read the rulebook they are going come up with rule book based interpretations of certain plays such as the play we are talking about.

And the people the year after that and the year after that....all of whom will not have the benefit of a PowerPoint presentation that will likely never be incorporated into the book...or at least not cleanly.

BillyMac Tue Nov 15, 2011 08:57pm

And The Really Sad Part About This Mess ...
 
... Is that we all saw it coming from a mile away. Why didn't the NFHS see this as a problem? What a bunch of knuckleheads.

jdw3018 Wed Nov 16, 2011 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 798691)
And the people the year after that and the year after that....all of whom will not have the benefit of a PowerPoint presentation that will likely never be incorporated into the book...or at least not cleanly.

This is the real source of the problem - unless and until the rule is changed appropriately there will be confusion and more of it each year.

Scrappy got it right above. It's totally amateur hour.

Raymond Wed Nov 16, 2011 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 798803)
This is the real source of the problem - unless and until the rule is changed appropriately there will be confusion and more of it each year.

Scrappy got it right above. It's totally amateur hour.

And it's an easy fix.

Subsequent a throw-in, a backcourt violation cannot occur and a 10-second backcourt count cannot begin until or unless player control has been established.

jdw3018 Wed Nov 16, 2011 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 798876)
And it's an easy fix.

Subsequent a throw-in, a backcourt violation cannot occur and a 10-second backcourt count cannot begin until or unless player control has been established.

And that's the worst part of this: not only is your solution an example of a simple fix, but there were multiple other avenues to get the end result they desired without creating such a ridiculous ongoing issue.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1