The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel on Inbound (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/8146-travel-inbound.html)

ewiar Sat Apr 05, 2003 10:07pm

AHHHH. I've talked about this on a previous thread and it was suggested that the reason many officials in lower levels call travelling on an inbound is because they've seen D1 officials do it. Texas-Syracuse, I saw a Texas player called for travelling on an inbound pass in the first half. From what I saw it did not look like the player violated the three foot area so this Final Four official was apparently ignorant of that rule. (Not sure of the officials name, he's an older-looking African-American man)

Jeremy Hohn Sat Apr 05, 2003 10:14pm

Well according to definition, it can't be a travel since there isn't a pivot foot on an inbound. Some veteran officials still signal that for clarification I guess, but if I did that on a camp game I bet that same official would chew my butt....kinda ironic....

BktBallRef Sat Apr 05, 2003 10:57pm

With this happening constantly at the NCAA level, does anyone know if Hank Nichols instructed officials to use this mechanic?

silverfox Sun Apr 06, 2003 12:04am

travel on inbound
 
I think this is a great teachable moment for all officials.
Place two pieces of tape three feet apart on the floor and
see how much ground a player can cover in both directions, reaching out as far as possible with your outside foot and keeping your inside foot on or over the three foot spot.
A six-five college player can cover 12 feet.
If a player/coach wants to take advantage of the rule,
he better pre-game it with the officials.

TriggerMN Sun Apr 06, 2003 10:57am

I thought the same thing...AAACK!!! Donnee Gray, how could you?!?!?!?

Are we positive that the NCAA adopted the 3-foot box with the NFHS? Regardless, DON'T SIGNAL TRAVEL!!! Aargh.

Jurassic Referee Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:21am

In NCAA rules,the designated spot is 3 feet wide- same as NFHS rules. The violation is listed in the NCAA rulebook as "leaving the designated spot"- not travelling.

As Tony said,you have to wonder if a directive has come out from the NCAA or a major conference that says to use the "travelling" signal for this violation.

canuckrefguy Sun Apr 06, 2003 04:53pm

Jim Nance actually used the term "traveling on the inbounds pass" in the Tex/Syr game....

ewiar Sun Apr 06, 2003 06:04pm

Not only was the signal wrong, but to me it definitely looked as though the player was well inside the 3ft. area. I thought they were calling the defender for violating the plane when the whistle blew. Did anyone else think that the violation was actually justified if improperly signalled?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1