The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Substitutions part III (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/80180-substitutions-part-iii.html)

Clark Kent Wed Sep 07, 2011 01:41am

Substitutions part III
 
As discussing Rule 3-3 (Substitutions) a question has come up. I've posted a few other questions in other posts (http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...s-part-ii.html) but have another one that I'd like your help with. I've searched the rule book but there may not be a rule and therefore an answer to my difficulty to figure it all out.

There is a rule that prevents a player to "re-enter" the game prior to the clock "properly" starting (3-3-4) but is there a rule that prevents a sub who comes in during the game to exit again prior to the clock "properly" starting.

For example:
Technical foul on team B. Team A's coach sends A6 in for A1 to shoot the technical FTs. After A6 shoots the FTs, A7 is then sent in for A6. Is that possible? And if so is there a rule or a "lack of a rule" to support that?

Thanks

APG Wed Sep 07, 2011 03:00am

Your scenario would be legal...because there's no rule against it.

BillyMac Wed Sep 07, 2011 06:12am

Confucius Say ...
 
Must sit a tick, don’t have to play a tick. (With rare exceptions when a team may have only four participants due to an injury.)

bob jenkins Wed Sep 07, 2011 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Clark Kent (Post 786076)
For example:
Technical foul on team B. Team A's coach sends A6 in for A1 to shoot the technical FTs. After A6 shoots the FTs, A7 is then sent in for A6. Is that possible? And if so is there a rule or a "lack of a rule" to support that?

Thanks

It's legal. I'm 95% certain there's a case play on this. I'm 100% certain it's been discussed before.

Clark Kent Wed Sep 07, 2011 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 786137)
It's legal. I'm 95% certain there's a case play on this. I'm 100% certain it's been discussed before.

3.3.3 SITUATION A:

A1 is injured during a play in which A1 has been fouled. As a result, A1 cannot attempt the free throw awarded to him/her. Substitute A6 replaces A1 and attempts the free throw which is successful. Substitute A7 replaces A6 before the clock starts.

RULING: The substitution is legal. (8-2)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1