The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Sep 10, 2000, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member

Question

I am a basketball referee from Sydney, Australia and have heard a lot about 'camps' from the officiating websites I have visited. What are they? We don't have anything like that in Australia, merely action days advising of rule changes and pre-tournament meetings outlining points of emphasis over the coming tournament. From what I have heard from American officials, they attribute a great deal of their success to attending 'camps'. Can someone give me some more information so maybe, we can get some sort of camp structure available in Australia.

Cheers
matt
Old Sun Sep 10, 2000, 10:22pm
In Memoriam

Lightbulb

quote:
Originally posted by mattbt:
I am a basketball referee from Sydney, Australia and have heard a lot about 'camps' from the officiating websites I have visited. What are they? We don't have anything like that in Australia, merely action days advising of rule changes and pre-tournament meetings outlining points of emphasis over the coming tournament. From what I have heard from American officials, they attribute a great deal of their success to attending 'camps'. Can someone give me some more information so maybe, we can get some sort of camp structure available in Australia.

Cheers
matt

Matt,
Officials'Clinic are sometimes held in conjunction with basketball team camps which are often sponsored by Universities.
The teams play games, sometimes in a tournament format, other times in a meet-every-other-team-once format, which may, or may not, be finalized with a single elimination tournament. (There are several different alternatives to getting the teams to the repective sites.)
The Officials' clinic sponsors, or producers, provide the officiating for the games that are played at the team camps.