The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   tuck 'em in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7712-tuck-em.html)

A Pennsylvania Coach Fri Feb 28, 2003 04:07pm

Last night, went to watch a boys' consolation round game (both teams going to states, seeding from our district being determined). In Q2, a player is sent off for not having his jersey tucked in.

In Q4, player A6 is at the table to come in for A5. The horn blows, A5 goes and sits down, A6 starts to come in but he is sent to bench (jersey not in). Coach sends A7 to the table (could he have sent A5 back up?). A7 starts to trot in--and half of gym starts cracking up as A7 is also not tucked in. He hears the laughter, starts frantically tucking. Official looks right at this and does nothing (allows A7 in to the game). After he didn't allow A6, really he shouldn't have allowed A7 (the crimes were exactly the same), but I think he was worried about the perception if he kept turning away subs. OTOH, I was disappointed that he didn't stick to his guns. I thought it was silly to disallow A6 and allow A7.

A Pennsylvania Coach Fri Feb 28, 2003 04:18pm

Oh, and here's a sitch from Wednesday night. District near Philly, semifinal, girls, largest class (AAAA). Underdogs score on a runner with 10 seconds left to tie the game. Favorites come down and get ball to 6-3 superstar. She is fouled in the act with :03.5 seconds left. Nearly at the same time as ball is being bounced to free thrower, underdog coach requests timeout to trail official. Trail blows whistle, looks up to see free thrower holding ball, and decides not to award the timeout. She has the free thrower return the ball to the lead, and the underdog coach again tries to request timeout. Trail tells her no, lead administers, superstar makes first, underdog coach gets TO. Superstar misses second, underdogs miss 40-footer, favorites win by one.

Should the second TO request (after the ball was returned to the lead) been granted?

bob jenkins Fri Feb 28, 2003 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Should the second TO request (after the ball was returned to the lead) been granted?
There shouldn't have been a sedcond request. The first request should have been granted (even if the whistle blew after the shooter had the ball).

Int Fri Feb 28, 2003 04:30pm

PC, to answer your question about A5. A5 could remain in the game. A5 continues to be a player until his/her substitute is beckoned. A6 did not get beckoned so A5 could remain in the game.

Adam Fri Feb 28, 2003 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Should the second TO request (after the ball was returned to the lead) been granted?
There shouldn't have been a sedcond request. The first request should have been granted (even if the whistle blew after the shooter had the ball).

Are you kidding? A1 is shooting free throws, has the ball (ball at her disposal), and B coach can call a TO? You're kidding, right?

Adam

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 28, 2003 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Should the second TO request (after the ball was returned to the lead) been granted?
There shouldn't have been a sedcond request. The first request should have been granted (even if the whistle blew after the shooter had the ball).

Are you kidding? A1 is shooting free throws, has the ball (ball at her disposal), and B coach can call a TO? You're kidding, right?

Adam

Mr. Jenkins be right! The request was made while the ball was being bounced to the free thower.You grant TO's as per the status of the ball when you recognize the TO request,not when you blow your whistle.In this case,while the ball is on the way to the FT shooter,you have a dead ball,clock stopped and neither team in possession.You have to grant the TO request,by rule.


rainmaker Sun Mar 02, 2003 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Mr. Jenkins be right! The request was made while the ball was being bounced to the free thower.You grant TO's as per the status of the ball when you recognize the TO request,not when you blow your whistle.In this case,while the ball is on the way to the FT shooter,you have a dead ball,clock stopped and neither team in possession.You have to grant the TO request,by rule.[/QUOTE]

Besides which, even if the whistle shouldn't have been blown, once it is, you grant the TO. You answer to your eval or commissioner later.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1