The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   It happened last night (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7681-happened-last-night.html)

Camron Rust Wed Feb 26, 2003 02:23pm

Well, one of the cases that has often been discussed here happened last night...but in a much more dramatic fashion than we've actually discussed.

A1, who is dribbling at top of key, is being aggressively guarded by B1. I'm trail about 15-20 feet from the play (8-10 feet off the sideline and 5 or so feet above the dribbler). B1 bats the ball right at me. I dodge the ball. B1 and A1 chase the ball with one passing on each side of me. B1 jumps from inbounds from A's frontcourt/B's backcourt just as the airborne ball is crossig the sideline right at the division line. B1 catches the ball and trys to throw it off the feet of trailing A1. It misses A1 but bounces inbounds and in the frontcourt (6" from the intersection of division line and the sideline). B2 coming up the court jumps from B's backcourt and catches the ball while airborne then lands in B's frontcourt.

What's the call, if any?

[Edited by Camron Rust on Feb 26th, 2003 at 01:27 PM]

MN 3 Sport Ref Wed Feb 26, 2003 02:40pm

I've got a violation. B1 catches and secures possesion w/ backcourt status. The ball then hits in the FC (assuming B1's FC) giving it FC status. B2 gives the ball BC status again (violation) when he/she secures possesion w/ BC status. Fed 9.9.1&2 w/ Casebook exceptions cover this.

Remember the exception for an intercepting defender covers only that player and their landing not a pass by them to a teammate. FED CB 9.9.2 note.

[Edited by MN 3 Sport Ref on Feb 26th, 2003 at 02:23 PM]

NWRef Wed Feb 26, 2003 02:45pm

I've got "No Call" B's ball good to go. What did you do?

BktBallRef Wed Feb 26, 2003 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
B1 jumps from inbounds from A's frontcourt/B's backcourt just as the airborne ball is crossig the sideline right at the division line. B1 catches the ball and trys to throw it off the feet of trailing A1.
B has team control.

Quote:

It misses A1 but bounces inbounds and in the frontcourt (6" from the intersection of division line and the sideline).
Bounces in who's FC? I'll assume B's FC.

Ball now has FC status.

B1 is the last player to touch the ball before it attains BC status.

Quote:

B2 coming up the court jumps from B's backcourt and catches the ball while airborne then lands in B's frontcourt.
B2 causes the ball to be touched in the BC.

BC violation.

Dan_ref Wed Feb 26, 2003 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
B1 jumps from inbounds from A's frontcourt/B's backcourt just as the airborne ball is crossig the sideline right at the division line. B1 catches the ball and trys to throw it off the feet of trailing A1.
B has team control.

Quote:

It misses A1 but bounces inbounds and in the frontcourt (6" from the intersection of division line and the sideline).
Bounces in who's FC? I'll assume B's FC.

Ball now has FC status.

B1 is the last player to touch the ball before it attains BC status.

Quote:

B2 coming up the court jumps from B's backcourt and catches the ball while airborne then lands in B's frontcourt.
B2 causes the ball to be touched in the BC.

BC violation.

I have that too. The question is did Camron have the presence...errr, bad choice of words there...did Camron realize what happened in time to blow the whistle.

mick Wed Feb 26, 2003 02:54pm

I can't tell on what side of the line the ball bounced after B1 threw it. :confused:

NWRef Wed Feb 26, 2003 02:58pm

On which side of the line did B-1's throw bounce? B's frontcourt or backcourt? Front Court=Violation Back Court=No Call

BktBallRef Wed Feb 26, 2003 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by NWRef
On which side of the line did B-1's throw bounce? B's frontcourt or backcourt? Front Court=Violation Back Court=No Call
Since B1 established team control, I assumed that it bounced in B1's FC. It would seem to be a rational assumption.

Camron Rust Wed Feb 26, 2003 04:47pm

Ahhhh, I thought I had the details covered....it did bounce in B's frontcourt...as most of you have assumed.


And, yes, I did call it. And I caught an earfull from the coach over it. No amount of presence would get me out of this one. The coach was bound to complain even if I were <strike>JRutledge</strike> Hank Nichols. ;)

This case covered two <em>odd</em> elements of the backcourt rule all at once.
<OL>
<LI>It touched, as MN 3 Sport Ref stated, on the exception for the defense catching the ball mid air applying only to the initial steal.
<LI>It hit the point of being able to have a backcourt violation with no player having control of the ball in the front court....the ball went from backcourt, to frontcourt, and again to backcourt with no player ever being in the frontocurt.
</OL>

BktBallRef Wed Feb 26, 2003 04:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
<LI>It hit the point of being able to have a backcourt violation with no player having control of the ball in the front court....the ball went from backcourt, to frontcourt, and again to backcourt with no player ever being in the frontocurt.</OL>
Just as if it had hit an official in the FC, per the case book.

mick Wed Feb 26, 2003 04:55pm

Camron, Udaman !

Dave Brost Wed Feb 26, 2003 05:16pm

One questions for all of you? If B1 left the floor from his backcourt, saved the ball by bouncing it in his frontcourt, thus giving it frontcourt status as you say, and it is recovered by B2 again in B's backcourt, does the effect of having to have all three points in the frontcourt by B1 have any significance in this situation? Not sure? Just asking.

mick Wed Feb 26, 2003 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave Brost
One questions for all of you? If B1 left the floor from his backcourt, saved the ball by bouncing it in his frontcourt, thus giving it frontcourt status as you say, and it is recovered by B2 again in B's backcourt, does the effect of having to have all three points in the frontcourt by B1 have any significance in this situation? Not sure? Just asking.
Three-points applies only to a dribbler dribbling, not to a passer passing... or a partidge in a pear tree....

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 26, 2003 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
[/B]
Three-points applies only to a dribbler dribbling, not to a passer passing... or a partidge in a pear tree.... [/B][/QUOTE]Got a rules reference for that partridge? Are you sure that it's not a fowl?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 26th, 2003 at 05:08 PM]

mick Wed Feb 26, 2003 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Three-points applies only to a dribbler dribbling, not to a passer passing... or a partidge in a pear tree.... [/B]
Got a rules reference for that partridge? Are you sure that it's not a fowl?

[/B][/QUOTE]

I just sent you a bear in a cartridge tree.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1