The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   double dribble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7565-double-dribble.html)

theshortbaldref Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:25pm

Two whistle, I'm trail arced over the top looking for an angle. A1 has used up his dribble and is pressed. A2 is flashing to help out. A1's bullet pass unintentionally catchs me and bounds back towards A1. He gathers the ball and dribbles towards the baseline. I blow. Call DD. Coach is in my backpocket eating flesh. I tell him I'm part of the floor. The pass, unintentional or not, constitutes dribble. The book is vague. Help.

canuckrefguy Thu Feb 20, 2003 12:32am

NCAA, Rule 4, Section 18, Article 4, A.R. 13

Quote:

"A1 dribbles and comes to a stop, after which A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent's backboard and catches the rebound; or (b) against the official, immediately recovering the ball and dribbling again. RULING: A1 has committed a violation in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against an opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided that A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or backboard.
You were right, unless NFHS rule is different.

Jurassic Referee Thu Feb 20, 2003 03:05am

It's a violation in NFHS,too. Casebook play 4.15.4SitC(b) has the same explicit language.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 20th, 2003 at 02:34 AM]

RookieDude Thu Feb 20, 2003 03:53am

Case Book 4.15.4 SIT C: (b)
against the official, immediately recovering the ball and dribbling again

What if the player didn't dribble again as the Case Book states the player did to violate? ;)

I say still a violation since "throwing the ball against...an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official..."

Dude

Jurassic Referee Thu Feb 20, 2003 04:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
Case Book 4.15.4 SIT C: (b)
against the official, immediately recovering the ball and dribbling again

What if the player didn't dribble again as the Case Book states the player did to violate? ;)

I say still a violation since "throwing the ball against...an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official..."

Dude

It's a violation as soon as the ball is touched,as per the language that you quoted directly above..


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1