The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another one for newbies or whoever (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/75497-another-one-newbies-whoever.html)

Mark Padgett Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:38am

Another one for newbies or whoever
 
Came up in a conversation the other day. FED rules. A1 has the ball in his back court. He passes to A2 who is standing with one foot in the back court and one foot in the front court. Without raising either foot, A2 passes the ball back to A1 who is still standing in back court. Is this a violation?

dsqrddgd909 Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 774659)
Came up in a conversation the other day. FED rules. A1 has the ball in his back court. He passes to A2 who is standing with one foot in the back court and one foot in the front court. Without raising either foot, A2 passes the ball back to A1 who is still standing in back court. Is this a violation?

No. 4.4.1 SITUATION:

BillyMac Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:00pm

4.4.1 situation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 (Post 774669)
No. 4.4.1 SITUATION

4.4.1 SITUATION: As Team A is advancing the ball from its backcourt toward
its frontcourt, A1 passes the ball to A2. A2 catches the ball while both feet are on
the floor – with one foot on either side of the division line. In this situation, either
foot may be the pivot foot. (a) A2 lifts the foot which is in the backcourt and then
puts it back on the floor in the backcourt; or (b) A2 lifts the foot which is in the
frontcourt, pivots and puts it on the floor in the backcourt. RULING: In (a), it is a
backcourt violation. When A2, while holding the ball, lifts the foot which was in
the backcourt, the ball is now in the frontcourt. When A2’s foot then touches in
the backcourt, it is a violation. In (b), when A2 lifts the foot which is in the frontcourt
and places it down in the backcourt, the location of the ball has not
changed. The ball is still in the backcourt and no violation has occurred. (4-35-2)

Mark Padgett Sun Jul 24, 2011 02:03pm

The question doesn't state that A2 lifted either one of his feet, but passed the ball back to A1.

dsqrddgd909 Sun Jul 24, 2011 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 774691)
The question doesn't state that A2 lifted either one of his feet, but passed the ball back to A1.

ART. 1

A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

ART. 2

A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

ART. 3

A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.

JugglingReferee Mon Jul 25, 2011 05:59am

Maintain the 10-second count.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1