![]() |
Team A scores a hoop. I am in Trail, about to become new Lead.
B1 takes the ball OOB, runs along the baseline a bit. B2 runs from on the court OOB, along the baseline, about 20 feet from B1. B1 passes to B2 (both are still OOB). B2 inbounds to B3. All done within 3 seconds. Partner calls a violation for going OOB. Correct? |
Nope. Air Force did this exact thing about 10 times last night vs. Wyoming. Legal if team B can run the baseline. Violation if it is a spot throw in.
|
No violation
No violation IF each player has legally established himself as OOB prior to recieving the ball.
There was a thread with a play very similiar to this one. Found the thread... http://www.officialforum.com/showthr...?threadid=7245 [Edited by williebfree on Feb 18th, 2003 at 11:00 PM] |
Thanks, guys!
I seem to remember my old high school coach using a play like this, but I wasn't sure if the rule was still the same. |
Quote:
|
When I first started coaching ten years ago, I had no rule book but I knew the rules :) Unfortunately, a few things had changed since HS. I was all over a ref for a 5 second count because my guard had penetrated past the hash mark - "hey, you can't call 5 seconds!" Unfortunately, that was true in 1978 but not in 1993.
Luckily, one of the refs was "experienced" enough to know the old rule, and asked me when I last played. He then suggested I pick up a rule book, cause things had changed quite a bit since then. One of the many good things I have done as a coach. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11am. |