The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another Correctable Error Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7541-another-correctable-error-play.html)

Blackhawk357 Tue Feb 18, 2003 03:45pm

The Official Scorer neglects to inform the officials of the double bonus (it's much nicer when you can blame it on someone else). With 9 fouls showing on the board you shoot a 1&1. First throw is missed, quick rebound by A2 and the put-back is good.

PRIOR to B1 gaining possession for the throw-in, the horn blows. The Scorer now informs you that you should have shot 2. ~ Again, the ball has not become alive after the put-back.

Case Book play 2.10.1.b is close, but has the ball becoming alive after the put-back. Where would you go with this one?

Blackhawk

bob jenkins Tue Feb 18, 2003 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Blackhawk357
The Official Scorer neglects to inform the officials of the double bonus (it's much nicer when you can blame it on someone else). With 9 fouls showing on the board you shoot a 1&1. First throw is missed, quick rebound by A2 and the put-back is good.

PRIOR to B1 gaining possession for the throw-in, the horn blows. The Scorer now informs you that you should have shot 2. ~ Again, the ball has not become alive after the put-back.

Case Book play 2.10.1.b is close, but has the ball becoming alive after the put-back. Where would you go with this one?

Blackhawk

I don't have my book here, so I won't comment on the specific case you mentioned, but if everyone thought it was a 1-1, and played the miss, you would apply the correctable error situation -- count the basket and have A1 shoot the next throw, then give the ball to B for a throw-in.


Jurassic Referee Tue Feb 18, 2003 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Blackhawk357
The Official Scorer neglects to inform the officials of the double bonus (it's much nicer when you can blame it on someone else). With 9 fouls showing on the board you shoot a 1&1. First throw is missed, quick rebound by A2 and the put-back is good.

PRIOR to B1 gaining possession for the throw-in, the horn blows. The Scorer now informs you that you should have shot 2. ~ Again, the ball has not become alive after the put-back.

Case Book play 2.10.1.b is close, but has the ball becoming alive after the put-back. Where would you go with this one?

Blackhawk

1)It is a correctible error-Rule 2-10-1(a)-failure to award a merited FT.
2)It can be corrected because it's recognized during the first dead ball after the clock has started. Rule 2-10-2.
3)The goal by A2 counts. Rule 2-10-5.
4)No "Change of Possession" involved,because the ball has not become alive after A2's FG,so you line 'em for the merited 2nd. FT. Rule 2-10-6.


[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 18th, 2003 at 03:14 PM]

Camron Rust Tue Feb 18, 2003 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Blackhawk357
The Official Scorer neglects to inform the officials of the double bonus (it's much nicer when you can blame it on someone else). With 9 fouls showing on the board you shoot a 1&1. First throw is missed, quick rebound by A2 and the put-back is good.

PRIOR to B1 gaining possession for the throw-in, the horn blows. The Scorer now informs you that you should have shot 2. ~ Again, the ball has not become alive after the put-back.

Case Book play 2.10.1.b is close, but has the ball becoming alive after the put-back. Where would you go with this one?

Blackhawk

1)It is a correctible error-Rule 2-10-1(a)-failure to award a merited FT.
2)It can be corrected because it's recognized during the first dead ball after the clock has started. Rule 2-10-2.
3)The goal by A2 counts. Rule 2-10-5.
4)No "Change of Possession" involved,because the ball has not become alive after A2's FG,so you line 'em for the merited 2nd. FT. Rule 2-10-6.


[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 18th, 2003 at 03:14 PM]

Only thing I disagree with is the change of possession aspect. I suggest that possession did change the moment the ball dropped through the basket on A2's put back. At that point B was due a throwin due to the made basket; it was B's possession (possession does not equal team/player control).

A1 will go to the line for the merited FT and B will get the ball from the point of interruption...with a throwin by B as if after a made basket.

To put A1 on the line with rebounders in position would be a real double whammy if A misses and gets another putback.

Jurassic Referee Tue Feb 18, 2003 08:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
[/B]
Only thing I disagree with is the change of possession aspect. I suggest that possession did change the moment the ball dropped through the basket on A2's put back. At that point B was due a throwin due to the made basket; it was B's possession (possession does not equal team/player control).
[/B][/QUOTE]Excellent points,Camron. I thought of the same logic,too.The two things that bother me are:
1)The language of R4-41-3--"the throw in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of a team entitled to it". Does B really have possession before the ball is at their disposal?If they have possession,aren't you supposed to start the count? If they do have possession as soon as the ball goes through,can you call a personal foul on a player during the interval between the ball going through on the putback and the time that it became at the disposal of B(and thus became live again) that isn't intentional or flagrant?
2)The fact that you can still call a PC on A2 even though the ball has gone through,as long as A2 hasn't returned to the floor yet.I just don't know about a PC foul being called on A while B supposedly has possession.

Thoughts?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 18th, 2003 at 07:59 PM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1