The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2000, 09:15pm
JC JC is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 28
Post

IMHO, it's a violation by any interpretation of the rules. The case where the touching is simultaneous as you describe (i.e. the 2nd hand touches the ball before it is released by the 1st hand) is an easy violation call. NF 4.15.4c "The dribble ends when the dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands."

It is even a violation if the 2nd hand touches the ball AFTER it is released by the 1st hand (not simultaneous), but before the ball touches the floor. NF 4.15.2 "during a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s)."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1