![]() |
I had a situation happen to me while officiating summer men's league at the YMCA.
Dribbler A tosses ball toward the basket. The ball hits backboard and same player is there to dunk basketball. The toss did not look like a shot but it did hit the backboard. I called nothing. What would you have called? |
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by MOFFICIAL:
I had a situation happen to me while officiating summer men's league at the YMCA. Dribbler A tosses ball toward the basket. The ball hits backboard and same player is there to dunk basketball. The toss did not look like a shot but it did hit the backboard. I called nothing. What would you have called?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE> If you determined his first move (the shot off the glass) to be a legitimate shot attempt, there is no violation. On the other hand, if he was definitely "passing" the ball to himself, then it is a violation. |
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BigDave:
If you determined his first move (the shot off the glass) to be a legitimate shot attempt, there is no violation. On the other hand, if he was definitely "passing" the ball to himself, then it is a violation. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE> Disagree -- at least under Fed rules, the play described is legal. See case 4.15.4C (I hope that's the right reference -- this is from the 98-99 rule book). |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09pm. |